We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Cayman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Suites Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Ogden, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First time to Cayman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a great property and value. We spent 10 days here and were either diving or spending time at the beach/pool. We felt it was perfect size for the 3 of us (2 adults & a teen). Our bed was VERY comfortable. This is a rare find. Our teen was happy to have his own space at night & pulled out the hide-a-bed. The STAFF at this hotel was WONDERFUL. They were helpful with all kinds of questions we had about the island. The Sunshine Grill was also very tasty and service was great! We tried a lot of different items on the menu and they were all delicious! We went to the grocery store to fill our fridge and cupboards with snacks/drinks which was a few blocks away. The morning breakfast was also very convenient and delicious. Beautiful property, convenient laundry facilities, short walk to 7 mile beach (you cross a busy road but most locals would stop for you), nice pool, etc. Went to the World Gym which has an agreement with Sunshine (3 miles away via bus $3 one way) 3 times during my stay and ran on the beach the other days. Tips: buy beach umbrella at Cost You Less. The beach area is not shady so be prepared to bring something to have relief from the sun if you need it. The hotel doesn't have umbrellas but they have nice chairs and towels they will let you use during your stay. A lot of the time we came back to the hotel wet from diving or from the beach - because the rooms don't have a balcony or chairs to set things on to dry outside I would suggest bringing a laundry line to hang over the tub area. We felt bad having so many things wet in our room but not having enough room or a place to hang the items. In talking with the Sunshine Suites I mentioned this and they actually said they had the laundry lines on order so maybe call before you go to see if they have them yet (if not, bring something - it will help you dry your things out). Our maid was great to always make sure we had what we needed. We would return for another visit for sure. What a beautiful place and the people on the Island are VERY friendly and helpful. We felt safe and secure staying here. Speed bumps in the parking lot at night were a little hazardous. Wish they could paint them yellow with reflector paint or stickers for the visitors that frequent the parking lot (we almost tripped on them several times because at night it was hard to tell where they were until we got used to the road). The internet was reliable most if not all of the time - it wasn't a big deal really. Yes, it's a little slow to load but it works. You are on vacation so how much wifi to you really need all of the time? We were able to log in to our email, iMessage & Facebook daily with no real problems. Wonderful vacation!! Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    674
    298
    61
    15
    13
See reviews for
246
503
63
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and i wanted to get away for a week! Just the two of us. This was the right choice!!! The island is beautiful. The staff was very helpfull and friendly at all times. They helped us with booking some excursions and getting arround the island! We only had breakfast in the hotel, because we did not wanted to be stuck on eating times from the hotel. The breakfast had everything it needed. So a good start of the day! We can only say thank you to all the staff, for this unforgettable holiday!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I brought my 3 sons (my 15 year old on his first dive) to grand cayman for an 8 day stay at the Sunshine suites and could not have been happier with our stay. Every one associated with the hotel was very nice and helpful(front desk,cleaning staff, staff at the restaraunt, security staff). Room was a little smaller than I expected for a one bedroom, but it worked out well for the 4 of us. Any person that complains about walking across the road to get to the beach is a slug!!! Having the Ritz and the Westin across the beach was nice as well. Rode jet skies twice at Red Sails (at the Westin) and had a blast. From now on I will only stay at the Sunshine suites when in Grand Cayman!

Room Tip: Bottom corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

If you don't mind the 200 yard walk to the beach then look no further then the sunshine suites. The rooms are on the smaller side but have all the amenities you need. They also have one of the best restaurants on the island the sunshine grill. I'd like to thank everyone who made our anniversary stay a memorable one and we hope to be back in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecos, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The facility is immaculate and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and cordial. This was our first time to the island and we were not sure how to book activities. Upon arrival we asked at check-in for suggestions and the staff recommended a few activities and booked our reservation at that time. Everything they recommended was wonderful. The towels and chairs offered by the facility were nice amenities. We rented the bikes offered by the hotel and that was a great way to get to downtown without the hassle of getting a cab. Very close to some nice shops on your way to downtown too. The resturant at the hotel, Sunshine Grill is, for lack of a better word, amazing! We dined at a few restaurants in town, however nothing was close to this place. I tried almost every item on the menu, and each was unique and delicious. From the Havana chicken sandwich to the burger (yes a burger on an island in the Caribbean) were tremendous. No pretenses here just great food at a reasonable price. We loved our first trip to Grand Cayman, the island is beautiful, and our stay at Sunshine Suites was the tower on our sandcastle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed one week at Sunshine Suites resort on Grand Cayman. Nice friendly staff, clean room, well kept property. Beach towels and chair were avaiable to use and you can exchange for clean towels as needed. We used the rinse tanks for our scuba gear. A continental/plus breakfast was included in our package which got us of to a good start. We cooked in our room one night for dinner. A couple nights we went to the restraunt that is onsite. People we were diving with said it has the best burgers and fish tacos. Both of the meals we had were very nice. Since we were staying in the hotel we could go back to our room and they would call when they had a table for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our family stayed at the Sunshine Suites for 7 nights. We all enjoyed it and the room while not the latest and greatest, they are a decent size and really clean. The full size fridge and small kitchenette was a plus for our family. We were able to prepare some small lunch meals for the kids. The breakfast at the Sunshine Grill is fantastic and the staff is really friendly. The front desk staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful. The grounds are nicely kept and there are chairs around to sit during the day or after dinner. Being across the street from the beach was not a big deal at all. We didn't mind the walk or we drove because we had a car and with kids there's always a ton of water toys. The beach by the Governors house is beautiful and one of the nicest I think on the island. It's super clean and there are not man rocks, while other beaches we visited had some rocks. Great stay! Will return for sure.

Room Tip: our room was facing the front of the grounds, not a big deal with the view. We didn't stay in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We’re a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman’s famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location next to the Ritz Carlton, down the road from the 18-hole North Sound Golf Course and near dozens of shops and restaurants. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Suites Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.