We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time with Friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Suites Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Stoughton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Time with Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I just left The Sunshine Suites yesterday and are already missing it. Our room was always clean and very convenient to beach, restaurants, bus line and taxi cabs. The staff was very helpful - always answered questions, made restaurant reservations and called transportation for us. The Sunshine Grill is the hidden jewel of the Island. We have to agree that the fish tacos and sliders are to die for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    313
    62
    15
    14
See reviews for
267
529
66
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed in the studio room. Queen size bed, dresser, closet, kitchen and bathroom. Felt like a small apartment. Couldn't have asked for a better room. The complimentary breakfast was okay, nothing special... but the lunch and dinner available here beats any nearby hotel. The shrimp tacos were incredible. Definitely a must have. Clean pool, friendly staff, will definitely stay here again if we go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our family have just left The Sunshine Suites Resort in Georgetown,Grand Cayman.We stayed for 7 fantastic nights here,our second trip here. The accommodation is excellent,clean and most convenient to the fantastic beach 5 minutes walk away. The staff are excellent and very much operate a 'can do' attitude. The Sunshine Grill is run by Darren who does an excellent job with his wonderful staff. Nothing was a problem during our stay from 7 - 14 May 2013. The food is of a consistently high standard,plenty of it and always clean and tidy with happy staff.

The reception staff were also excellent. I must single out Katie who was especially helpful during our stay.Nothing at all was a problem and always a smiling face and pleasant words to say.

Housekeeping was also first rate,with clean towels etc everyday.Our room was always cleaned to a consistently high standard.

So if you are considering a stay at 7 Mile Beach you must stay here I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A lovely hotel which is very clean with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Only a 5 minute walk from the beach, super value for money. The sunshine grill provides a wide range of food suitable for everyone, big portions and not expensive in comparison to other local restaurants.we had a great time and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

An excellent vacation destiny. We found the staff to be top notch, they made you feel right at home. Always smiling and very courteous. The resort was very clean and well kept. The beach was just a hop-skip and a jump away. They supply the beach chair and towel. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone. We have already booked for 2014 Easter. Cant wait.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here from Saturday to Thursday. It's across the street from seven mile beach and not too far from Georgetown. The staff was really friendly and helpful. They called the airport for me to help me locate my luggage, which I found out happens quite often. It was one of the better deals for the area and even has the best restaurant in the area, Sunshine Grill (the fish tacos and hamburgers are the best I've ever had). The rooms have dishes, utensils, stove, microwave and refrigerator. It's kinda like a little studio.

Down side was that there was a power outage when we were there, but I can't hold them responsible for that. They were nice and kept us updated on the issue and they knew some of the restaurants that still did have power so we could go there to eat (the Sunshine Grill was down). Even though the beach is right across the street, the chairs that are already there are reserved for guests of the hotels along the beach so we had to bring our own chairs (Sunshine Suites has chairs, you just have to carry them).

The bus comes along West Bay road and picks you up at the side of the road and can take you to Georgetown for $2 U.S. dollars. There's a grocery store close by called Cost-U-Less (it's like Costco)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I booked this place based on the reviews. Although not a disaster I expected much more.
The location is poor. Sandwiched between two busy roads a fair distance from the beach and also with a strip mall and vacant building lot complete with construction trucks on the other side it was not the scenic shangra la that the reviews made out or that was expected.
There are no elevators and it was a chore to carry up bags. Hotel rooms are average. I read a recent review and would also agree that this is not a resort. there was not even a real lobby and other than the bar and pool and a few painted deck chairs thats about it. You get what you pay for.
Staff were ok. Stay was average.
I would not book this place again. The reviews were not close to my stay experience.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on ground floor it will save a hike up the stairs with the bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We’re a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman’s famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location next to the Ritz Carlton, down the road from the 18-hole North Sound Golf Course and near dozens of shops and restaurants. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Suites Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.