We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunshine Suites Resort is affordable and centrally located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Suites Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Frederick, MD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sunshine Suites Resort is affordable and centrally located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Gracious and friendly staff, clean rooms, nice pool and one of the island's best restaurants - voted best hamburger! The rooms were roomy with fridge, microwave, coffee maker and two burner stove. You are across the street and one hotel away from the world famous Seven Mile Beach. Breakfast wasn't great - esp. if you don't like eggs. Stayed for 6 days and two days were hard boiled eggs, one day was creamed hard boiled eggs, another morning was small cheese omelet, another day was egg scramble and the best was french toast. They also offer small muffins, bread, oatmeal and fresh fruit.
Loved the expansive lawn that had a hammock and several Adirondack chairs. They also provide clean beach towels and comfortable beach chairs for you to carry with you to the beach.
The front desk provides everything from printing boarding passes to arranging and recommending activities from scuba dives, to horseback riding and restaurant reservations. They will also call taxis if you want one.
We tried one day without a vehicle and found that renting one allowed us to really enjoy all of the island. Was almost the same as we would have spent in taxis - maybe even a bit less. Just be aware that it's a British territory, so driving is on the opposite side of the road as USA - also the circles take some getting use to because they're reverse what we're use to as well.
Loved the turtle farm, The Queen's Botanical Garden and explored several different beaches. Saw a blue iguana (gorgeous) at the Garden, Black, orange and yellow land crabs crossing the street and rustling in dried leaves and so many fish we couldn't remember them all - some right in front of the Westin.
A TIP - visit the turtle farm, Queen's Garden and the 5-beach properties, Stingray City, Georgetown and well as any water excursions when there are no cruises. Things get unbelievably busy when the cruises are in and folks are on the island.
Several great restaurants walking distance from the resort - Sushi and healthy food in the small shopping center in front of the resort, and several great 5 star restaurants within 5 city blocks.
The resort was very well maintained - only thing we noticed was a bit of water damage at the bottom of the bathroom door and one or two places where paint was flaking in the common areas, but that's being extremely picky in a tropical area. Also loved Paco - the very friendly resident cat. If you don't like cats - he seemed to know and would avoid you. If you're expecting a 5 star Marriott type of place with a gorgeous view of the water - this is not for you; but if you like comfortable, cozy and friendly accommodations at a reasonable price this place is for you. Plenty of parking for rental vehicles and the "cabana" had stuffed furniture you'd have at home. Great for honeymoon couples, retired couples, families or traveling alone. We saw it all, heard no complaints and everyone we met seemed to have a great time.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor of the rear building facing the lawn and loved it. Had a nice tropical view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    646
    278
    55
    14
    13
See reviews for
233
476
58
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our family visited on spring break & it was VERY busy. Despite this, the front desk staff remained pleasant - and were quick to help out with every request. The rooms are perfect for a family looking for a relaxing beach vacation. It is a simple hotel, meeting all of your basic needs. If you need opulence, this is not the place for you The trip across the busy road to the beach is an adventure, but drivers are courteous & this was never a problem. This was our 2nd stay here & we look forward to returning to this friendly, relaxed resort.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd level this trip & preferred this location. Having previously stayed on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is exactly how the website describes it to be. Everyone is friendly and helpful.The grounds are very well maintained as well as the resort buildings from everything that I observed. I do wish that the entire pool area was non-smoking- it is a family friendly resort afterall. We stayed 9 days and received excellent service throughout the entire time. The staff at the front desk always greeted us with a smile and inquired about how they could help us. Our room was serviced in a timely manner everyday. The ladies at the Sunshine Grill (Annamarie and Jacqueline- just to name a couple) were very pleasant and always had everything set up for breakfast by 7am. The selection for breakfast is fine- I was especially excited the one day when they had pancakes- yummy! The afternoon/evening staff at the Sunshine Grill were wonderful too (more information in my restaurant review). There are several other very good restaurants within walking distance.
I liked having access to a washer and dryer. Would I like to stay directly on the beach ?? sure- but walking the 150yds from the resort was fine and even when there was traffic you were able to cross the street. Cost-U-Less and Foster's Food Fair were within walking distance. On our first day we bought a lot of groceries at Foster's-we walked there but needed to take a taxi back-customer service at Foster's called one for us-no problem. Just remember stores are closed on Sundays. The $20 we spent for an umbrella at Cost-U-Less was well worth it. Check the resort first-where the beach chairs are stored-people leave their umbrellas behind upon checking out as we did.
I don't want to forget that one of my highlights was having the resident cat, Paco, out and about. He's very friendly but I'm sure if you're not a cat person, he won't bother you.

Room Tip: The king bedroom suite had plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was nice, clean and well kept. I had read all the reviews and knew what to expect...not on the beach, a bit of a walk etc. If my kids had been with me I don't think I would have enjoyed lugging chairs and all their stuff to the beach. The pool was disappointing, not that we were there for the pool but we did try and relax there one afternoon and it was so small, you could hear everyone's conversations and if you're a non smoker like myself I didn't appreciate all the cigarette smoke. Since its a small area a designated smoking place somewhere outside of the pool area would have been nice. I was looking forward to the breakfast but was disappointed, i expected more from what previous reviewers had said about the offerings. If you're looking to spend less and don't mind not being on the beach then it's a good value

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been going to the Caymans for over 20 Yrs and own 2 wks timeshare on the island.Having just retired we decided to extend our stay and booked 1 month at Sunshine Suites.The staff was exceptional,friendly and helpful.The restuarant value great and the free continental breakfast to boot. You do have to cross the street for beach,but it was easy and they provide you with strap carrying beach chairs.Full kitchen was great as we stayed for 1 month.Maid service daily,clean towels and overall best deal on the island. The grounds are well maintained and free WI-FI in rooms. My husband and I are so looking forward to 2014!

Room Tip: Love the delux one bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our third stay at Sunshine Suites and we have never been disappointed. Beautiful grounds, clean, well equipped rooms, very friendly staff, a great restaurant and nicely affordable. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at the Sunshine Suites for a week in March. The prices being very high for hotels in Grand Cayman, this hotel was actually one of the cheapest available, but considering it cost over 200$ a night, I still expected it to be a little better. Don't get me wrong, it's a decent hotel with very comfortable rooms, but I think only in a market such as the Caymans would I accept shelling out over 200$ for such a hotel.
The staff at the reception desk were really great and very friendly, especially the guy who greeted us on the first day and who, apart from an amazing memory, was extremely helpful throughout our stay. The room was very big, with huge, very comfortable beds and a well equipped kitchenette and bathroom. It also had a good selection of tv channels. The only few things I disliked about the room was the rather noisy fan, the large soap bars (which were left until used-up, but that's ecological so I understand it), the absence of a rope to hang your wet clothes on (it's a beach destination after all) and the fact that the rooms are set up in a motel-like fashion which gives it a bit of a cheap look. We also had a guy come twice to our door trying to open it on the first night, but he was obviously drunk and I could hardly blame the hotel for that.
The grounds of the hotel were nice and so was the pool area. The Sunshine grill was a great restaurant option for lunch or dinner, but I must say I was a little disappointed with the included breakfast as I had heard it was very good from previous guests. The selection at breakfast was changing from day to day, but when it came to eggs they always had only one option and sometimes it was a pretty bad one, and when it came to fruit, the selection was very limited. The bread was also quite bad and the jams offered one of the most basic ones to be found.
The WIFI internet connection was a irregular most of the time and sometimes didn't work at all. The hotel is a short walk away from Seven Mile Beach, a little strip mall, as well as a big Costco style supermarket, but rather far from Georgetown (about 45min walk).
All in all, not a bad hotel. It's a good deal for the Cayman Islands. Considering the price I would recommend it, but I think there's a little room for improvement to make it really worth that price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We’re a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman’s famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location next to the Ritz Carlton, down the road from the 18-hole North Sound Golf Course and near dozens of shops and restaurants. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Venere, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Suites Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.