We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Treasure Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Treasure Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Treasure Island Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   269 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Seven Mile Beach
US
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had high hopes for this hotel based on other reviews, but my wife and I were sadly disappointed. Our "Garden View" room consisted of a view of the parking lot and was spartan in amenities. There was a coffee maker, but no coffee, creamer or sugar provided in room; no iron or hairdryer, and wifi is provided in the lobby only, not in the guest rooms. It seemed as guests as well as quite a few locals were all trying to get internet at the same time in the evening as the lobby was packed and loud. Other than the bar maid, the staff was not outwardly friendly or accomodating. The resort itself seems quite old, consisting of mustard-yellow popcorn stucco buildings badly in need of renovation; some ground units were used for hotel storage; one of the elevators in our building was inoperative and the other was filthy. Our room floor was dirty too, our feet turning black walking from the shower to cross the room! As the parking lot is a public one, there were two burned out abandoned cars there and the lot is unlit and feels a bit unsafe after dark. The one bright spot is the private beach at the back of the property, but this is due to the condo units that seem to allow resort guests use of the beach. Still, we felt a bit out of place and worried that the security agent was going to ask us to leave at any moment. Not very comforting. I'd say avoid this hotel unless there is just nothing else available.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    42
    27
    45
See reviews for
28
30
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is quaint, fun and a perfect location on 7 Mile beach. Staff was friendly and warm. Great restaurant and Bar, with 3 swimming pool. Plus the Beach. The best value in Cayman in regards to a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a Pool side room ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the shower was hot, the beach was the best of all the hotels, the staff was very friendly and the price was right! What more do you want.
Thank you Treasure Island!!!

Room Tip: I had no problem with noise and I was Pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The reviews for this facility were poor .My family stayed last week and had a wonderful experience . The staff was helpful and had an ocean view for a third if the price of neighboring facilities .It is not the Ritz but are room was clean and had no trouble with showers smell or lack if towels.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have traveled all thought out the Caribbean for business the property was neglected, dirty, the elevator was disgusting, this is really something out of hotel impossible, a/c didn't work room smelled like a portable construction toilet, way overpriced, terrible staff next time I'd rather sleep in the rental car

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Brac
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had to overnight in Grand Cayman on my way to the U.S. from Cayman Brac on business. The property I normally stay at didn't have any availability, so Treasure Island was the next best choice due to it's location (on 7 Mile Beach, not too far from the airport for my early morning flight), and the price vs. other hotels in the area.

The location is very good, being at the south end of 7 Mile Beach it is within walking distance to grocery stores, a variety of restaurants and shopping. They do have a large parking lot on the south side of the property, so no problem parking the rental car.

The hotel is run down and the hallways, stairwells and elevator could use a good cleaning. However my room was large, clean and the air conditioning worked. Having a fridge and microwave in the room is a plus. Water pressure is an issue with the shower not much more than a dribble.

The front desk person was surly and uncommunicative at check-in, but the desk clerk was much better in the morning when I checked out at 5:00 AM.

I didn't use the pool area or go to the beach so can't comment on that. I couldn't recommend this hotel for a week-long vacation, but it was adequate for an overnight stay, although I would try and book elsewhere in the future

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors tend to be quieter. Try to get a room on the west side of the hotel to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here 22 years ago, it was one of the nicest resorts on SMB...THEN! The place was packed. Great night club, great staff (mostly Canadians). I was so surprised at the changes and how far it has fallen into disrepair. Not everything about this place was bad. Our room, 5200 was clean. That makes up for a lot. No mold in the shower, newer fixtures. I think it had the ONLY good view of the water. Surprisingly the bed was VERY comfortable. Anything lower would be blocked by trees. We did however have to almost beg everyday for towels and wash cloths. It seem there are not enough to go around to every room. So depending on what's been washed that day determines how many rooms get freshened up. What used to be on the waterfront is now split with Sunset Cove condos. Treasure Island used to own and operate them however they sold off the condos BUT they continue to have a "working agreement" with them for guests to use the pool and beach access. TI was devastated in 2004, like most places, by hurricane Ivan. It was turned into a residence hotel for islanders trying to recover from that. Many rooms are rented out to them still. That also means many of those rooms are overcrowded. Also they allow some residents to have dogs in their rooms. The pool on the grounds is for residents only, guests use the Sunset Cove pool. Chatting with other guests at Sunset Cove it felt best to not let on you're staying at TI, it seems some condo owners do not like the arraignment. Pluses are: great location, minutes from Georgetown, walking to bars and restaurants. GREAT dive shop on site, Diver's Down. Great people to dive with.TI was inexpensive compared to other resorts. There is a small store on site offering a limited supply of things (and one real cranky clerk in the morning) If you do not need amenities, consistent quality or a staff with a pleasant disposition this is the place for you. Would I stay here a third time? NEVER!!! PS, US dollar is about %80 less so watch out for the conversion. Prices listed are in CI currency. ALSO and this is IMPORTANT if you go out to eat your bill will ALREADY INCLUDE A 15% GRATUITY. Be careful not to add an additional tip, unless you want to. This does apply to bar bills, only food.

Room Tip: our room, 5200 was clean, no mold in showers. request this room. i feel it has the best view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Treasure Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Island Resort

Address: 269 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Treasure Island Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Treasure Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Hotel Treasure Island
Treasure Island Grand Cayman
Treasure Island Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasure Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.