We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th world property” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Treasure Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Treasure Island Resort to your Saves list
Treasure Island Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   269 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Hudson, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“4th world property”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have traveled all thought out the Caribbean for business the property was neglected, dirty, the elevator was disgusting, this is really something out of hotel impossible, a/c didn't work room smelled like a portable construction toilet, way overpriced, terrible staff next time I'd rather sleep in the rental car

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    50
    31
    55
See reviews for
32
36
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cayman Brac
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had to overnight in Grand Cayman on my way to the U.S. from Cayman Brac on business. The property I normally stay at didn't have any availability, so Treasure Island was the next best choice due to it's location (on 7 Mile Beach, not too far from the airport for my early morning flight), and the price vs. other hotels in the area.

The location is very good, being at the south end of 7 Mile Beach it is within walking distance to grocery stores, a variety of restaurants and shopping. They do have a large parking lot on the south side of the property, so no problem parking the rental car.

The hotel is run down and the hallways, stairwells and elevator could use a good cleaning. However my room was large, clean and the air conditioning worked. Having a fridge and microwave in the room is a plus. Water pressure is an issue with the shower not much more than a dribble.

The front desk person was surly and uncommunicative at check-in, but the desk clerk was much better in the morning when I checked out at 5:00 AM.

I didn't use the pool area or go to the beach so can't comment on that. I couldn't recommend this hotel for a week-long vacation, but it was adequate for an overnight stay, although I would try and book elsewhere in the future

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors tend to be quieter. Try to get a room on the west side of the hotel to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here 22 years ago, it was one of the nicest resorts on SMB...THEN! The place was packed. Great night club, great staff (mostly Canadians). I was so surprised at the changes and how far it has fallen into disrepair. Not everything about this place was bad. Our room, 5200 was clean. That makes up for a lot. No mold in the shower, newer fixtures. I think it had the ONLY good view of the water. Surprisingly the bed was VERY comfortable. Anything lower would be blocked by trees. We did however have to almost beg everyday for towels and wash cloths. It seem there are not enough to go around to every room. So depending on what's been washed that day determines how many rooms get freshened up. What used to be on the waterfront is now split with Sunset Cove condos. Treasure Island used to own and operate them however they sold off the condos BUT they continue to have a "working agreement" with them for guests to use the pool and beach access. TI was devastated in 2004, like most places, by hurricane Ivan. It was turned into a residence hotel for islanders trying to recover from that. Many rooms are rented out to them still. That also means many of those rooms are overcrowded. Also they allow some residents to have dogs in their rooms. The pool on the grounds is for residents only, guests use the Sunset Cove pool. Chatting with other guests at Sunset Cove it felt best to not let on you're staying at TI, it seems some condo owners do not like the arraignment. Pluses are: great location, minutes from Georgetown, walking to bars and restaurants. GREAT dive shop on site, Diver's Down. Great people to dive with.TI was inexpensive compared to other resorts. There is a small store on site offering a limited supply of things (and one real cranky clerk in the morning) If you do not need amenities, consistent quality or a staff with a pleasant disposition this is the place for you. Would I stay here a third time? NEVER!!! PS, US dollar is about %80 less so watch out for the conversion. Prices listed are in CI currency. ALSO and this is IMPORTANT if you go out to eat your bill will ALREADY INCLUDE A 15% GRATUITY. Be careful not to add an additional tip, unless you want to. This does apply to bar bills, only food.

Room Tip: our room, 5200 was clean, no mold in showers. request this room. i feel it has the best view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

It is on the seven mile beach, but it's not really connected to the rest of the beach. You have to walk about a block up the road and then cut back in. It does have it's own area of beach & swimming. Rooms are kinda run down, but everything functioned well for us.

Room Tip: You definitely want an "ocean view" otherwise you'll end up looking at the AC units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

As the title states managing expectations is the key to deciding if this place is for you or not.
It is a basic slightly run-down average place with close access to the beach and walking distance to bars and restaurants.

Good: Beach access, pools, price

Bad: Nothing outstandingly bad. No deal beakers, except maybe the rowdy tenants, but definite inconveniences. Such as, minimal towels, no dish soap, missing knobs, no place to hang clothes.

This place rents out as full-time living quarters, so there was a group of rowdy people, that liked to crank the karaoke and boisterous attitudes pretty late (after midnight) the whole week we were there. There may be a quieter wing, but this didn't really bother us much since we are night owls ourselves, but it was noticeable.

The maids were very stingy with the towels. Got only 1 bath towel and 2 small ones for 2 adults. No bath mat and no washcloths. Asked for more and got them, but the next day they were gone and not been replenished. So asked for more and hid them in the dresser drawer and reused them, we do this at home anyway, so not a big deal. Also we had packed a few extra beach towels, so this really was more of a game by the end of the week.

Place is run down, there were knobs missing on the dresser, and no bar or hangers in the closet. Again we improvised, swapped a knob from the night stand ourselves, and all our stuff was dresser stuff anyway, so we folded everything and used the closet cupboard for shoes and dirty laundry. No alarm clock, but my cell phone had one. Tiny TV and fuzzy channels, but only caught news updates before bed, and hubby looked for a couple sports updates, so didn't really matter. Again these things aren't deal beakers for us, but they may be for others.

So if you are looking for a budget friendly place close to everything, and you can look past the shabby this may be for you. If you have the budget and like a few more amenities you probably won't like it here.

Room Tip: If you need quiet, go higher up, and away from the beach bar at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Treasure Island Resort is very reasonable priced considering it's competitors. It's a great option for those on a budget who are prepared to put up with a few misgivings. The resort could do with a bit of an overall spray with a high pressure cleaner, or just a bit of a spruce-up.

The rooms are generously spacious and the kitchen we had was featured enough so we could dine in frequently. There was no provided dish soap so you need to wait for cleaning staff or 'improvise'. Our coffee machine had not been cleaned since the prior guests but staff at the front desk were good enough to swap it out. The beds are very comfortable and the linens clean. There can be some noise if you're on the bar side of the resort. Staff were also good enough to organise a rapid unblocking of the toilet from prior guests. Generally though we felt staff were a little ambivalent in conversation.

The pools are great, clean and nice to sit around. The attached dive shop uses them frequently for training in the afternoons so they can be busy but if you;re into diving, there's a handy office onsite to organise your trips. There's also a general information desk to assist with organising other tours. If you don't have a car there's plenty of dining options within walking distance and some great budget options too.

A great place to stay, just set your expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Lost reservation, kept waiting 3 hours for a room. Room given had no shampoo, conditioner, towels, not ocean front as payed for. Was asked to talk to the manager at 11 the next morning concerning the room. 11 o'clock arrived to meet manager waited till 12:30 then told we would have to move to a new room. repacked and given the new room at 3:30. new room had no phone, no tv, no pots and pans, no ice bucket, no silverware, no plates nor glasses, no shampoo, no conditioner, no towels. there was a coffee pot that we used to get ice. (ice was only available on the 5th flr. we were ground level in the 2nd room. This room was not ocean front or even ocean view. the view out the sliding glass door was of the men and womans bathroom. When I asked the manager for silverware we waited 2 more hrs. then had to go looking for the "manager" who said she was "really busy". Checked out, went down the beach to another hotel and saved our honeymoon.

Room Tip: i implore you as strongly as possible do not consider until management change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Treasure Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Island Resort

Address: 269 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Treasure Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Treasure Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Hotel Treasure Island
Treasure Island Grand Cayman
Treasure Island Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasure Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.