We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 30620, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman (Formerly Westin Casuarina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Impressive hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here two nights and apart from the dreadful monsoonal weather, we had a great time. Hotel is clean, classy, well laid out. Room we had was clean, slightly dated, but perfectly functional. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ocean side provided you can put up with a little ambient noise from the poolsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We couldn’t be more pleased to hear that your recent stay at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa was so great. Our guest’s experience is important to us so all of us make it our number one goal to deliver exceptional service to create a wonderful stay. Thank you for sharing your review; we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    324
    108
    27
    22
See reviews for
244
331
31
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

After reading all the bad tripadvisor reviews I expected the hotel to be worse. We stayed in room 433 which is a Island View room.
Pros:
-Comfortable beds with multiple pillows
-Friendly and helpful staff
-Perfect location on the Seven Mile Beach
-Decor matched the tropical setting
-Lovely lobby
-Provided fresh juice everyday in the lobby
-Covered Balcony
-Secluded location of room

Cons:
-Bathroom smelled horrible
-Leak in the bathroom ceiling
-Few TV channels
-Combined shower and bathtub
-Average food
-Few umbrellas at the beach
-Slow food service on the beach
-We were not given a room upon check-in (We had to wait 3 hours)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We value all feedback positive or otherwise and appreciate that you have provided us with some valuable insight into your recent stay. It was wonderful to learn that you were comfortable and enjoyed our beach front location, the friendly service and many of the amenities offered at our resort. We were sorry however to read that there were a few items on your list that were less positive. Our guests are encouraged to bring any concerns to our attention at the time of their stay so that we may address them promptly. Thank you for sharing your comments; please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Grand Cayman for a close friend's wedding. From the moment we arrived we were in awe of the entire island. It's a gorgeous place. The resort was amazing! The rooms were sized nicely. The pool was amazing but we spent everyday on the beach with waiter service. The lunch was delicious and the drinks were on point. The wedding was also at the resort and every detail about it was perfect! The staff put up with our late night noisiness well, although they were not thrilled with us. When we return to the island we will most definitely stay at the Westin again.

Room Tip: We considered the ocean front but settled on the ocean view room and were very happy with our decisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We are truly grateful for your review and for sharing your recent experience at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa with us. Weddings on the Island are magical and it was such a pleasure for us to have hosted the event and welcomed the bride and grooms guest to our hotel. We’re thrilled you enjoyed everything about your visit and hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My hubby, myself, my sister & brother-in-law arrive at the Westin about 4:40 p.m. April 20, for check-in. The first view of the Westin coming up the main driveway is very pretty & nicely manicured. Porters take our luggage from the taxi to the front desk, nice! Check-in is quick & easy, the desk clerk is very nice & assures us our room has a really lovely view. Both couples are booked in to partial ocean view/king rooms. My sister gets room 407, we get room 188. We both head off to our respective rooms to check things out.
Normally we would never take a ground floor room; for privacy & sound issues, we always prefer top floor. But the desk clerk was right, we have a lovely view of the pool & Jacuzzi area, & we are the last room in our wing, tucked in to a quiet corner on the north end of the hotel & the nearest common walkway is a bit away. We are hesitant because the Jacuzzi is about 10 steps away from our patio door, & this could be a noise factor, but decide to try it for a night. We were never sorry & loved this location. We could enjoy the pool area, beach, restaurants, whatever we like & it is quick & easy back to our room through the exterior patio door. The patio door does not lock from the outside, but we left nothing of value in our room, so we didn't care. (***Please note I am not recommending this! It’s just what worked for us.***)
The entire wall of our room that faces the pool is window, with a door that steps onto a small patio with 2 chairs & a little table. About 10 steps from there is one of the Jacuzzi's. There was a father & 2 young boys that used it the first couple days we were there (despite large sign that says no one under 16 allowed), but after that it was rarely occupied, and only once at night.
Sister & her hubby were on the fourth floor, south end, with a partial ocean view looking south on Seven Mile Beach. They were very pleased with their room, & the view also, & said it was very quiet.
Our room overall was nicely decorated. Not terribly fancy, but comfortable & inviting. Soft yellow walls, some blues & greens, colors that evoke the outdoors. All furniture was in good condition, no major signs of wear & tear.
Our bed was okay. It had a slight downward slope from the center out to the sides, which made it not perfect, but we slept fine. Two different kinds of pillows for sleeping, plus a long thin pillow perhaps for tv watching?
The tv-can't comment, we never turned ours on, not once.
There are 2 large bottles of water on the dresser, next to the TV. Don't be a silly like me, READ the label - they are like $5CI each. (Although I was never charged for the one I opened; thank you Westin!) There is free water, replenished daily, the smaller bottles in the fridge.
There is a table with 2 nicely padded chairs. Two nightstands. Plenty of lamps & lighting.
Closet with real hangers! (I hate those hangers that don't come out of the closet!) Two bathrobes, nice. A safe that held my 17 inch laptop, our wallets & my hubby's Surface.
The bathroom is roomy. Only negative, it could use some more counter space, or a shelf for your own toiletries. Or move the coffee maker somewhere else. There is a retractable clothesline across the front of the shower/tub - VERY handy!! Loved using this to hang up our swim suits each night. (Be sure to bring multiple swim suits, despite hanging each night they rarely dried by morning, so we rotated swim suits).
The toilet is behind a separate door, but it is louvered, so it didn't feel very private. No worries, since it's just hubby & myself. There is also no exhaust fan over the toilet, or the shower, which we thought was odd. But the circulation must be very good because we never had a muggy room, or a stinky toilet area.
We thought it odd that we never received maid service until like 5:00 p.m. everyday, and sister had it by like 10:00 a.m. Until the 5th day, when I realized that we never took our do not disturb sign down until we came in each evening. DUH!! Maid's were probably a bit frustrated with us! After that we had service in the morning. They changed our towels everyday, even if we hung them up, sheets too. Great service.
That wall of window was great in the daytime, but had some really good black out curtains for night time.
Next to last night of stay we were in bed, after 10:00 p.m. when we were roused by loud voices coming from that jacuzzi. We waited a few minutes to see if they would quiet down, but they didn't. Called front desk & mentioned it, they apologized & we said goodnight. Within 5 minutes it was silent & the jacuzzi was empty. Very nice!
We loved the pool area, very pretty, nicely manicured & well kept. My hubby rises early, between 5:30-6:00 a.m. & heads out by the pool to let me sleep, so he got to meet all those hard working folks that keep this place so nice. Hubby also hit the towel shack at 7:00 a.m. when it opened & saved the four of us lounge chairs in our favorite spot. And yes folks, the towel game was in full swing. Since it is just past high season, things were quieter, and getting a chair later wasn't impossible. Hubby did see Westin staff saving chairs for folks, both by pool & beach. There are quite a few of these lovely cabana beds around the property, but you have to rent them to the tune of $180CI a day. I only saw one occupied during our stay. Except for the afternoon my hubby decided to slip into one & take a nap. Waitress was very gracious & asked me to tell him after he woke up that he had to rent those, as she didn't want to disturb him. LOL! Naughty hubby knew better.
We never had a shortage of waitresses asking if we needed anything. They were all very friendly & courteous.
There is most definitely a happy hour, 5:00 - 7:00 each evening, Cayman Sunsets (SO delicious!) for $5CI ($9CI the rest of the time), and Cayman Brews 2 for 1. We had Cayman Sunsets each night & found a chair on the beach to watch the actual sunset. There was usually live music from about 5-9 also. Nothing obnoxious or terribly loud, just caribbean style music most of the time. All of it gave the pool & beach area a festive atmosphere (not party scene) in the evenings.
We used the Avis desk at the Westin, received great service. We reserved a couple months before we came.
We used the business center to print tickets for excursions we bought. It's free & simple.
The entire hotel was a very nice place to be. We felt spoiled. The lobby is nice; pool area very pretty; beach - the best on Seven Mile! And the water is like a bathtub, and so clear.
Red Sail Sports, on property - we used them twice. The first time to do Stand Up Paddle-boarding, our first time. You sign up for a 30 minute lesson, which is free. If you want to continue it was $40CI/hour to rent the board. We barely survived the 30 minutes, with a stiff wind blowing against us as we tried to paddle back to shore, 6 out of the 9 that went out had to be picked up on a jet ski. We made it back on our own, it was fun, but we were done.
Second time we just rented snorkel vests to go do some snorkeling on our own. Both times our experience with them was fine.
We ate at Tortuga's (beach bar grill) a couple times, not great, but sufficient if you don't want to go anywhere.
We did room service for breakfast quite a bit. It's very nice to have your breakfast & coffee on your patio in the morning! The servers were very nice & the food was good.
We had a dinner on the beach (Casa in the Sand) which I will post a review under Casa Havana for. This was a wonderful experience!!
My only complaint is the sound level in the hallways. No matter the time of day or night, people were quite loud as they headed to/from their rooms. Does no one realize that we can hear you??? Lower your voice!! And the door slamming. The doors are the fire door type, very solid, with a self closing hinge. If you just let it go...BANG! Seems we were the only ones that didn't think this was acceptable. I was woke up several mornings between 6-7 by this.
I realize that the Westin cannot control how considerate people are, so I do not fault them for this.
It is a lovely place, inside & out. Everyone staff member we encountered was pleasant. We loved our stay here, & plan on returning.

Room Tip: Room 188 has a lovely view of the patio/pool area, and is in a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
What a wonderful compliment it is to hear that you are planning on staying at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa again in the future. It was a true pleasure to read your review and learn all about the fun you and your husband had while staying with us. It sounds as though you both enjoyed yourselves greatly. Red Sail Sports offers our guests everything they need to take part in the many water activities in the area and we are glad you took advantage of the stand-up paddle board lessons and then some snorkeling. We look forward to reading your review about Casa Havana and your dining experience on the beach. Casa on the Sand is perfect for couples looking for a romantic night at the ocean’s edge with soft light and a delicious meal. Thank you for your many kind words; we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location... service was excellent, especially William! He is more than a bellhop. Was friendly and helpful through out our stay. Lemon water out by the pool/beach.... great food at the grill. The rooms, although not as nice as other Westin properties are spacious and clean. The front desk manager went out of her way to accomodate our request for a change in rooms, allowing us to preview a room on the first floor with a ocean view. Perfect location! Staff helpful! Perfect beach....

Room Tip: First floor allows direct access to pool/beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We love to hear that a guest thought our location was perfect and our staff and the service they received were excellent. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa. We will be sure to share your review all the staff here so that they are aware of the impact they had on your stay. We’re delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited The Westin Grand Cayman for the first time last week. The hotel did not disappoint. We could not have asked for a better experience. The beach and service were fantastic.

The water was calm and crystal clear. Relaxing by the beach all day was exactly the type of vacation we were looking for.

The service at the Westin was top notch. Between the multiple housekeeping calls per day, extremely friendly bell captain, and the personable Tortuga cafe staff (Felicia and Trisha) we felt right at home.

Special mention to Hadi at the front desk. Upon our check in, Hadi went above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our stay at the Westin. Between his restaurant recommendations, island insights, personality, and demeanor we felt extremely welcomed. It is because of folks like Hadi that we remain loyal Starwood members. I would recommend this hotel to anyone just on his service alone.

Thank you again Hadi. Thank you Westin.

Room Tip: Avoid the peak season of November to April.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for your generous praise and your recommendation for The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa. Providing exceptional service so that our guests can relax and enjoy their stay is our top priority. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we will be sure to give our staff members the recognition they deserve. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Weston has a great location on Seven Mile beach. Beach is large and beautiful and does not feel crowded, even on a holiday weekend. Pool is nothing special. Feels kind of cramped In the space. Pool not very clean during our stay... Lots of stuff floating... Wanted to skim it for them. Bar/ restaurant space around pool is also tight. Our room was nice enough although not worth paying for pool view as ours was blocked almost entirely by a tree. Service is excellent in cabana and at bars and restaurant. Food was just okay. Would probably stay here again based on the staff. Very helpful with my elderly dad.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Exceptional guest service is the ultimate goal and top priority at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa. We truly appreciate your many kind words about the level of service you received at our onsite restaurants and bar. The next time you are visiting Grand Cayman, we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back and that you will let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 30620, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman (Formerly Westin Casuarina)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Grand Cayman fronting the famous beach, guests at the Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa can enjoy scuba diving, shopping, or just relaxing on their getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Casuarina Resort And Spa, Grand Cayman
The Westin Casuarina Resort & Spa, Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Westin Casuarina Resort Grand Cayman
Westin Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Westin
Westin Grand Cayman
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.