We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 30620, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman (Formerly Westin Casuarina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited The Westin Grand Cayman for the first time last week. The hotel did not disappoint. We could not have asked for a better experience. The beach and service were fantastic.

The water was calm and crystal clear. Relaxing by the beach all day was exactly the type of vacation we were looking for.

The service at the Westin was top notch. Between the multiple housekeeping calls per day, extremely friendly bell captain, and the personable Tortuga cafe staff (Felicia and Trisha) we felt right at home.

Special mention to Hadi at the front desk. Upon our check in, Hadi went above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our stay at the Westin. Between his restaurant recommendations, island insights, personality, and demeanor we felt extremely welcomed. It is because of folks like Hadi that we remain loyal Starwood members. I would recommend this hotel to anyone just on his service alone.

Thank you again Hadi. Thank you Westin.

Room Tip: Avoid the peak season of November to April.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for your generous praise and your recommendation for The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa. Providing exceptional service so that our guests can relax and enjoy their stay is our top priority. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we will be sure to give our staff members the recognition they deserve. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    324
    109
    27
    22
See reviews for
245
332
31
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Weston has a great location on Seven Mile beach. Beach is large and beautiful and does not feel crowded, even on a holiday weekend. Pool is nothing special. Feels kind of cramped In the space. Pool not very clean during our stay... Lots of stuff floating... Wanted to skim it for them. Bar/ restaurant space around pool is also tight. Our room was nice enough although not worth paying for pool view as ours was blocked almost entirely by a tree. Service is excellent in cabana and at bars and restaurant. Food was just okay. Would probably stay here again based on the staff. Very helpful with my elderly dad.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Exceptional guest service is the ultimate goal and top priority at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa. We truly appreciate your many kind words about the level of service you received at our onsite restaurants and bar. The next time you are visiting Grand Cayman, we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back and that you will let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Westin over Memorial Day weekend. We were given a room without a working toilet for the ENTIRE weekend. We had to use the public restrooms at the hotel. The toilet overflowed a couple of times a day even if it wasn't being used. We asked to move rooms but they said they were at capacity. When we asked to speak with the manager he made us wait for 30 minutes. He spoke with us for five minutes to apologize and give us a $100 credit. When we asked to speak to him again he was "too busy." TERRIBLE. I would have rather stayed in a hostel than at the Westin. Very disappointing.

Though the beach was very nice, it is not worth the terrible service. Go to the Ritz. Anywhere, just not the Westin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
It is disappointing that your recent experience was not as expected. Addressing specific details are difficult on a review forum with the guidelines set by the site. We encourage you to contact us directly should a situation further need our attention. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Westin on Seven Mile Beach in Grand Cayman for three nights. The property is very nice - great beach, great pool and grounds. The rooms are a nice size - I would consider them "standard" for this class of hotel. The hotel location was also great - in the middle of Seven Mile Beach. There are several restaurants within walking distance, so you won't feel obligated to stay on the property for all your meals (we ate breakfast every day at a nice cafe across the street). Of course, the rest of the island's attractions are readily accessible by taxi or rental car. We ended up renting a car one day (there is an Avis office in the Westin) and used taxis the rest of the time.

Our only complaint was the odor emanating from the bathrooms. We noticed a strong, sewer-gas smell coming from the bathroom the first day of our stay. We mentioned this to the front desk and they disinfected/sanitized the room when it was made up the second day. Unfortunately, this just added a layer of bleach smell to the already unpleasant and persistent sewer odor. We asked to be switched to a different room, hoping it was an isolated incident. The hotel was happy to move us to another room, where we stayed for the next two nights. Unfortunately, the second room also had a sewer smell in the bathroom, though not as pronounced as in our first room. In both rooms, the smell was coming from the toilet area. I can't say what caused the odor, but it definitely affected our enjoyment of the room. Luckily, we spent most of our time at the beach or around the island, so it wasn't a major impact on our holiday. Props to the hotel staff for being responsive and trying to help with the problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Although we are delighted that you and your wife had a nice time visiting the area and found our associates to be responsive and friendly, we were disappointed to learn about the issue you encountered in the lavatory. We are sorry for any inconvenience and we will share your comments with our maintenance supervisor. Thank you for your review; we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

...because the beach was too perfect! This was probably the first time we never had a drink at a swim-up pool bar. We wanted to knock that off our list of what to do at the resort, but never found the time to do it the whole week we were there. We spent everyday on the soft sand beach.

Unlike other resorts that clutter the beach with cabanas and umbrellas, the Westin was very tasteful in making sure the cabanas' (wood and canvas) views were not blocked by beach umbrellas (since you're paying for the rental). The umbrellas were located off to the sides of the cabanas at the edges of the resort. The Westin could probably add a few more, but they are real clear on the use limit. As it gets hotter in the shoulder to off-seasons they may want to consider increasing the amount of umbrellas due to the temperature increasing. Beach lounge chaise, chairs, and tables, were kept to the back of the beach for storage, leaving the beach clear and uncluttered looking. The staff was more than helpful to bring them out if requested.

The people working in all aspects of this resort were absolutely the friendliest we've met on our travels. Even the maintenance and housekeeping staff took the time to smile and say hello. Everyone appeared to be happy to be working there, and after talking with a few of them, they have been there for three years or more. Their experience was evident and they gave great recommendations when we wanted to eat off the resort.

The Westin did a good job of bringing in live musicians occasionally to play near the pool bar, around sunset. The food options around the pool area were good and varied. There are plenty of areas around the pool that are shaded.

The rooms were not up to the Westin standard as far as the heavenly bath goes, but had adequate closet and drawer space. The A/C worked great in the high humidity and heat. They also provided turn-down service and a liter of bottled water every day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are flattered by all your lovely compliments for The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa and our staff, thank you. It’s great to hear from our guests and learn that our beachfront location, dining options and service all fully met their needs. Our associates genuinely care about our guests and want to do whatever they can to ensure their stay is superb. We hope that you will return soon for another visit to try out our swim up bar so you can finally cross it off your to do list. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Vermont, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We went for 6 nights to unwind. We did nothing and it was fabulous. The location is excellent. The beach is fantastic. The hotel is right in the middle of 7 mile beach. We were able to walk to a number of restaurants and beachside bars. The website says that all rooms have balconies...well except for a few that only have a door that opens to a railing. Make sure to request a balcony. My wife asked that we move since it was my birthday and they found us a new room with a balcony. The rooms are pretty spacious and comfortable, but nothing special. I'm sure there are plenty of dodgy places on the island so take solace in the spaciousness and cleanliness at the Westin 7 mile beach. You will spend most of your time at the pool, beach or exploring the island. We ate lunch by the pool most days. We tried Ferdinand's for breakfast (great) and dinner (nothing special). Checkout Eats cafe across the street for good, quick and relatively cheap EATS!

Room Tip: Request a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay with us; we are very pleased we were able to give you the relaxing visit you were looking for. The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa offers guests four delicious and affordable options for dining at the resort: Cafe Soleil, Tortuga Beach Bar and Grill, Casa Havana and Ferdinand’s. We are so glad you enjoyed eating at the pool bar and Ferdinand’s for breakfast and hope that the next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This Westin has solid rooms, especially for the Caribbean, and a super friendly and helpful staff. We paid a little extra for a rate which included the daily breakfast buffet ($21 CI, if not included, I believe) and found it to be worthwhile. The pool here is pretty large and the hotel is arguably on the best stretch of Seven Mile Beach. Red Sail Sports, which has an outpost on site, offers numerous activities (Stingray City via catamaran worth a look) and the Westin concierges were great - setting up other tours and giving tips on dining. Internet is free throughout the property though can be spotty at times. No issues with chairs and such as others mentioned; however, we were there in May - so it's starting to slow down in Cayman. Sure, the Ritz-Carlton has a pretty swanky outpost next door with a fantastic restaurant - but who wants to walk a country mile to the beach (depending on where your room is) or pay double what the Westin costs? Not us, that's for sure! Speaking of restaurants - there are two decent options directly across the street in Eats Cafe and, behind the shopping plaza, Sunshine Grill. My only complaint is the water pressure in the showers - which is not up to typical "heavenly shower" standards ... or at least it wasn't in our room. Regardless of that, when returning to Cayman - definitely would choose this Westin again vs. the Ritz or Marriott, which is poorly positioned and has a dinky pool & beachfront.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Our associates always desire to create a memorable experience for all of our guests and the ultimate retreat while staying at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa. We are thrilled that you had such a great time here and that enjoyed our beautiful stretch of Seven Mile Beach. We do however regret learning that you had experienced some issues with the water pressure in your shower hope that it did not take away from your overall experience. Thank you for your review, please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 30620, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman (Formerly Westin Casuarina)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Grand Cayman fronting the famous beach, guests at the Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa can enjoy scuba diving, shopping, or just relaxing on their getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Casuarina Resort And Spa, Grand Cayman
The Westin Casuarina Resort & Spa, Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Westin Casuarina Resort Grand Cayman
Westin Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Westin
Westin Grand Cayman
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.