We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach... Great location !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 30620, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman (Formerly Westin Casuarina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Bursa, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Beach... Great location !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great beach and great location...
but;
Waited for 2 hours to have our rooms ready (at 4 pm)
Rooms : Large enough and clean
but Very noisy... they are using old and very noisy vacuum cleaners to clean the corridors at 7 am in the morning ! every day !
Service:too slow in the main restaurant...
Food
: awesome !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions of The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa with us. While we are so glad to know you enjoyed the spaciousness of your room and our beachfront location, it is certainly disappointing to find out that sounds from outside your guestroom were a disruption to your stay and we ask that you accept our sincere apologies. We value the feedback you've offered and hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    250
    91
    23
    16
See reviews for
189
241
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

1. Clean, comfortable rooms at a fair price (views cost extra)
2. Best beach location on Grand Cayman
3. Top notch pool service, food, and drinks
4. Walking distance to Yoshi and Eduordo's (great sushi and Italians restaurants)
5. Wonderful spa (had a different treatment every day)
6. Don't visit during Spring Break (screaming kids, crying babies, and a shortage of lounge chairs due to the "reserve a chair by putting a towel on it even though I'm not going to sit there for several more hours" rule that the hotel permits.
7. This place use to enforce a no smoking policy and it was great! Now, people smoke by the pool, on their balconies, and on the beach. Disgusting!

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor to avoid pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa once again for your stay in Grand Cayman. It was truly a pleasure to welcome you back and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us. We’re thrilled during your time here you enjoyed the accommodations and service provided at our resort and had a chance to be pampered a bit at the Hibiscus Spa. We certainly want you to know that we do not condone or permit smoking at our hotel in areas other than those designated for smoking and we respond to smoking situations as soon as we are made aware of them. We hope that you will return soon for another visit as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Westin the week of Feb 17 (school break) We had a wonderfull time. At 1st the room we were offered (ocean view), when we walked out on the patio it was in the trees and you could see nothing. Anthoney from the front desk showed us another room, whice had a fantastic view, I was totally impressed with Anthoney during our vacation, when we needed help he went the extra mile to help. The place was beautiful, pool was a little small, but loved the layout and the trees all around. The beach was gorgeous. Also loved the lobby, my daughter liked to hang out and use the wify, I felt she was same even by her self. Seven mile beach has some great food, better than the other places we have been, in the caribian. Accross the street is the Sunshine grill, great food and prices, but go early. Had an awesome dinner at the Mariott (all you can eat Lobster). Did not like Decker's though. Fantastic meal on the beach at the warf. We went into the other Hotels, Mariott, Ritz, Etc.. walked the beach, and really thought the Westin was the best. Bus service was the best we have ever seen in the island's, and we have been to several (clean, fast, Cheap, Convenient). We went to Stingray city, the Turtle farm, and did the dolphin expirience (look for coupon in brochier at Hotel) saved $50.00 each. The prices for these was far less expensive than other islands like Nassau. Also there is a tour co. in the plaza accross the street, captain Morgan's fantastic crew great clean boat great fun. better prices than offered at the hotel by Red Sail. The coffee shop by the gift shop was good too, really liked the staff there. Anthony sorry so late on review, but been busy, we will call you when we come back. Again thanks for all you do, and thanks to all staff at desk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
What a wonderful review filled with many great tips and suggestions, thank you. All of us here at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa were very happy to learn of your fantastic experience on the island and your satisfaction with your accommodations. We are sincerely grateful for your praise of our front desk associate and will gladly share your comments with everyone. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Let me start by saying this was our second visit. My experience this year was not as good as our previous visit last year. This hotel is not up to Westin standards. The rooms were okay and ocean front but our rooms had a damp feel and a slight musty smell. My book was even damp every morning. I did not have this last year. Our rooms were not cleaned some days until 4-5 pm. No turn down service anymore and I missed the complimentary rum cake on arrival. Empty trays and food containers sat in the halls most of the day. They have painted in areas but the hotel needs a number of updates. I understand the hotel was full but I would think they would be able to keep up with the busy time of year.

Also to those families who would like adjoining rooms this hotel is now charging $160 or $180 for this reservation and you must do this when making the reservation. I did ask for adjoining rooms when I booked and nothing was mentioned about an extra charge or it not being available. Of course I was not given adjoining rooms and since the hotel was full they could not accommodate my request. I have older kids so it was not that bad for me but for the younger families there it was understandable they were upset. I was even asked when we were leaving by a family if we had adjoining rooms in hopes they could maybe get ours. I have never encountered this charge at any Starwood property and have never had this problem before. It seems like this Westin has their own charges unknown to reservations.

The beach is the best feature of this hotel with snorkeling right there where we have seen different types of rays, turtles and a lot of varieties of fish. Red Sail Sports is also right there for water sports and tours. The beach umbrellas are still a problem just as previous posters have said and they do have more cabanas this year but they are pricey. I can not say much about the pool because I prefer the beach. I like many others don't understand why there are not more umbrellas available to guests. It is a beach vacation people are coming for. You should not have to get up on your vacation at 6am for umbrellas.

The restaurants only offer the breakfast buffet and Sunday brunch now so the menus get old after a few days with no specials offered. But the staff is great. The little cafe is great for coffee and muffins and other light breakfast items. You can also pick up sandwiches, salads for lunch. They serve great ice cream I just wish they would stay open later in the evening.

Our stay was nice and the snorkeling is great but I think I will try the Caribbean Club next time. The Ritz is not an option for us due to the beach being small and the beach chairs on top of each other.

Room Tip: For families make sure reservations looks into charges for adjoining rooms and I would email the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
At The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa we do make every effort to accommodate our guests’ requests and we are truly sorry that we could not offer your family adjoining rooms at the time of your stay. We very much appreciate all the feedback you have provided and we will share your comments with our team so that we can continuously improve our service for future guests. Thank you so much for your kind acknowledgment of our staff, we hope that the next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We didn't stay here but had to drive over from our resort for the diving. Too windy at our resort. Beach is beautiful here. Westin had nice amenities, ice cream shop inside, beach bar with better beach drinks than most. Concierge was helpful when we inquired about restaurants in the area since we had just come back from diving and was staying on the other side of the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your impressions of The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa with everyone. We appreciate your many compliments for our location, amenities and our concierge. We hope that the next time you are visiting the island you will consider us for your overnight accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

the reviews seemed good and for the price of the room you would expect a great stay, but i cant say that i did. this hotel needs a make over, both with rooms and service. no fridge in any rooms, no drinks or snacks in room, room service menu was pages stapled together not even a book, bathrooms were kind of shabby and why would i want to make my coffee while brushing my teeth? also, took me 20 minutes to wash shampoo out of hair becuase the shower was so weak, no ac in lobby and in none of the elevators! beaches were very crowded, service on beach was slow and poor, not enough towels by pool and no one to help you get chairs or beach supplies. food by pool was edible, nothing great. no massages on the beach, huge disappointment! they put all prices on everything in cayman money which gives you the illusion of cheaper prices and then when you get the bill, bam! double the price. woke up at around 2pm because i was not able to sleep and went down to lobby and no one was there! no one!!!!! what happened if someone had an emergency??????? who helps you? nobody!!!!!xanax helped me.......would not return to hotel , but on the plus side this hotel does have potential and is in a great location....but overall highly disappointed.will never return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
It is disheartening to learn that your accommodations and your overall experience was not as you had expected. We wish we were made aware of your concerns while you were still at resort so that we could have addressed them with you and promptly rectified any issues. We value the feedback you've offered and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful, relaxing week long vacation at the Westin in Grand Cayman. I was travelling with a small group of friends for a girls getaway. Overall, I was very impressed with the hotel. The front entrance and lobby area are very pretty, and the pool area is beautiful with many palm trees and landscaping. The rooms were nice, but a bit basic. The balcony and great view were nice. We did have trouble with our bathtub draining very slowly.

The beach is amazing. The water is a very clear turqoise blue. It is true that there are very few beach umbrellas, and these get reserved by towels very early in the morning. This was not a big problem for us since we wanted to tan anyway, and there are several large trees that can provide shade if needed. The beach is quite large, and there was no reason to be squished right next to other people if you were willing to walk a little farther to one of the sides of the resort. The hotel was sold out all week, which was expected given that it was Holy Week. The pool and hot tubs were very crowded full of little kids, and I would suggest that one of the hot tubs should really have the adults only policy enforced so there would be somewhere for the adults (especially the ones not there with children) to escape to. It sort of felt like the whole area was overrun with children, and as a result we actually never used the pool or the swim up bar at all during our stay even though it looked very nice. This would probably be less of a problem when it's not a popular family vacation week, but I still think they should reserve some space for adults to relax. One other issue was that they ran out of pool towels on several occasions which was kind of annoying.

There are many water sports available right off of the beach. We did the parasailing which was great, and also some snorkeling. We also all had massages at the spa which was very relaxing. There is waitress service right on the beach so you can have food and drinks brought to your lounge chair, and I enjoyed not having to walk back and forth for every drink.

I very much enjoyed my stay and would definitely consider returning. I think that if they would add some more beach umbrellas and enforce an adults only zone in part of the pool area, it would be a near perfect resort.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a view over the pool area straight onto the beach, try to get a room off to the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
A girlfriends’ getaway in the Cayman Islands sounds like a perfect way to spend spring break. Your kind review is sincerely appreciated and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa. It appears as though you and your friends made the most of your trip by taking in some of the great water sport activities available and soaking up the warm tropical sun. Thank you for your review and suggestions. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 30620, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman (Formerly Westin Casuarina)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Grand Cayman fronting the famous beach, guests at the Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa can enjoy scuba diving, shopping, or just relaxing on their getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Casuarina Resort & Spa, Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
The Westin Casuarina Resort And Spa, Grand Cayman
Westin Casuarina Resort Grand Cayman
Westin Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Westin
Westin Grand Cayman
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.