We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishes right at your foot steps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   389 West Bay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off in Paradise
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fishes right at your foot steps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a great labor day weekend getaway while celebrating our One year Anniversary at the GC Marriott. The resort is currently under renovation for the top 2 floors so it was a blessing since the beach was never crowded. I can see how during high season with the top floors available the prime beach seats would be coveted and fought for.

Upon arrival we were offered a welcome fruit punch while waiting to check in. Our room wasn't ready right away but we checked in a tad earlier than the check in time so no complaints. They offered us a pager and we just checked out the resort grounds instead. We were offered an upgrade as well which is always nice.

The best part about the resort is the beach where they have implanted a coral reef system that has attracted a ton of tropical fishes which makes it perfect for snorkeling. Even while swimming there are fish that swim right next to you.

Would recommend renting a car so you can explore more places, hotel has free parking.

By the poolside we ordered nachos and a few drinks they were good and strong and have a pretty good happy hour. The pizza in the lobby was pretty good as well.

Would suggest to venture out of the hotel to try the food the island has to offer.

Sunshine Grill- delicious mahi mahi fish tacos
Blue by Eric Ripert at the Ritz - great celebration dinner, perfect in quality and taste (just like Le Benardin in NYC)
Coconut Joe's- right across the street, good for breakfast
Alfresco- great for dinner under the stars on their porch

Room Tip: Since they are currently remodeling the top floors I'd suggest to ask for rooms on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,249
    898
    229
    115
    46
See reviews for
713
1152
73
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for a week during Labor Day week with our 22 month old. The beach is excellent (much better than the Westin, which we visited on our stay). The water is clear, no waves which makes it perfect for kids to walk in and out of and you can see fish swimming right by the shore. Speaking of fish, go to your local pet store and buy fish flake food...we bought it at their local supermarket and fed the fish daily, our toddler loved it! It's probably much cheaper if you buy it before you come! There are lounges in the oceans which are great for kids...kind of like a floating little swimming pool! Bring your snorkel gear, the hotel's stuff is terrible and there is so much sea life to be seen! There's also a turtle pond, they will give you turtle food to feed them if you ask by the towel place near the pool.

On to the hotel, it is undergoing renovations. The room above hours was being renovated during our stay. We heard no noise at night, but we had a toddler that napped mid day and the sounds of jackhammers in the ceiling didn't help that at all, so be aware of that. You can only stay out so much before wanting to come to your room to recoup, we couldn't do that and ended up having to drive her around to nap uncomfortably in her car seat because of the noise.

The staff is very friendly and the food at the hotel was excellent. We booked a private table at the beach at Solana one night (we were the only one who did this!) and it was excellent. Private waiter, right in the sand and really great food and service. I highly recommend you do that vs. eating inside the restaurant.

The bar by the pool area is good however the service was terrible. We went there to eat right after it rained and all the chairs were wet, which the waiter pointed out to us. No one offered to wipe them down so we left because there was no way we were going to sit in puddles. That was the only negative service experience we had.

By the beach, someone comes around with popsicles every day and a kids club woman came with a water balloon, which of course made the toddler's day. As several have mentioned, you can put out a towel first thing in the morning and it won't be moved all day so essentially save a prime spot. I can see how that would get annoying if the hotel was full, however we had the beach to practically ourselves almost our entire stay so that issue never came.

Also, be aware that they charge for internet use in the room...we called prior to coming and were informed it was free but that was not the case. It's only free in the lobby.

Overall, it's a great hotel in a great location. I'm sure it will be amazing once all of the renovations are done. Excellent place for toddlers, ours loved jumping off the yellow rings in the ocean right into the water, then floating on her back. If we come back, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

visited Grand Cayman for a wedding, July 2013 stayed at Marriott. Had a fantastic time. rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Staff were extremely helpful and very polite. Services were very good. Hotel position is fantastic. Breakfast especially enjoyable particularly as they served until 11.ooam. Special thanks to Lee, Carlos, Michael, Ollie and Tilly who were all brilliant as well as other staff too many to mention. Will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in the Marriott for 4 nights over the Labor Day weekend for my husband's birthday and we made reservations back in April so we were a little upset when we checked in and they said there were no king bedrooms available. They put us in a room with 2 queen beds for the first night and said we could move to king room the next day. It wasn't the end of the world but we couldn't unpack and spread out because we knew we had to change rooms. As other reviewers have mentioned, they are undergoing a needed renovation on the top floors but the main areas are very well maintained and clean. Our room was very clean but the furnishings were probably in need up updating. They have a spa and dive shop onsite but we didn't use either. We scuba dove 2 days with Don Foster's (wow, they are great- picked us up from the hotel and brought us back each time!) We snorkeled out front of the hotel and saw some beautiful fish, only problem was a 4-5 ft barracuda lurking on the ocean side of the reef balls. The location of this resort is very convenient to other restaurants & shopping. As others mentioned, the food on property is expensive but we felt it was inline with other fine dining restaurants on the island. The breakfast buffet at the Marriott was so fabulous- for $50 we ate like a king and queen and we were full until dinner. We went to a nearby liquor store for a couple bottles of wine for our room so we didn't have to buy from their bar the whole time. We enjoyed our stay at the Marriott and loved the little slice of paradise we found in the Grand Caymans!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is well maintained and was undergoing renovations on the top floors. Everyone at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. No one more helpful than Ollie the bartender. He really went out of his way to ensure our comfort and enjoyment of our vacation. Ollie is the best.

The rooms are nice but are in need of renovation which the hotel is in the process of doing. The room had a clock radio with an iPod port so that you can play music in your room. The beach is awesome and there are plenty of activities for someone to do.

I would definitely recommend the Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort.

Room Tip: There's only one ice machine on each floor which makes for a long walk to and from if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmora, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just returned from our stay at the Marriott. I visited years ago and there was virtually no beach. That has all changed with the off shore reef and lovely beach. The water is crystal clear and there were fish to snorkel with thanks to the new reef. The resort is remodeling the top floors but we were on the first and second floor and had no noise issues at all. The lobby is fun and inviting. The beach side terrace restaurant and beach bar were wonderful ! It is a beautifully done top name resort but what made our stay so exceptional was hands down the fabulous customer service by the staff. Every staff member we encountered went above and beyond to be helpful and make our stay wonderful. If I had a dollar for every time a staff member would say " let me help you...you're on vacation" I could have payed for my entire stay. The management of this hotel is doing an extraordinary job with staff training. We stay at Marriott's , Westins, Hyatt's and this resort had the best overall customer service. There are many beautiful resorts to stay at on Grand Cayman or other islands but I would return here because the staff made our stay so nice! I was on Maui this past year and neither the Marriott or Westin could even come close to how nice the staff was here. Julie from the lobby bar was fantastic. She went above and beyond. The young doorman helped us with our car when we couldn't get it started. Each day he would recognize us and offer to help us in some way. Front line PR should use him as an example.
I could go on and on....I travel multiple times a year and this tops my list ! This was a girl's vacation but I can't wait to return with my husband.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly remodeled rooms if you go a few months from now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I did enjoy my stay at this resort, the concierge were really helpful in setting us up for excursions and or directing us to the nearest restaurants/nightlife..Make sure you visit the turtle farm and swim with the dolphins, they are a cab ride away and right across the st from each other. The beach was beautiful but filled up quickly, to get a nice seat you have to wake up early. I also really enjoyed the complementary beverage and rum cake when you check in. Rooms are decent, we had a garden view and we literally were stuck in front of a tree. The cool thing is that an Iguana lived in the tree and would travel up to our floor everyday and we got some cool pictures. I love cayman island and although i would prefer to probably stay at a 'nicer' hotel in the future, in regards to budget on an already expensive island, Marriot is your way to go.

Room Tip: Dont get a garden view room, pay the extra and treat yourself to an ocean view. By far on of the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort

Address: 389 West Bay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.