We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on 7 mile beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   389 West Bay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sea & Sun Beach Bum offer
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Paradise on 7 mile beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day stay at the Marriott Grand Cayman. We usually stay in a condo on 7 mile beach but decided to give a resort a try. We had excellent service from the moment we arrived. We didn't receive a welcome cocktail but that did not matter to us. the beach was gorgeous and pool a little warm but perfect for the kids. Snorkeling right in front of hotel was great. My 8 year old did it for his first time. My 4 year old loved watching the turtles in the court yard pond. Very relaxing area.
Service on the beach was first hand great. Happy Hour at the bar beach was great during sunset. My boys loved the bomb fire on the beach with marshmallows on Thursday night. Pirate Luau on Friday night. Took kids to Turtle farm - its extremely hot fyi
It was a great and memorable trip. Thank you

Room Tip: Rooms facing court yard have a view of the turtle pond. outside rooms face hotels. Try to get a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,652
    1,060
    250
    125
    54
See reviews for
919
1,393
89
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013


Just returned from a fantastic holiday in GC, made even better by our stay at the Marriott. On arrival after a long flight, welcomed with a refreshing fruit punch - nice touch. Excellent position, perfect for access to beach (all 7 miles of it), swimming, snorkelling or just chilling poolside! Our room was well presented, spacious, clean and comfortable. Service first rate from every staff member we encountered, all of whom were polite and always willing to assist. Breakfast buffet best meal, plentiful and various to cater for all tastes and appetites! Wallace, the breakfast chef, greeted all with a smile and prepared great omelettes to order. He also offered some useful advice re trips around the island. In Balboa's, Ruby Ann always made us feel welcome with her polite, attentive manner and efficient service, whether for a coffee, cocktails or a light meal. The concierges were always on hand to assist and particular thanks to Davina who resolved a particular issue I had with an external service provider. She was the consummate professional who put time and effort into sorting the matter out promptly to our complete satisfaction. The hotel is undergoing a refurb but that in no way detracted from the excellent attitude of all employees to ensure that everyone staying there received a great service. I look forward to staying there again on our return to one of the best Caribbean islands.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We wanted to write this to offsett one or two negative comments about the hotel. We just returned from the Marriott Grand Cayman and we had the best family vacation ever. The staff was incredible. They were friendly and accommodating, but not in the pretentious way one would get from the Ritz Carlton. These were real people who genuinely enjoyed interacting with the guests. We had the junior suite, which in reality, is an oversized room with a sleeper sofa. Having a 7 and 12 year old, we thought that we would be crowded, but there was no issue, even after we requested an addtional bed for our youngest. The junior suites have refrigerators in the room, so you can stock up on milk and juice for breakfast. The view was great, overlooking the pool and of course, the ocean. When we checked in, we had a slight issue (not caused by the hotel), but Melina at the front desk was able to solve our problem quickly and helped out tremendously.
Although the food is expensive, it is very good (fish and chips are great), but the breakfast bar allows one to get a pastry or cereal (ask Julie for her special banana bread), and the Britt coffee from Costa Rica is fantastic.
Overall, the staff was excellent, friendly, and most helpful. All watersports can be reserved right at the hotel, and Davina at the concierge desk is a master at getting one seated at a crowded restaurant. Having two young sons would usually cause one to worry about their safety if they wandered off, but we felt completely comfortable here, and they had good freedom.
The beach in front of the hotel was somewhat crowded, but if you spend most of the time in the water, it doesn't really matter. If you want some extra room, move to the next beach where most likely, it will be virtually empty. Snorkeling was fine, with both the artificial and natural reefs just yards off shore. There were plenty of opportunities to swim with multiple schools of fish (bring some food, and they will swarm), and there was even a small sting ray there one day.
We heartily recommend this hotel. Share your smiles and positive attitudes, and you will get great returns from the staff.
The ride to Rum Point was beautiful (find a hole in the wall and have a great lunch with incredible views about half way there), but I would skip Rum Point. It's just a tourist trap with not very good snorkeling or a good beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We just returned from a five night stay at the Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort. It was an exceptional vacation. We were very impressed with the staff. They were helpful and kind. The beach and pool were so inviting. We especially enjoyed the beach, it has great snorkeling. We had a relaxing couples massage at the spa. Our 2nd floor room overlooked the turtle tropical garden. Already planning our return trip to the Cayman Islands.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided on a dive trip to Cayman for our summer getaway. We chose the Marriott because I had been there before and its got a great location on 7 Mile Beach. Check-in was a breeze though when I asked for an upgrade (I'm a Marriott Silver Elite Member), they told me they were fully booked but would let me know if something opened up. They gave us a courtyard facing room with a King Bed. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the shower had great water pressure and heat. The room had a nice balcony overlooking a large courtyard with an equally large turtle pond. NOTE: there's an empty fridge and 2 bottles of Fiji water for sale. It would be nice if the hotel offered a complimentary water bottle upon check-in. Otherwise, the room was just fine and met our expectations.

We had reserved our dive plans in advance and having Red Sail Sports on-site at the Marriott was perfect! They took care of our dives, waverunners we rented, and snorkel gear, too. They're easy to deal with and you can charge everything back to your room. The beach at the Marriott is narrow and accommodates 3 rows of chairs before you're right in the surf. The water is crystal clear and warm with tiny fish that swim right up to you. The Marriott had a number of large floating pads and decks in the water which were great to lounge on.

Now, my boyfriend and I are drinkers and smokers. OK, not the healthiest activities, but we were on vacation! The Marriott has one sanctioned smoking section out front in the bushes. It's awkward to get to and really makes a smoker feel like a pariah. The Marriott has a lobby bar called Balboa's. We found ourselves regularly parked at the bar drinking and chatting with the staff. Beware: the Patron shots don't come cheap--it's resort pricing and it adds up quickly! Aside from that, hanging out with Julie, Indira and Lisa was a highlight for us. Julie is very engaging and friendly--and a great mixologist. When she saw us coming, she was already getting our drinks ready. We both appreciated how welcomed she made us feel. She even went out of her way to make dinner reservations for us and calling the restaurant owner directly. Aside from a few outside meals, we mostly ate at the bar. NOTE: try the Lobster Quesadillas, they're awesome! Most of the drink menu is rum based, but these great bartenders can make just about anything.

After a heavy night of partying in Cayman with dear local friends, we booked a couples massage at the La Mer Spa within the Marriott. The staff and masseuses were professionals and after an 80-minute massage followed by champagne, we were in total bliss and uber-relaxed.

Check out was early on Monday morning and we had one hiccup with the bill. Remember the upgrade request at check-in? They didn't have any upgraded rooms at check-in but the bill reflected a daily upgrade charge. When I went to question this, I was told that my room was an upgraded courtyard view. I protested this as it wasn't what we were told at check-in. The good part was that the gentleman at the counter quickly removed the charges and everything was quickly resolved. He handled the situation perfectly and kept me a happy customer. Checking your bill is just a smart thing to do no matter where you go.

Overall a great place for a weekend getaway. Excellent, friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, and all the alcohol and water activities you can ask for. One final thought: as a gay couple the Marriott made us feel welcomed and comfortable and we appreciated that a lot as other resorts, especially in the Caribbean are less gay-friendly. We'll be back!

Room Tip: If you can score a room that is fully beach-facing, opt for a courtyard room. The outside, side-fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GC_Marriott, Manager at Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Gpsi73, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We value your comments and happy to hear you had a wonderful stay.

I would like to thank you for the kind comments you made on the caring service provided by Julie, Indira and Lisa. It is always a delight to know their efforts are appreciated and I know they will be very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed their service.

We are also thankful for your expression of your opinion in relation to those areas in which you felt could use some attention as it allows us to improve upon the experience for our future guests.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for another awesome stay.


Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed an entire week at this fine hotel and thoroughtly enjoyed all aspects of our visit ... We were particularly impressed by the very friendly and accommodating staff, as well as the great location ... We are looking forward to a return visit sometime in the future.

Room Tip: We would recommend an ocean front room on an upper floor/"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just back from a 2 week stay at the Cayman Marriott. I had asked for a higher floor ocean view room but ended up with a second floor room over the pool area. Room actually turned out to be great with little noise from either the pool area or music playing from the restaurant. Very clean room although odour from toilet took a while to get used to but staff put in bleach each day. As always staff was super friendly and helpful. Would have gone to Solana for lobster and pirates nights but too expensive to my thinking as I have been to both on previous visits. This was my 3rd trip in the last 20 months and I hope to be back soon. It is always important to remember that Cayman is a country with its own way of doing things so I have no real outstanding issues. If your looking for a really great restaurant close to the hotel try Casanova which is always excellent as well as Guy Harvey's . Did not enjoy Stinger's or Dolce Vita which had terrible service and a over hyped reputation. Could not believe it but a KFC outlet charged 10 cents per small packet of ketchup and a BK monitored salt and pepper packets like a hawk. Camana Bay is a great spot to visit and is a jewel. Despite minor irritations I rate my overall trip to Cayman as enjoyable and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GC_Marriott, Manager at Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Jim330, first of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Cosmopolitan Grand Cayman Island is the perfect place for complete relaxation, exquisite dining, exciting nightlife or the awesome underwater sights of our accessible reefs.

Our property’s location on Seven Mile beach is exactly how you described it. We are at walking distance to many shops, restaurants and Camana Bay and have the perfect view of the beautiful crystal clear ocean which is just steps away off the property.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming back for your 4th visit.


Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort

Address: 389 West Bay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Beach House at the Grand Cayman Marriott makes you feel right at home. All of our spacious 295 guest rooms have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Otel and Marriott so you can book your Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.