We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   389 West Bay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sea & Sun Beach Bum offer
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Flushing, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Was here for a friend's wedding. It was really nice. The staff was friendly and nice. If i had any questions or concerns they addressed them. Maintenance staff was great, room was cleaned, bed was made daily. Liked the pool and beach. I went during May so it wasn't too crowded yet. I didn't eat at the restaurants here so i can't say how they were. I did try the spa, had a facial. They were having some special event and decided to try it. It was just ok, but i did feel relaxed and refreshed. I had a nice stay and would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Director of Rooms Operations at Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Travelalot5229, Thank you for sharing your review. I appreciate your kind comments about our staff and their dedication to serve, specially the Maintenance department; they are not recognized often for their hard work as they are part of the back of the house team. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again
Sincerely,
Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,654
    1,062
    250
    125
    54
See reviews for
919
1,393
89
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (933)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Mills, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted promptly and politely by Nico at the front desk. Every service person exceeded our expectations. So helpful, and nice. The beach does get crowded but they provide umbrellas and beachside cocktails and snacks. The rooms were lovely and spacious. We would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've had three wonderful stays at this resort. it is a beautiful resort that is in a prime location for going to many places, including snorkeling and restaurants.(snorkeling at the hotel is usually very good) but of course there are off days.. i have read many reviews that complain about the hotel being run down and needs updating(in my opinion, these people are looking for something to complain about... The hotel is kept up very well, and is decorated in a nice carribbean colors... the courtyard area that you walk thru to get to the beach is just fabulous!!!
Also,, the staff at this resort are all so friendly and helpful.. thanks davina for all the great info
If you choose this resort you shouldn't be dissappointed!!:)

Room Tip: If you aren't getting oceanfront/oceanview, the rooms 3rd floor and up facing the comfort suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked a last minute trip through JetBlue May 9-16. We had a great time. This island had been on our list for several years because of all the hype about seven mile beach. Although in our view it cannot compete with Grace Bay in Turks & Caicos, the beach is very nice with great swimming, snorkeling and long enough that one can just walk forever.

Our courtyard room on the third floor was fine for our needs. As others have noted, the entire staff of this hotel is incredibly helpful and friendly. We actually noticed this friendliness throughout the island, from taxi and bus drivers, to wait staff in other restaurants. I believe this might speak to the general level of contentment of residents on this island, unlike some others we have visited where one can often sense the unhappiness or even hostility toward visitors.

We also enjoyed the fact that this hotel is within walking distance to so many places. We walked to Georgetown, both Kirk's and Foster's for a few snacks for the room, and various restaurants in the evening (Michael's in Camana Bay was our favorite). We always felt safe.

Another positive comment about this island in general is the purification of the water throughout the seven mile beach area. Nice to know that you can drink the tap water without worries and that the restaurants in the area are also using purified water for their food preparation.

A great hotel, an easy trip from New York, a lovely beach for swimming and walking, and happy locals. We will definitely return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Wife and I stayed at the Marriott for 1 week in June. Beach does not compare with those further up the shore. Very narrow and more rocky then the others. Governor's beach and Cemetary Beaches opened our eyes to what the real Cayman Beach vision was, they were fantastic and we were very happy to have a car rented to get there vs the Marriott kiddy beach. Food prices at the hotel were way too high, so we never ate there once. As another review pointed out, the rooms are very, very musty from humidity, more so then acceptable. Service was excellent all around. However, dont be fooled, this is not the beach you are thinking about or see in the Marriott hotel website. Think lined up beach chairs and umbrellas, no more than one foot apart from your new neighbors on the beach. Pool was ok, but no swim up bar and kind of foggy looking water. Overall, a 3.5 star due to pool beach, overpriced food and musty rooms. Dolalr value is good, but may be able to do as well with homework looking at other resorts, whcih we will.

Room Tip: Stay away from bar noise and elevators. Ask about avoiding musty smell in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I read so many reviews on this property before acutally going there and so many people complained about it being outdated and with a small beach. I couldn't agree less. We requested an ocean view (although we booked a regular room) and got a partial ocean view on the 2nd floor. The room was in immaculate shape, rather spacious with a seating area, a desk and a balcony with chairs. The TV was very staticky and we called to let them know, well, I have traveled the world and this was the first time that they came upstairs with a brand new TV from the start. Very impressed. The pool was very clean, the beach was a good size and the attendants were always there to put up an umbrella for us. They also have several daybeds in the ocean right off the beach which I thought was ver cool. I brought my own snorkel gear from home, but my husband had to rent it from Red Sail and the snorkel he got was defective. Red Sail did not deam to care much and when we returned it (1h later) we still had to pay for it. Didnt make a big deal out of it, just paid it, but I wish they would own their issues.
Ate at Red Parrot twice and normally, even though we are from Las Vegas and are used to high prices, we thought Red Parrot, had a very small selection of breakfast options for a total of $50 per couple. You can see my separate review on Red Parrot, I will detail it more.
Nora, at check-in was very friendly and even though we could tell she was new, she did a great job! Check-out was very smooth as well, as they slide a bill under your door the morning of your check out. Wi-fi is about $14 per day in the room, but we just went to the lobby and used the free interenet there. They also have 6 computers where you can print boarding passes or surf the web if you dont have a laptop or smartphone (also free). The concierge was almost offended that we dared ask her a question, I think her name was Paola and I remember she was from Brazil, but she wasn't friendly at all!
We were very worried about the weather, since it is rainy season. We were there between June 2nd and June 9th and it sprinkled twice, other than that sunny all day!! I guess we just got lucky, since some people were compaining that it rained all the previous week
Overall, loved everything about this hotel and would most definetely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view and you just might get it at no extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great vacation experience at the Marriott Grand Cayman Beach resort. Hotel is walking distance to many great restaurants and camana bay. To get places further, there is a bus stand directly across the street that takes you to Georgetown for only $5 USD for two. Beach was perfect and if your chair doesnt have an umbrella they will come and drill you a hole and place one for you. Many fishes can be seen by snorkeling at the small reef at the hotel. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Best time to visit is June when it is more quiet and easy to walk in to any restaurant around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort

Address: 389 West Bay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Beach House at the Grand Cayman Marriott makes you feel right at home. All of our spacious 295 guest rooms have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Marriott and Otel so you can book your Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.