We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Snorkeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   389 West Bay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th nt free in Paradise
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location for Snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel is a bit older, but clean. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. If you like to snorkel, all you have to do is go out to their man made reef balls and see a variety of fish. Located on 7 Mile Beach strip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,415
    961
    236
    119
    49
See reviews for
779
1,261
86
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I'm not so sure about some of the negative reviews because we had a wonderful stay! First and foremost, the staff (all of them) are wonderful! We never heard the word "no" from anyone. They tried to (and did) accomodate our every request. The hotel is an older property. It was perfectly fine though. I had concerns before coming after reading some of the reviews. I was pleasantly surprised! It is clean, the beds were great, the food/service was good. No problems at all. The pool is small but who wants to spend time at a pool when you have a beach like Seven Mile Beach right in front of you? We never had problems getting chairs. Umbrellas were available if needed for no extra charge. The beach was amazing! The water was shallow, clear and calm! Perfect for families with children! The floatation devices they provide in the water make the beach even more enjoyable. We never had a problem getting one. We were able to snorkel right in front of the hotel. We saw many different types of fish. Everything in Grand Cayman is expensive. The hotel food/drinks are no exception. There are some cheaper food/drink alternatives and all are within walking distance if this is a problem. We decided to go to Kirks Market to buy breakfast foods and snacks upon our arrival. It was a good way to save the family a little money. It was actually nice having breakfast in our room in the mornings! I would recommend renting a car and going out to see the island. Taxis are expensive and there is so much to see. You will have so much more freedom with a car and there is no hotel charge for parking. We would recommend and we hope to visit again next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

After making a stay-cation weekend at the Marriott, we were pleased with the rooms, cleanliness, service and restaurants at the Marriott.

Located ideally along the 7 Mile Beach strip, the Marriott's staff are very friendly and welcoming. We found the rooms to be well equipped and spacious and the beds were very comfortable too!

The beachfront location is great and makes it easy to stroll or just relax with nearby beach bar and snacks available.

The breakfast buffet is also a great choice and you will be amazed at the high level of attention from the staff and servers!

Room Tip: Higher floor overlooking gardens will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent 8 nights at the Marriott on Seven Mile Beach. The staff was extremely friendly and the location is very good. The reason for only 3 stars is due to a number of problems. The biggest was that our air conditioning went out on Wednesday and was not fixed until Saturday. A/C is important in Grand Cayman in June. Compounding the problem was the fact that we were mislead on multiple occasions by the front desk. Maintenance people would come to our room and say it was fixed, but it obviously was not. There were other maintenance problems in our room and surrounding rooms, primarily with plumbing.

I look very forward to our next visit to Seven Mile Beach, but I will select a different hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We've stayed here twice in the past 5 years, and we noticed a decline on this visit. NEGATIVE: From the beginning, our bathroom smelled awful. Urinal-in-a-bus-station awful. Right after housekeeping came, it was okay - kind of bleachy, but within an hour, the urine smell returned. We just kept the door shut, so it didn't ruin our visit. The beach seemed different this visit, as well. The Reef Balls that they have in place as a conservation measure, seem closer to shore or in shallower water than they did on our last visit, which kind of makes the beach swimming seem closed in and crowded. The water is too shallow to swim out over them, so you have to go around if you want to snorkel out past them. The water off the beach was kind of murky, with a lot of sediment floating around. POSITIVE: I DID see an enormous stingray (about 3-4' wingspan) right off the beach while snorkeling out past the reef balls. NEGATIVE: The turtle pond was stagnant the first couple of days were were there, then they drained it and spent several days scrubbing. It was finally refilled on our last day. No criticism - I'm sure it was just bad-luck timing on our part. POSTIVE: The people working here were extremely friendly and helpful, from the towel check-out people to the doormen. In fact, it seemed that the "lower" on the organizational chart you went, the friendlier the staff! NEGATIVE: Beach drink/food service was a bit spotty, and stopped altogether at 5pm. Drinks were expensive, too. NEGATIVE: "Hot Tub" was lukewarm, at best. IN SUMMARY: If we had actually PAID to stay there, I would probably give it a worse rating, but we used Marriott points, so I would feel bad complaining too much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barryville, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

went to the feast 2 years ago with my wife while staying at sunshine suites and found it to be well worth the money.the food was excellent and a very wide variety ofseafood ,sushi,jerk ,salads and meats.this year we decided to stay at the marriott with a party of 5 family members and decided we would go to the feast on our last night,WHAT A MISTAKE.first upon walking in the flies on all the food was unbeleivable.the selection of food was substantially less,no sushi ,very little seafood and everything was infested with flies.the quality of the food was seriously much ,much worse than the first time we were there.the only thing that improved was the price.i do have to say that after complaining to the manager he took off 50 percent of th bill ,but for the 190.00it cost their are a lot better retaurants that you can feed five people for the same price at a much better quality.

Room Tip: go to sunshine suites.thats where we will be staying next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This property has a great location on Seven Mile Beach. Nestled between some condo/time shares, the property has excellent beach access and a very good and friendly staff. Rooms are average...nothing special, but clean....ours had a slight mold smell from time to time, usually when the A/C was turned to 66....but it was not overwhelming. This location appears to host a lot of company functions.....there were a couple private events while we were there. Free internet in the lobby and daily rate is $12.95 for 24 hours. The pool is small and simple. The online promotional photos look a bit better than the actual pool. Service at the pool for drinks appeared to be a problem for many people....I also read some reviews that said the same thing...the bar to order is only about 30 feet away from the pool so you can still get drinks and food very close by. The beach access is great and you can lounge there too. There are floats and lounge platforms available (first come, first serve) in the ocean....they are great to lounge on. TIP: They are available all night as well and the pool and ocean area are typically available until 11pm.....I recommend floating on the ocean at night and listening to the entertainment on land.......the ocean and pool are not crowded at night and it was a great experience for my wife and I. They hosted a wedding and reception on the beach when we were there as well.....it was pretty well done and the 75 + guests I saw all appeared to be well taken care of. There is a great open water area in the atrium that has lounge swings, chairs and turtles floating around...very cool. The ocean view rooms overlook the pool so be prepared for a little night time noise until about 10pm or 1pm on some nights. Overall, a good property that deserves a solid 4 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort

Address: 389 West Bay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Beach House at the Grand Cayman Marriott makes you feel right at home. All of our spacious 295 guest rooms have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.