We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walden Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   389 West Bay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
New Castle, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Walden Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

After deciding to go to Grand Cayman (WE LOVE THE CARRIBBEAN), we had to choice between Westin, Marriott and the Ritz.....our choice was Marriott as we belong to the rewards club. I did read the reviews for all the hotels and am glad we chose the Marriott. After booking the trip, I received several emails from the representatives with inforamation when we arrive. Once we arrived our room was ready! We arrived at the hotel before 1pm. The room was big and clean. I am very anal with cleanliness and was very pleased. The food at both restaurants were very good. We did not purchase the all - inclusive package. There were many local restaurants in walking distance. We loved Cimboco and Karma! We topped off our last night at the Wharf and met a lovely couple from NC. We walked and enjoyed the scenery. Everyone was so nice and welcoming. We look forward to returning after the Marriott makes its renovations. The beach was not packed and we always had a place to lay out (May 12 - 17, 2013). There were fish everywhere! The water was calm and warm. I would highly recommend going to Cayman Islands and staying at the Marriott!

Room Tip: We recommend staying on a higher floor, there is a lot of traffic on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,432
    973
    237
    120
    49
See reviews for
790
1,269
86
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
akron
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Relax or enjoy what Cayman has to offer. Ocean snorkel onsite or hang out at pool, jet ski to interact with stingrays, star fish point and mangroves thru Fat Fish Adventures, Georgetown shopping 5 minute away by $15 taxi. It's a beach resort that will not disappoint, this Marriott has a feel all it's own!

Room Tip: Oceanfront upper 4th or 5th floors offer great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was the most relaxing vacation I've had in a long time. The hotel is very nice, the staff attentive and sweet, and the restaurants are quite good. From the moment we walked into the Marriott, we felt a sudden whoosh of relaxation. The rooms are clean, and beds very comfortable - oh, and our cleaning lady: what a sweetie! Our room overlooked the garden. At first we were a bit aprehensive thinking the noise level from guests walking through the garden would wake us up in the morning, or keep us up at night. We were wrong. It was perfect. The pool was nice with the water temperature just right. There is also a hot tub, which we did not use. The beach is quite lovely, with plenty of chairs, and staff who come by if you'd like an umbrella to shade yourself from the sun, as well as for your drink/food orders. Solana Beach Bar has good food, as does the Red Parrot and Balboa's Lounge. Red Parrot has a yummy breakfast buffet with a la carte selections also. And let's not forget the cocktails. They are perfectly strong, and the bartenders serve water without your asking to keep you hydrated while baking in the sun. Now for the staff. From the doormen to bellhops, and everyone at the front desk - nice, helpful and inviting. Soltan, the beach bartender, and Rod, the bartender at Balboa's, were fun to chat with. Hannah, a server, the most delightful young lady I have ever met. Ariel, who brought us our umbrellas every day, was nice to look at, and sweet and attentive - Bonus! Last but not least, Warren, the sushi chef. He totally rocked! You don't get better than him. Seek him out folks - he is happy, funny and a doll of a guy. The spa was also lovely. Prices are within range of what you would expect, and the staff are "all about your relaxation and well being". The only think lacking at the spa is a general relaxation room. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 night last week (back in DC now). I have nothing I can think of to complain about. Honestly, this was a great stay. All of the staff, from front desk, to breakfast buffet staff, to waitresses and bartenders at the bar outside were extremely friendly. I am the guy who is VERY aware of customer service and how staff treat people - this place was great on that front.

The location and 7 mile beach were great. I would recommend this hotel.
.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this Marriott twice now with some high profile astronauts for a charity dive event. I can't say enough good things about it. The service was excellent; view - picture perfect; hotel room - nice; pool divine and dive shop, Red Sails, was more than wonderful to work with (staff and management get a huge A+)! Probably only little complaint is the high price of food at the hotel, but that's anywhere you go in the Caymans. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great location on the 7 mile beach, close enough to George town to walk if you like walking and close to shops and great places to eat. However they had a seaweed problem on the beach which they cleared up. Make sure you walk along the beach and explore the other areas as lots of great spots to swim in. Very friendly and helpful staff especially Nelson the bellman and Carlos and Leo the waiter. Highly recommended for great value and service.
We also went on the stingray city trip with Tours Cayman as their bus comes straight to the hotel to pick you up and they were great. Took us to loads of other great spots in the sea. Very friendly guys.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here recently (May 2013). A very clean hotel. Great staff. Good location if you want to be closer to downtown, about a mile walk. It has several restaurants on site and they are fairly priced. We went to a couple of places right across the street a few times to eat but mostly stayed in the hotel.
The first couple of days there was a lot of seaweed on the beach in front of the hotel but we were told that this happens only 3-4 times a year. So we had to walk only about 100 feet to the right of hotel to get into the water. The seaweed was eventually cleaned up and the beach was clean and accessible again. There are some good reefs for snorkeling right in front of the hotel as well but you can see the fish by just walking around in the water.
A couple of nights it was a bit loud in the courtyard, I slept through it but my friend did not.
All in all, I recommend the hotel. I had a really nice and relaxing time and loved the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort

Address: 389 West Bay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Beach House at the Grand Cayman Marriott makes you feel right at home. All of our spacious 295 guest rooms have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.