We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   389 West Bay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% off Event in February
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our stay was wonderful. We loved everything from the staff, to the hotel, to the food, and the activities. The front desk staff was fantastic, especially Jerry who really knew how to take care of an elite member. Rafael was always there to assist when we wanted to learn about a new restaurant when the concierge was gone for the day.

The housekeeping lady was fantastic, and always gave us special attention, and our little boy loved saying hi to her every morning.

The overall experience was great, I just wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,484
    996
    243
    120
    49
See reviews for
828
1,293
88
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel from April 25 to April 29 and we love it. We were able to either walk or catch the local bus to just about everywhere we wanted to go. The bus passed in front of the hotel and it was 2 CI each way (approximately $2.50 USD per person). Each night that we were there the hotel had different themed dinning nights. The hotel beach has its own man made reefs which is good for snorkeling. The rooms were as expected for a Marriott property.

Room Tip: If you are unable to get a beach front room, then request a court yard view. The other rooms look t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife daughter and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Marriott (room 507- Courtyard View), and would like to share some points about the property, it's location, and the island in general. OK, here we go:

First of all, be ready for some crazy sticker shock on taxi fares!!! $20-$25 from the airport for a 10 min. drive!! The prices for cabs are outrageous in general, and they seem to change w/every driver.... Arrival was pleasant, cordial and efficient. The Property's location is on the far Southern end of 7 mile beach. In fact the sand actually comes to an end (as you enter the water) only a few steps to the left (facing the Ocean) from the Hotel. Having said that, you can walk just a few minutes to the right (facing the water) and enjoy wide and relatively peaceful beach, as there is only a small condo development adjacent to the property. Also Note: the beach gets significantly wider just a 10-15 min. walk to the right (where you'll find the Ritz).

Breakfast was EXCELLENT both at the buffet AND the Solana (outside ala Carte). Good selections of breads, cheese, cold cuts, fruits, juices, cereals, cakes, Oatmeal and Omelet station sure to satisfy every palate. If you opt to sit outside, and are health conscious, make sure to get the "Solana" juice mix, and the Egg White Frittata!!! Both were EXCELLENT. On this note, I would like to make special mention of LEO and his manager CARLOS. Both were absolutely delightful in the morning, and accommodated every request with a sincere smile and promptness/professionalism belonging to a 5 star property.... Great job guys!

Room was average but confortable both in terms of mattresses and temperature. Last evening did NOT get turn down service, so we had to make do w/semi-wet towels from the morning.... No chocolates, or slippers here I'm afraid :-)

If possible, please indulge in the Caribbean night! Excellent food selections (esp. the seafood), good entertainment/music and excellent service. In fact, they ran out of the "glutten free" choc. mousse, and the chef in charge (forget the name and misplaced the card :( made a point to send TWO to my room the following night w/a personal card attached. Gracious gesture, clearly indicative of pride in/and customer care... Bravo.

Do try snorkeling to the left of the property, as the rock formations just a few yards out (to the left), will give you some great surprises (sting ray, turtle, angel, clown, parrot fish etc..)

Courtyard rooms could get noisy, so if you can afford it, do Ocean Front. Do buy some rum cakes from the gift shop as the prices there are reasonable :-)

Hope this helps! KS

Room Tip: High floor Ocean View if Possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here with my husbands work for an Achievers Club trip for 3 nights in April. Coming from Seattle, it's a long way to go for 3 nights...but after getting there and enjoying the great service and beach we couldn't complain! The company my husband works for had worked it out to be an all-inclusive plan, and the Marriott did an excellent job! The service was amazing...and they pretty much brought you whatever you asked for. The same servers were there morning and night working extra long hours but always had a smile on their faces. It isn't a big resort, it's quite small. There is only one small pool, but we didn't use that anyway. The beach is small but beautiful. The beach is where we hung out. Beautiful sand and clear warm water...with lots of fish swimming through! My kids would have loved it! And they had plenty of beach umbrellas that a worker was happy to bring to you and put up. Our room was good size with a great view of the beach and pool. Our only complaint would be that we had 2 double beds instead of a King and the beds were a little too soft. BUT the view made up for it, and we didn't want to give up our view for a king size bed. The food was all very good too...really Yummy salads and shrimp! And try the Grouper, it's delicious. The location was pretty good too...easy walk to a mall or convenience store and probably about 20+ minute walk to town. Overall a super trip and I would highly recommend the Marriott!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were very disappointed staying at this resort. For a Category 7 hotel, we felt like we were staying at a Courtyard. I don't know how they can say they have a spa. There is no locker room, no steam room, no sauna, no jacuzzi. You change in your treatment room. The masseuse decided to neglect my needs and just went about what she wanted to do. At one point I called housekeeping and the front desk and no one answered either call. Check in was slow. Not prepared for rush of people that come with flight arrivals. We left after one night to the Ritz Carlton. The bed and pillows sucked. The hotel truly needs to be given a face lift and renovation.

Room Tip: Stay at the Ritz Carlton for an amazing experience. Worth every extra dollar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

It was our second stay at this hotel, this time it was fully booked and we got room 202, with rusted bath and paint in the bath top was pilling, I do not think that it should be normal for Marriott resort, I did bring this to manager's attention, we were transferred to another room 2 days later ( and we lost half a day waiting while new room will be cleaned, any other day our rooms were cleaned at 10-10:30 AM, but they made it ready only at 3 PM) and had to remind Angelica a few times.No proper apologies.
Beach not as nice as other places, rocks...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The reason this hotel doesn’t get 2 stars is for its staff, which is very nice, professional, and attentive, and the location on the 7 mile beach. The rooms are in dire need of updating. Our first room (200) was next to the stairwell with the doors slamming from early morning to late in the evening. The mattress was old and uncomfortable. The bathtub has chipped and rusting in several places. We asked to be moved to a different room, but it took 2 days and several reminders before this was done. Our new room (264) unfortunately wasn’t much better. The mattress was a bit better, however the bathtub was in a similar condition, the air conditioner didn’t function properly, and there was a smell of dampness. In fact, all of our clothes became damp after a few days, and nothing would dry off in that room.
On a positive side, both rooms were good size, with tables and sitting areas, a mini-refrigerator, a coffeemaker, and a balcony.
The breakfast buffet was excellent, and a small café next to the restaurant had a good selection of breakfast pastries, cereals, etc. They also make very nice pizzas at lunch time. Wi-fi internet was available everywhere (for a fee unless you are a Gold/Platinum member), although it was slow at times. There’re also computers with free internet available in the lobby, which was definitely a benefit for many. The hotel has an Avis desk in the lobby, and we were able to change our existing reservation from airport pick up to hotel pick up, and still drop off at the airport at no extra charge.
While the beach of this hotel is not very large, the artificial reef very close to the shore provides a nice opportunity for snorkeling, with fish often coming right to the shoreline.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort

Address: 389 West Bay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Beach House at the Grand Cayman Marriott makes you feel right at home. All of our spacious 295 guest rooms have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.