We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   389 West Bay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Mifflintown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“awesome trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our week stay at the Marriott was nothing but wonderful!!!! The staff was so friendly and helpful;really felt like home away from home.It was very clean,food was good and so was the service! We arrived days after Hurricane Sandy came through and the beach in front of the hotel had almost knee deep seaweed on it. The staff at the hotel worked for 2 days,all day bagging this stuff and hauling it away.They did an awesome job cleaning up the beach and should be applauded at their hard work! Our trip was also a business trip and they did a great job with our banquet,etc. I have to say a big thank you to Mary,who was our waitress numerous days during our stay.She was so sweet,friendly and great service.I miss seeing her smiling face! Thank you Marriott for wonderful memories that will last a life time,your hotel is beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear sunri68,

Thank you for sharing your thoughtful and kind comments about our staff service. We invest almost 90 hours of Customer Service training for each Associate and I am glad to see the results in the reviews.They consistently deliver friendly and outstanding service, smiling faces and genuine hospitality. We will pass your compliments to Mary and rest assured that she will be happy that you recognized her.

Sincerely,

Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,313
    927
    233
    116
    47
See reviews for
752
1,197
77
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Streator, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Marriott in Grand Cayman, we felt like old friends. The front desk staff were amazing....very attentive and personable and responsive to our every need. We were upgraded to a partial ocean view room on the fifth floor. Our check in package included free Internet, as well as other coupons and offers especially for Marriott Elite members. Special thanks to the delightful vacation planner Genova who surprised me for my birthday with complimentary bottled water, Cayman taffy and chocolates. What a special, personal touch.
The location on Seven Mile Beach is perfect. There is no need to go anywhere else to snorkel. There is great snorkeling right off the beach. Take some bread crumbs into the water and watch the angelfish swarm to you. You don't even need to snorkel!
We did dine a few times at the beach bar, but found the service a little slow. Perhaps we were spoiled by the front desk staff. There are plenty of options within easy walking distance. The concierge is also available to make reservations. You can take a taxi to more distant restaurants or rent a car from Avis who has a station in the lobby. There are also many tour options available to see and experience more of the island.
The room was clean and comfortable. We loved the balcony with The great view, even though it was small. The beds were amazing...we both slept great. There is a small refrigerator in the room to use for drinks and snacks.
The bathroom is large, but surprisingly there are no drawers or doors that open so you can out away your toiletries. There is a hair dryer and it is plenty powerful.
We started most mornings with a walk, the enjoyed the beach and pool area for the rest of the day. The sunsets are beautiful from the beach. We also loved the courtyard with its turtle lagoon. Very peaceful with plenty of seating to enjoy the surroundings.
Overall, we were most impressed and could not have asked for a better experience for our quick sister's getaway to celebrate my birthday. Thank you, Marriott, for showing how customer service should be done!

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear KSMcruiser,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We will pass on your compliments to Genova. I am happy to hear that she acknowledged your birthday by providing the complimentary amenity. In our upcoming renovation for next year, we are planning on addressing the drawers’ situation. We currently have 2 show rooms and we encourage our guest to have a quick peek and see what our rooms will look like. We appreciate your comments and looking forward to serving you again.
Sincerely,

Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and i just stayed at the Marriott in Grand Cayman and had a fantastic stay. It's a quick 15 minute, $20 USD ride from the airport. Requested an early check in prior to our trip and our room was ready at 1pm when we arrived. The rooms themselves were nice. It did not face the water or the atrium. I don't think i would like the Atrium because it's the main walkway to the beach and always seemed busy, and if you're on ground floor, definetly would lack privacy. The staff was very friendly and from all different areas of the world. It was shared with us that this past week and perhaps for a while they are short staffed, as they had a bit of turnover recently, but we couldn't tell. We tipped our house cleaning staff in person on our 2nd day and we had extra towels, bath mat (not towel), shampoos and lotions for the rest of our stay.

Breakfast in the hotel was good if you need traditional eggs, bacon, pancakes, ect. We didn't eat at the hotels main restaurant. Everyone's tastes are different, so i won't leave reviews. I'll just say that you must venture out and try all the different opportunities that are available. Our favorite was Agua, down the road about 1/2 mile.

When we weren't exploring the island, shopping in George Town ($12 USD taxi or $2 CID bus ride), snorkeling, jet skiiing, or hanging out with the Sting Rays, we were at the beach. Apparently the beach area at the hotel use to be much bigger, but Hurricane Ivan did a lot of destruction to the island and its beaches. Only Cayman residents really notice. To us it was paradise, 7 Mile Beach is beautiful. I recommend walking down the beach to at least where the Ritz / Westin are and then appreciate how good the Marriott is. If you want 5 rows of beach chairs and a circus like atmosphere, stay down there.

The pool is ok, plenty of chairs around it and a hot tub next to it. Most folks were on the beach. The service on the beach was awesome. If you needed an umbrella in the sand, all you have to do is ask. The wait staff on the beach was around often but not overly in your face. We always had a snack or drink by our sides when we wanted something.

The hotel does have a Spa. Ladies stuff with hair, nails, ect as well as massages. The Caymans are expensive. $1 USD = $0.80CID. Whether you're in a store, restaurant, liquor store, or taxi they'll quote you both. Every bill you get at your meal has a 15% gratuity already added. You have the option of adding more. Plan ahead and know what activities you want to do so you can stay within your budget. A Jet Ski / Snorkel safari trip rental at the hotel was $135 USD or $195 if you were to share for 1 1/2 hr excursion, just as an example. The conceirge was awesome for planning trips and making dinner reservations. Well worth working with them and providing them a nice tip. You'll get what you want for sure.

We'd go back to the Caymans in a heartbeat. What a beautiful country and wonderful people. And we'd stay at the Marriott again, no question. Hope this review helps, Enjoy your trip !

Room Tip: If you don't need an ocean / atrium / scenic view, save a few bucks and book a tradtional king s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear jdsbiz98,

Thank you for your feedback. I agree with you, while our beach in the hurricane season is not as wide as others (but in the winter months like what we are experiencing now it gets bigger), our guest still enjoy our Artificial Reef ball which is just steps away off our property. Our guests always enjoy this amazing snorkeling activity and as previously mentioned in another review, you can take some bread crumbs and feed the different school of fishes that will surround you. We appreciate you sharing your comments and looking forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stopped here for a few days before flying to Cuba, and again upon our return from Cuba. The hotel staff were excellent, very efficient and friendly. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a sea front room for no extra charge, which had an an amazing view, especially at sunset. As other have mentioned the beach has suffered, but we found plenty of room around the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear loki9,

Thank for your kind feedback about the staff. We take pride in providing memorable stays for our guests. I am not sure if you have noticed, but most of the reviews commented on the excellent service and the friendliness of the staff. We appreciate you sharing your sharing your review and looking forward to serving you well again.

Sincerely,

Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyrum
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just returned from a great week at the Marriott in Grand Cayman. I am refreshed and ready to go back to everday living because of that great experience. The rooms were great, and what made the stay even better is I have never been treated better by the Marriott staff. Each one came to know my name and made me feel like I was truly their guest. Nelson espcially went out of his way to make certain our needs were attended to. Thanks to all for making our visit memorable, we will be back!!

Steve Miller

Room Tip: We enjoyed a partial ocean view for three days and then upgraded to a full ocean view for the reamai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Steve M,

I am happy that we were able to provide a relaxed and memorable vacation for you. We appreciate your comments about staff and especially Nelson who you took the time to highlight. I agree with you, he will go above and beyond to ensure that our guests are satisfied and having a wonderful stay. He is from the Philippines and a great fan of Manny Pacquiao. If Pacquiao loses a match that is the only way you will not a see a smile on his face. We value your feedback and hoping to serve you well again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a really nice resort and would be deserving of a "5" rating but for a few small items. First, too many kids, screaming loud kids with no parental guidance. To bad really. If it was a little bigger resort you probably wouldn't notice. We went late Oct/early Nov with the sole intention of missing schoolage children. Oh well, still had a great time.
Next, we stayed at this resort 3 years ago, a big reason we came back. It's showing just a few kinks in the armor. Word has it a big renovation project is to start next year (2013) so check before you go but should bring it back up to 5 star status.
Some of the reasons we really like this place. The staff is wonderful and they go out of there way to make your stay a comfortable enjoyable occassion. Say hello to Omar at the front door. Great guy. Location, location, location. Right at the beginning of 7 mile beach allows for plenty of soft sandy beach. Some rocks but overall very nice. The reef was a bit disappointing as too many tourists won't keep their hands to themselves. Would be nice to see the hotel try to do a little more educating of this treasure. Lot's of local places to eat, all within walking distance. Nothing wrong with the hotel food but a bit pricey. Town is only 2 miles away and if you're up to it, it's walkable. Local transportation is safe and affordable so a rental car really isn't necessary unless you plan to do trips to the ends of the island everyday.
Would definitely recommend this resort and may in fact return some day after the upgrades are done although we'll try late spring before kids get out of school! We enjoy Grand Cayman because of the nice people, mild climate and the many options for things to do.

Room Tip: If you go oceanfront, go high for a room. Considerable amount of noise down low has no where to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Crkt,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your kind comments and happy you had a memorable stay with us. We are grateful that you will recommend our property to ours and more. Yes, we will indeed renovate our property in the August of 2013. It would be a pleasure welcoming you back then for you to enjoy our upgrades.
Sincerely,

Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

my boyfriend and i stayed there for 8 days and it was absolutely perfect......the staff from the first day at check in til we checked out was amazing... there are some people that deserve their names mentioned because besides doing their jobs ,they are very sweet and down to earth and just plain awesome....murine... courtney.. and waleed.....these 3 people are fantastic!!! we never felt more at ease..... friendly doesnt even begin to describe them..... and personality!! I felt like ive known them forever...Even with the tail end of the storm sandy still hanging about our first few days... it was alot of fun....waleed and courtney worked hard every day to get the beach back to normal..... and every morning i was usually the first person at the pool so i got to talk to murine alot.... she is a wonderful person to talk with.....very knowledgeable and helpful with all the island questions, and to just chat with. The servers at the sol bar are awesome as well.We ate there every night... food was great!!!!!.....to sum it up ...the marriott now has our buisness when we stay in grand cayman or as i call it "the best place on the planet!!!!!!!

Room Tip: we had a first floor room... which was nice ... but i would spend the xtra money next time for ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Teri B,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay. The team is committed to serve our guests and ensure that their stay is memorable. I am happy to hear that we made your vacation “absolutely perfect”. Thank you for the kind comments you made about the Recreation team. I will share your feedback and recognize them for making your stay unforgettable. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort

Address: 389 West Bay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.