We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Course” 1 of 5 stars
Review of North Sound Golf Club

North Sound Golf Club
Next to Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Links at Safehaven)
(345) 947-4653
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cayman's only 18-hole Championship Golf Course
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Course”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

To put this golf course into perspective for you, imagine a $20 golf course anywhere in the United States and you have the North Sound Club. The club house is a dump, and the greens are almost completely brown. If you want to eat anything, you have to wait 2 hours for a sandwich delivery as the club orders it from a restaurant off the grounds. And to have to pay $159 for 18 holes here, as well as $50 dollars to rent old nike clubs, is a complete ripoff.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    23
    13
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The course was in poor condition, with large brown spots in grass. Wind was high, too. The course is exceptionally expensive. For two, with club rentals, for 18 holes the cost was $465 USD. For that you get year-old Nike clubs (in nice shape), a worn out golf cart without any GPS technology, a handful of tees and access to a course for which, were it a muni, the greenskeeper would be looking for work. There was no beverage cart out, but a small cooler with ice was provided. To be fair, we enjoyed seeing all the iguanas on the course, and there were only a handful of other golfers seen all day. There is only one hole on the ocean, so that is not even a selling point. We finished our round and wanted to enjoy a Bloody Mary at a nice little outdoor patio bar there, but they didn't have tomato juice. Not a lot going for it, in all honesty.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Round of Golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Played North Sound Golf Club on December 12th, $50 rental set of clubs (about average cost anywhere), $159/person to play (kind of pricey, but hey I'm on vacation!). Course was in very good shape and there was very little wind the day we played. Threesome from the cruise line. Iguanas were plentiful as were the birdies. Our group (Threesome from the cruise line) was basically the only group on the course. The course is challenging with plenty of hazards to get into if you don't drive it straight. Greens were exceptional but a bit slow rolling about 8 or 9. Two of our group shot even par on the back nine, including 5 of the 6 birdies we had in the group. Best hole is Number 11, 215 yard par 3 straight that borders the ocean, very beautiful!!! Staff in the clubhouse, at the bar, on the range, all were very nice and accommodating. As we were finishing the 18th hole, they had already called the shuttle company to come pick up our group yet we still had time to have a beer and enjoy some time with the staff at the bar. I would certainly do this again!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Avgerage”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

There are only 2 golf courses that are open to the public on the island. The 3rd one in between these two courses are with the Ritz. We were practicing at the driving range prior to our time, meeting up with the staff who help us pull out clubs out. Staff name Roland, immediately ask for $ tips for himself from us. We were shock and surprise and ask him what service did he do for us to deserve us to give him a tip? He stated that "i only clean the clubs here".
Then, when time came for our game, one of the staff told us that we could pay for the game afterwards and had brought us all the supplies we needed it. There are 2 of us but only provided us 1 set of club, then later proceed to tell them that their "pro" was upset that we didn't pay and Roland was "smoothing things out". We went to the office and clear things out immediately! And as out game was interrupted.
We finished the 9 holes otherwise, course itself is "OK". It is too closed to travel. Only plus is that it is sunny and beautiful island weather. Would not return again ask the staff is not professional did have have a pleasant experience with Roland.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Expensive round of gold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a boys day out and played a round of golf. Nice course but expensive for club rentals and cart. Also very hot need to have a cart.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Sound Golf Club also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to North Sound Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Sound Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.