We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachcomber spoiled our future vacations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Grand Cayman

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachcomber Grand Cayman
Save
You added Beachcomber Grand Cayman to your Saves list
933 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beachcomber spoiled our future vacations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just returned from a weeklong family vacation at the Beachcomber. We stayed in Unit #7 and are completely ruined for future vacations; there is no way any place else will ever live up to this experience!

As background, my husband and I are frequent travelers, and have been lucky enough to stay at top resort chains – Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental, The Ritz Carlton, etc. We have been to Grand Cayman twice before this trip, most recently staying at The Ritz Carlton in 2010 (and had a great experience).

Given the duration of this trip and that we were visiting with a toddler and two sets of grandparents, we elected to stay at the Beachcomber so that we’d have more amenities.

The condo had everything we could want and more:

Kitchen: It comes equipped with anything you need for serious cooking (not just breakfast or sandwiches). We have two cooks in the family – one professional chef and one who acts like it (ha!), and had complete gourmet meals almost every night. The kitchen includes a coffeemaker, blender, toaster and water kettle. There are plenty of pots and pans of all sizes and they are all almost new. Plates and cups come in both plastic and glass, and there are enough sets so that dishwashing could be limited to once a day. We used the grills downstairs twice. They are large and clean, and were just what we needed. The kitchen includes dishwashing detergent, but you are responsible for loading/unloading the dishwasher.

Laundry: There’s a full washer and dryer. You need to bring your own detergent.

Bedrooms and Bathrooms: Unit #7 is a 3/3 – one king, one queen and two singles. The beds and linens are comparable with luxury hotels. (In fact, my husband has me trying to figure out where to buy similar pillows for our house!) The bathrooms are stocked with a hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, soap, body lotion and face soap. The master has a large tub plus a separate shower. All the bedrooms include an iHome alarm clock to charge an iPhone or listen to music. Each bedroom also has a flat screen TV.

Living Area: We had ample space and plenty of seating for all of our family to hang out comfortably. There is a flat screen TV in the living area. We also spent a lot of time on the porch, which was a favorite place to eat meals and watch boats come and go. The décor of the condo was elegant without being too fragile; we felt very much at home. Satellite TV and high-speed Internet access (free) provided the conveniences of being in the U.S. Some of the units have free long distance; this one did not, but we only had to make one short call and just used Skype.

Pool/Beach: Both the pool and beach areas are very quiet. There was always plenty of seating at both spots. The pool is gorgeous and maintained daily. And of course, you can’t beat the view!

Staff: We corresponded with Danielle several times before the trip by email (we asked a lot of questions before arriving!) and she was always courteous and prompt. By the time we arrived, we felt as if we were meeting an old friend! Ms. Reid, who came every morning to clean the condo and make sure we had everything we needed, is the best and I wish we could have brought her home. The condo was always immaculately clean and she was pleasant and very much a part of our experience in Cayman.

Misc: Fosters (grocery store) has pretty much anything you could want. (I have gluten allergies and found they had a bigger selection than Publix at home.) It is closed on Sundays, so plan ahead. We also ordered ahead from Black Beards and arrived to a fully stocked refrigerator of beer and wine. Ask for Jeremy and he will take good care of you!

Other experiences we enjoyed on the island – some have separate reviews – were dinner at Calypso Grill (get there early so you can eat on the water); lunch at Sunshine Grill (get fish tacos or a burger); walking around Camana Bay (splash park was a hit with our two-year-old); dinner at The Brasserie (Wednesday night is build-your-own-burger night, but still very gourmet); and purchasing fish for dinner from an outfit on the street in Georgetown.

We definitely plan on returning. The Beachcomber combined a luxury vacation experience in a family-friendly environment. It may seem over-the-top, but I honestly can’t think of one thing that could have made the Beachcomber better. Maybe a butler who serves cocktails by the pool?

Room Tip: This is personal preference. First floor offers immediate beach access, but with a small child, we p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in unit 5. It was 4 bedrooms and 4 1/2 baths. The pictures do not do this unit justice! It was on the ground floor and you just were steps to the pool and beach. The condo had everything that our party of 7 needed including daily housekeeping. It's a great location with a grocery and liquor store across the street and many restaurants within walking distance. After walking by many of the other hotels we considered for our stay, I know we made the right decision to stay at the Beachcomber. We stayed in late May and it was very rainy. I wouldn't go again during the rainy season, which is May - October.

Room Tip: We had a baby with us and the ground floor unit made it much easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had such an amazing time at Beachcomber, Unit 15. The view from our condo was remarkable! This was our first experience staying in a condo versus a hotel and I gotta say this is by far the best choice for us! The condo is conveniently located near a grocery store, liquor store, plenty of eateries and sits on one the most beautiful part of seven mile beach! Really enjoyed the condo itself and thought the owners did such a great job decorating and creating a "homey" feel. Loved everything about this unit and can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Beachcomber we return to, year after year. Wow, what a wonderful new condo hotel room and right on the best part of Seven Mile Beach. Number 17 is unique because it is a quiet end-unit with daylight all the way down the side. 3 bedrooms and they all have windows and 3 private full baths. The master bedroom is your postcard kingsize room. Walk-in closet, a roman style bath, patio doors opening onto a very large full-width balcony, facing the sunset, and sometimes a "green flash".
The pool is one of those prize winning designs, with 2 added jacuzzis. This unit is deluxe equipped. Free Wi-Fi, Magic-Jack for free calls home. Cable on huge TV's. Full laundry room.
The long beach is powder-soft white sand, good beach chairs and umbrellas, all complimentary. And the snorkeling our front is great in crystal-clear water. We watched the turtles go by one evening. Even a harmless stingray. Right across the street is a huge modern supermarket. The ladies will love the large kitchen, with more modern equipment than at my home. All Air-conditioned. Elevator and underground parking garage.
Staying here beats a cruise hands-down.

Room Tip: Number 17, in my opinion, offers the best quality and location for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Unit #28 was perfection. Unbelievable. Great location. Nice people. Uncrowded beaches. Great balcony with breathtaking views of the turquoise waters and orange sunsets. Definitely returning to the Beachcomber. Couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We were in grand cayman for a wedding and there were a number of condos that were rented. We had condo number 26 which was gorgeous. Everything was so nicely done, beds were comfy, bathrooms were a good size, master bedroom was amazing, kitchen had all of the necessities and other little items you would want, Internet worked great, there was a free local and free international phone, the furniture was beautiful (including the patio future)..all and all - it was fantastic. Daily cleaning service, and the ladies at the front desk are great. I asked Danielle to help me coordinate a couple of things for a wedding present and she gave me suggestions and put me in contact with various people. Additionally, whenever I had a question before arriving and while we were there. They were answered promptly.

The pool, hottub and beach were all great. Along with the BBQs that were available for use!!

A definite must stay! Worth the money!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a great vacation here with the family. 7 Mile Beach is beautiful. After walking up and down the beach we realized the Beachcomber was a top pick because it was not crowded. Many of the popular locations were wall to wall people. We all had a great time on the beach, swimming, snorkeling to reefs, and enjoying the pool. Everyone found something to do whether it be scuba diving, reading books, or just hanging out. We stayed in #17 which is a corner unit with a great porch for watching the sunset. It was very comfortable and spacious. The condo was beautifully decorated, and includes all the ammenities (WIFI, and free calling to the US).

Room Tip: We stayed in #17 which was 3rd floor, corner unit facing the beach. Very quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Grand Cayman

Address: 933 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Mile Beach is truly a world-class beach, set against a dazzling backdrop of tropical landscaping. It could be described as an elite neighborhood of mostly luxurious, private ownership condominiums fronting on the white sand beach and crystal clear turquoise sea. In every such waterfront neighborhood however, there are “special pockets” – sites that rise above the others in terms of beach quality and The Beachcomber is one of these! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Beachcomber Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.