We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Family Summer Vacations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Grand Cayman

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachcomber Grand Cayman
Save
You added Beachcomber Grand Cayman to your Saves list
933 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Three Family Summer Vacations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

In 2010, we took a girls trip to Grand Cayman Island. There was 6 of us girls. Myself, girlfriend, daughter and her friend, my mother and sister inlaw. After reading many reviews of the Carribean and other desitnations, such as Costa Rica, we decided on the Grand Cayman Island and specifically on 7-mile beach. We have traveled quite a bit for the last 10 years. Just for comparison, we have been to Cancun and Playa del Carmen in Mexico, Hawaii (Maui, Kaui and O'ahu ), Aruba and the Bahamas. We also like to take ski vacations in the spring to Colorado, another favorite destination.

After our first trip, I wanted to take my husband. So we returned in July 2011 and 2012. Each time we rented the 3 bedroom 3 bath ground floor unit. We chose it for several reasons. ( they also have 2/2 and 4/4 units available). The reasons we chose our ground floor unit: two rooms had a king bed and one room with two twins, there is no poolside bathrrom so we liked being able to walk right in and out our patio to the pool and the beach. Also since it's not a hotel, we like to walk right in and out patio to make a cocktail or get a snack. Some prefer higher level for better ocean views....

The beach is one of the best, if not the BEST I have ever been to. The water is so calm, easy to swim, crystal clear, rarely any rocks in the bottom, so easy to walk in to beach. We take floats and stay in the ocean. We also take a plastic cup with lid, so we can take a cocktail out to beach. The beach is white sand, beautiful and nice and wide. Great 7 miles of beach for a morning or afternoon walk. The pool and hotubs are really great also!

We usually cook breakfast in condo, make sandwich for lunch, and eat out most dinners. There are grills at the condo, so we cook steaks and burgers one or two nights. We also buy our liquor in the airport before we get on plane in Houston. The liquor is very expensive in the Caymans. We don't mind because it's vacation, but we save a little money by purchasing a couple of favorite bottles at airport. Then we get wine, beer and food across the street from the Condo. They let you take the basket to your door!

If you prefer room service and a swim up bar, this might not be the place for you. We very much enjoy those luxory services also. But sometimes we like to change it up. This is a beautiful, upscale beachfront condo. Feels like a luxury home away from home. It's great for families, adults or small children. You can also walk down to the Ritz for lunch or a massage at the spa.

You must Swim with the stingrays! Awesome experience. Also, I suggest the renting jet skis for the day, not at the resorts. If you have a a large group, you can share the costs. Too much fun. We also love the parasailing, it's so amazing, you can almost see the entire island while up in the air.

We also love that people are friendly on the island. We toolkit our teenage daughter when she was15, 16& 17. So we love that it is safe. since she was almost 18 last summer she got to got to a bar with us. They have several restaurant/ bars with music. So it's fun for parents and older teenage kids. Once they are 18 you will feel it is safe for them to do a few things on there own. Just have them stick together and make smart decisions. There is no crime on the island ) I mean hardly any crime at all).

We love the Grand Cayman Island so much. Can't wait to go back in a few years. This summer we are going somewhere different as we choose to travel the world. But I doubt it gets much better than 7 mile beach at the Beachcomber on the Grand Cayman Island.

Have fun on your next Vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have stayed here many times and love this place. If you are looking for beauty, luxury, cleanliness, convenience (grocery store across street)and one of the best views of seven mile beach try the Beachcomber.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Beachcomber and all I can say is WOW!

We stayed in unit #5, a ground-level 4-bedroom/5-Bath unit that was immaculate and beautifully appointed with fully appointed and equipped kitchen, industrial ice machine, satellite TV in EVERY room, WiFi, and free local and longs distance calls to the US.

There was plenty of room and comfort for 4 adults and 4 teenagers. Talk about convenience, just steps out the sliding doors onto the hot tub and pool deck with the beach and sea on our doorstep.

The service was wonderful with friendly and exceptional daily maid service, ample linen and towels and plenty of top notch beach furniture and umbrellas. Full service grocery and liquor store just steps across the street. Feel comfortable grilling on the Weber Gas BBQs that are there for your usage and cleaned to a factory new shine each morning. There are also plenty of excellent restaurant choices within a short walk.

The grounds were perfect; the beach was cleaned and raked often. We had a brief maintenance issue in the unit after office hours on Saturday evening. A quick call to Danielle and she showed up on the doorstep (with baby in tow) summoned the maintenance guys and resolved immediately.

This is a first class operation and property that makes the Ritz Carlton seem like an over-crowded cattle car.

Like most things in Grand Cayman it is costly but you certainly get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ground floor units are a great luxury, provides easy access to the pool,beach, your bathroom and ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We rented unit 26 for a week in November and it was just a fantastic unit. We met Danielle who got us checked in, she was very warm and friendly and made us welcomed even though she was going to have a baby anytime. The view was to die for so we spent a lot of time dining out on the fully furnished spacious balcony. The kitchen was fully equipped so you can cook up a storm if you want. We chose this complex mainly for its location on the beach. There was a large wide strip of soft white sand in front of the complex and it was not too busy cause you were far enough away from the busy hotels like the Ritz and Westin. Fosters supermarket was basically across the street so it made it easy for us to get groceries daily if we wanted. There are a couple of liquor stores also across the street and many nice restaurants are within walking distance. The staff working at the complex were all very friendly except the manager at the end of our stay. He was quite rude and did not want to even talk to me when I was in the main office because we did not have all our stuff out of the unit at the recommended check out time. Everything was packed and sitting by the door as we did not interfere with the cleaning crew. We were just slow moving. I think his name is Dale. It was a perfect week except for the one blemish. It is true that all Caymanians are friendly except one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Wow, we love it here! The staff is great, the condo is immaculate, the beachfront is immaculate, the view is spectacular and we always have a wonderful time.

If you want to lounge and do nothing, this is the place. If you want to have adventures everyday, this is the place.

Amanda and Michelle are warm and caring, if you have any questions they are right there for you.

Adam and Aryn, Manhattan

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 for a family trip. The Beachcomber was absolutely beautiful. We stayed in Unit 17 which is a three bedroom end unit. The pictures you see on the website are exactly what you get. Everything in the condo was top notch. The double balcony is wonderful. There is a screened in area, which can be opened up to the exposed area. One nice feature in the room is a phone that has unlimited calling to the USA. This was extremely useful when dealing with airlines. They only bad part of the trip was the weather. We arrived in a rain storm that lasted for days. That is why the picture uploaded looks dark. As the other reviewers have mentioned, the management was great. They assisted us with every request. The pool was really nice. The beach would have been awesome. The condo even has some leftover beach toys for the kids. There are several restaurants within walking distance (some will delivery to the Beachcomber). There is market across the street for normal food items. The liquor still is next to the market. Would love to go back with nice weather.

Room Tip: Review photo's on website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The condo was of course 5 star, so was the beach...but what makes the Beachcomber so great is the management. Amanda, Dale and Danielle go the extra mile to make sure EVERYONE is taken care of. The staff at Beachcomber not only welcomes you with open arms; they may have just had to deal with something unpleasant right before you checked in...but you'd never know it.

We found out later that a guest had too many people in their unit and that had caused a problem. Beachcomber staff didn't miss a beat welcoming us. It took all of 2 minutes to check in and get the keys, luggage cart and one short elevator ride later, we were in a spectacular 4BR oceanfront condo and the pressure seemed to evaporate. A perfect end to a long day of traveling.

We enjoyed the stay so much that we rebooked for March 2013

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Grand Cayman

Address: 933 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Mile Beach is truly a world-class beach, set against a dazzling backdrop of tropical landscaping. It could be described as an elite neighborhood of mostly luxurious, private ownership condominiums fronting on the white sand beach and crystal clear turquoise sea. In every such waterfront neighborhood however, there are “special pockets” – sites that rise above the others in terms of beach quality and The Beachcomber is one of these! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Beachcomber Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.