We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemmingway's

Hemmingway's
332, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
cleveland, ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Best dinner on the Island! My husband and I went here when we were vacationing and it was our best dinner. Very romantic atmosphere. Service was great and food excellent! I highly recommend this place. It is expensive though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkmichael, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Great champagne brunch, whilst not up to Singapore hotel brunches standards this one was fine, great food and lots of variety champagne glass was never empty and at about forty five dollars a piece great value, excellent location we could see the sea and beach, great friendly Caribbean atmosphere with genuine Caribbean staff and not the ubiquitous Foreign staff

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointed Due To Menu Change”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

This one was one of my favorite breakfast spots! Not just b/c on the view but b/c the menu was a bit different then everywhere else. Unfortunately, they changed the menu, drastically and took off all the good stuff, the only thing left are the basics, that you can get everywhere else. Still a wonderful spot for sipping on a coffee or juice and gazing out into the gorgeous SMB and Caribbean waters. Good service too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“5 star evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Still very surprised this restaurant doesn’t get more accolade than it does. We dined on Saturday May 4th and have dined there on a number of occasions in the past few years. We both had the same starter and main course – a black bean/cumin combination, which was excellent. Followed by a walnut crusted snapper with warm roasted apple – outstanding. The service was very good, attentive but not overly so and the whole meal was accompanied by Mainstream [a trio of very professional musicians, who perform regularly on a Saturday evening]. Being able to dance to their music during, or after the meal made the evening even more special. The group perform at just the right kind of ambience for eating. A very talented musical trio. There is a great choice of fine dining on the island, all of which we have tried, but actually keep coming back to Hemmingways. Cost is very much south of their rivals and we have to say the food far north of what any of them can produce. On our particular night – the high tide and cool breeze made the occasion even more special [at times can be warm eating on the outside – but you can choose to eat inside]. The only disappointment for the evening was that not many people were dining – but the excellent food, entertainment and overall experience made up for that. Thank you Hemmingway's for a most lovely Saturday evening

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

While in the Caymans our group of 8 ate @ Hemmingway's

The service was terrible! Our waiter ran around like a chicken with his head cut off. Never asked anyone in our party if they would like a second drink nor replenish the beard. We had to flag another wait staff person to inquire about when our food would be served. Also had to flag another for the check. A desert menu forget that too.

We'll never go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemmingway's also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Hemmingway's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemmingway's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.