We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great x 10” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Grill

Sunshine Grill
1465 Esterley Tibbetts | at the Sunshine Suites Resort, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
+1 345-946-5848
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Enjoy world-class casual dining with true Caribbean flair for breakfast, lunch, dinner or drinks. Our colorful poolside restaurant with award winning food at an affordable price has made the Sunshine Grill a favorite for local residents and international visitors alike. Everyday favorites include the BEST angus burgers, award winning fish tacos and island specialty drinks.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great x 10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Don't waste your time going anywhere else. The food, service and price are best on the island.
Fish tacos on lettuce wraps are out of this world.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,736
    595
    129
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So great, we went twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The food is truly wonderful - fresh ingredients, cooked perfectly! And the atmosphere is wonderful! Don't let the fact that it's in the middle of a motel fool you, this is a great place to eat even if it's a bit of a drive. We went there twice - but only because we found out about it 2 days before leaving. I think we would've gone more often if we'd known about it earlier.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Good food at a nice price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

While staying at the Sunshine Suites, we ate breakfast and lunch at the Sunshine Grille. The food was plentiful and reasonably priced. I cannot say that it was excellent as eggs are eggs and salad is salad (which is what we had for lunch). We did find the service to be very friendly, orders were good sized and reasonably priced by Cayman standards. We will definitely return upon our next trip to Cayman so we can try their famous fish tacos.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Wow! Best casual dinner on the island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We ate at the Sunshine Grill six times over the course of our vacation. I'd say each dish was either good, or completely outstanding. The restaurant itself is an expanded pool house in the dead center of the Sunshine Suites hotel We had to direct a few guests on our walk to the beach to show them where it is. The most basic directions are go to the Westin, then go three buildings back and look for the Sunshine Suites hotel signs, then keep following that street into the middle of the hotel.

In our opinion, the Jerk Chicken Eggrolls, Asian Salad, and their soup choices were excellent. Everything else we had was better than average. The ice cream after every meal being included was a nice touch, including serving it with breakfast and having a different flavor every day.

They have trivia pursuit cards to keep you entertained (or create marital arguments) during dinner. We found the place filled up by 6pm every nice, so get there a bit early or expect a wait. Its also nice that this is one of the few establishments that doesn't automatically include gratuity and service was noticeably better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos & sliders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Difficult to find so ask for directions but definitely worth the search. Fish tacos with sweet thai chili sauce was so delish. 2 is plenty and I really liked the chopped salad. Went back for breakfast and good for the price which includes coffee or OJ. Sage sausage tasted like home made. Wish I could have tried the breakfast tacos as all the food has been so delicious. We went back again for the sliders which were so yummy with the Sunshine Scramble which is a mix of fried reg potatoes, sweet potatoes, mushrooms, jalapeños and onions. You get 3 sliders which is plenty for a big guy. We want to return before we leave but I don't think we will have time. I want to try the snapper BLT as I heard that was good. Find this place and you won't be disappointed!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Grill also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Sunshine Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.