We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place on the beach to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solana - CLOSED

Solana
Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
949-0088
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Join us for a great meal by the world famous Seven Mile Beach. We are offering lunch and dinner with excellent food and outstanding service. Furthermore our unique theme nights: Lobster night, Bucanners feast & Wine by the water will perfectly fit every occasion. Solana restaurant is located at the Grand Cayman Marriott.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place on the beach to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Service was fast and good. Friendly staff will make all accommodations for food allergies. Kids menu is excellent. We asked for a kids chicken and cheese quescadilla and it was huge and perfect!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    56
    22
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistently good food right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the comfort suites right next door and Solana became our go-to for several reasons. It's fully shaded and you have a great view of the beach, prices were fair for seven mile beach, and the service was excellent. We also basically had everything on the menu and nothing was the best we ever had but it was good.

- fish tacos aren't fried, just seasoned
- their variation of eggs Benny on plantain was really good
- fried chicken biscuit was a really nice biscuit but the pieces of chicken are more breaking than chicken (still yummy)
- sliders and burgers tasted like they were frozen patties (again, still good)
- curry was delicious
- piña coladas were excellent and better value than at sol - their beach bar
- dairy free chocolate cherry brownie was gross
- tuna poki was really good
- mussels were nice
- blueberry pancakes were delicious
- multigrain French toast was ok
- all salads were good but if you're hungry make sure you add a protein. Chipotle chicken salad exceptionally filling.
- coffee a little weak

Will go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Lobster Night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you love lobster and can eat a lot, it's definitely worth the splurge! A menu filled with lobster dishes from appetizers to main course, you can try one of each and then order more afterwards! The food quality was excellent, the grilled lobster tails were huge and fresh! The service was great too, the waiter did not make us uncomfortable when we kept ordering more dishes; he was very professional. It was our most memorable dinner in our 7 day trip! Also, don't forget to check out the Explore Cayman book for coupon! We presented the 20% off coupon from the book and saved us 20% to give back as tips :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Buren, Arkansas
1 review
“Excellent Service-Top Rated Gourmet Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

This is high class restaurant, excellent food and very professional wait staff. We requested Waiter Walter Fernandes. He was very personable, professional, providing excellent service and high class customer care. Making each dinning experience very memorable while we were enjoying our vacation at the Fabulous Marriott Hotel.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“expensive for food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

went with friends (6 people) and thought that will treat us to gourmet food considering its cost. it was average. Our server was very accommodative and nice, after pouring me a glass of wine it was less that full glass left in the bottle so I got the rest complementary.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solana also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.