We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jerk Chicken WOW!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calico Jack's Bar & Grill

Calico Jack's Bar & Grill
118, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
945-7850
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Jerk Chicken WOW!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice beach area and great for sunsets. However im here to talk about the Jerk Chicken.......Awesome, awesome and awesome. They also have a kick [--] Quesidilla that is not on the menu. (just ask). They also have a good price on Buckets of Beer $20u.s.(Good price for Cayman)
Pros: Super Friendly Staff, Great patio!!!
Cons: Tables are a tad dirty and sticky

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    59
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Painesville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Classic Caribbean Beach Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Although we loved our visit to Grand Cayman, I was surprised at how few beachside bars there were. It's mainly large hotels and their pool bars. Calico Jacks was the type of place we were looking for. It's so close to the water that the waves were coming within a couple of feet of our table at times. It's got that laid back beach bar feel, with good music and pretty good deals on buckets of Caybrew. We came here 3 times during our stay, one evening it was full of locals and employees there on their off day and the bartender even bought a shot for the whole bar. It was also a fairly easy walk along the beach from most SMB hotels. I ate the Jerk Chicken once and it was very tasty, but the waitress brought it to me almost too quickly, making me think it had been cooked and sitting there for a while. I had some stomach issues shortly after eating it so I still have my reservations about eating there again, but it's a great place to have a few beers as you're walking along the beach.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food but very expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Calico Jack's was nice for a quick lunch right on Seven Mile Beach but it was very expensive. $90 for 5 adults for lunch on a picnic table but I believe all the restaurants on the beach are expensive.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellton, N.B.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome on the beach!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

A great spot for drinks and a bite to eat. A short walk down Seven Mile Beach from our condo made the drinks even better. Decent menu and a great atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Average bar food on the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We walked to Calico Jacks from our condo on 7mile beach for lunch, it was pretty much as expected, simple bar food, very busy with cruise ship passengers due to proximity to the public beach. Not bad but not cheap either, still spent $40US plus tip for one drink each and lunch. At least there is a great view.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calico Jack's Bar & Grill also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Calico Jack's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calico Jack's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.