We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent alternative to the pricey resorts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annie's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Annie's Place
Save
You added Annie's Place to your Saves list
282 Andrew Drive Snug Harbour, George Town, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 George Town B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent alternative to the pricey resorts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I highly recommend Annie’s B&B. It is clean, affordable (compared the resorts on Seven Mile Beach), has all of the essential amenities and the owners (Annie and Peter) cultivate a great warm and friendly atmosphere. Not only did Annie and Peter go out of their way to help us navigate the island, but they also made us feel at home under their roof. They even let us use their personal washer and dryer on the seventh night!

There are two rooms guests stay in; each has its own bathroom, TV, AC, refrigerator, queen size bed and tea maker. We stayed in the smaller room the first 2 nights and the bigger one the last 5 nights. Every morning we had a filling homemade breakfast, which Ruth personalizes based on your personal preference.

The only “downside” is that you have a 15-20 minute walk to the beach (the closest being the infamously gorgeous Seven Mile Beach). However, the island is beautiful and safe, so it didn’t bother us that much. We only rented a car one day to go to Rum Point (prettiest beach on the island) and all the other days/nights we either walked 20-30 minutes to a fabulous array of restaurants or took a bus if we wanted to explore a neighboring town. Walking/taking the bus to different places is easy since there is basically one main road to get to other destinations (George Town, North West Bay, etc). The bus is a fine alternative to walking and costs about $5 USD for two people.

Annie’s B&B also recommended several great activities; our favorite being Sting Ray City via Moby Dick Tours (great experience!) And if you stay at Annie’s B&B, you receive a discount.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multon, Owner at Annie's Place, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. We always strive to give our clients the best holiday experience ever. Our genuine Cayman hospitality as well as keeping our prices affordable, means we are always sought after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
21
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This review is for a stay from February 16-23, 2013 (7 nights)(()

We checked into Annie's Place around 4:30 pm on the day of our arrival and were promptly greeted by Miss Annie who gave us a quick tour of her home (we were introduced to her husband Peter later) and showed us to our room. We started off in room 2 (the larger of the two rooms) for the first 5 nights. They had an overlap in bookings for that room and asked if my wife and I could move to room 1 (a slightly smaller room) for our last two nights which we happily did. Both rooms are wonderful - clean, comfortable, A/C, cable tv, private bath, lots of dressers drawers.

The house is beautiful and we were made to feel at home, which we did. Annie and Peter are wonderful people who truly make their guests welcome. In the morning Miss LaToya or Miss Ruth was on hand to prepare breakfast (the fried plantains that are slightly squished with a fork are amazing) and clean our rooms (which was done everyday). Breakfast is within an inner courtyard that was covered by a screen (for bugs) and a large canvas type tent (for sun and rain control) and was a great place to start the day. Bacon and eggs and toast/bagels were fresh but other options were preprepared (waffles, pancakes). Standard breakfast but if you wanted something different just ask and they will accomodate.

The location of the B&B could not be anymore perfect. Located about halfway between George Town and West Bay along the new highway - you could access all the amenities easily by car or if you were walking the beach is about a 20 minute, easy walk. Groceries are about the same as is Camana Bay in the opposite direction. The neighborhood is also very quiet except for the occasional rooster (quite regular for a few nights).

We would definitely recommend this property if you are a B&Ber and are travelling to Grand Cayman. Given the cost of hotels compared to this property staying here was an easy decision that turned out to be a great one. We will definitely try to stay here again the next time we are on island.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a lot of stuff (dive gear, suitcases, etc) go for Room 2. If you are pack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hi Peter and Annie where wonderful.. I stayed there last June while I was having a medical procedure. They made me feel right at home..Ruth makes a great breakfast and they all treated me like part of the family...I highly recommend Annies place.. I will be staying here again .. Thanks Peter and Annie... Donna from Long Island, New York

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at this fantastic bed and breakfast for 3 nights, and enjoyed every minute. A morning jog around the block (about 1.5 mile loop) followed by breakfast from Ruth was heavenly. I especially enjoyed the hospitality of our hosts, Annie and Peter. We spent many mornings or evenings just sitting in the hacienda style courtyard chatting. Annie shared her exercise mat with me so I could do Pilates after my run, and made sure our comforts were met. Peter was a wonderful resource for directions. I would highly recommend staying here, as it is so close to seven mile beach Caymana Bay, local grocery store, etc. The icing on the cake; you are staying with good friends who know the island in and out because they have lived here their entire life. We were very happy with our stay and were sad to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the left, which was at the end of the house. I would bring ear plugs as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I happened to find this Bed and Breakfast and am glad that I did. The rooms are just the right size and the Spanish house is really awesome with it's open court yard center of the house. Annie and Peter are instant friends and know just where to go because they've lived here their whole lives. Of course Ruth's breakfast is fantastic. Have her cook you a traditional Jamaican breakfast. If you get really on with Annie she might even make you a home made key lime pie. We will be coming back.

Room Tip: Both rooms fit a couple. There is a small fridge for food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you're a traveller this place is for you. The hosts, Peter and Annie, are fabulous. Very professional but warm and engaging. They were both very helpful in providing information and guidance. My room (the middle one) was a good size and the private bathroom was everything I needed. The place is spotless. The room includes a mini fridge, your own air conditioner control and a ceiling fan. The queen sized bed is incredibly comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful and your choice. There is a short walk to the beach but the neighbourhood is safe and friendly. Location is great for catching a bus, grabbing a cab, grocery shopping, or dining out. I was fortunate enough to be invited to join Christmas celebrations. I felt like one of the family. Perfect place for a solo traveller. Ask about a tour to Stingray City too. Would return over and over again!

Room Tip: There are only 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Annies B&B for the first two weeks in December, Peter and Annie took care of all our needs and Ruths breakfasts were perfect. Annie knows everybody who is worth knowing and even arranged a great fishing trip for us, the fish we and the other guests caught were cooked in her kitchen and we all enjoyed a fish supper that night. Our bedroom was spacious and always clean and the whole experience was perfect. We were made to feel wecome and Annie even allowed us to sell at her garage sale, a priceless experience in itself. If you are looking to avoid the big hotels and want a friendly family home to stay in Annies is the place to go.. The location is perfect for all places on the island.. Thankyou Annie & Peter.. Regards Pat & Peter B C Canada..

Room Tip: We had room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Annie's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie's Place

Address: 282 Andrew Drive Snug Harbour, George Town, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Annie`s Place Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Annie's Place Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annie's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.