We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“.60$ Wings! Service not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches

Beaches
Treasure Island | West Bay Road, George Town, Grand Cayman
+1 345-947-8778
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 86 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: American
Description: twitter: 3restaurants
Restaurant details
Description: twitter: 3restaurants
Parker
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“.60$ Wings! Service not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a convenient place if you are staying on or near south sound beach. We were excited when we found it because we wanted to watch the football games and they happened to be playing them. The bartender told us that they didn't offer the bucket of beers outdoors, only at the indoor bar and he also failed to mention that they tack on 15% gratuity to the bill. He really took advantage of the fact that we were "tourists". We wouldn't have known this if we didn't go back again. This time we sat inside and ordered more and ended up paying $50 bucks less because the bucket of beers are cheaper than buying individual beers and the bill that was given to us indoors indicated the 15% gratuity. We didn't eat anything but the wings but they were fantastic!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philip w, General Manager at Beaches, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Apologies for the confusion over the buckets of beer. We do in fact sell buckets of all beers both inside and out as we do for all items on the Beaches Sports bar Menu(both drink and food)
This has been made clear to all staff.
Glad you enjoyed the 60 cent wings, of which all 5 flavours change monthly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We visited Beaches during a recent trip to Grand Cayman and was very impressed with the variety of menu options. It is a sports bar but elevated beyond the typical bar food. I loved the conch fritters and fresh cut parmesan fries! I appreciated that everything was fresh and made in house and they had local beer on draft.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philip w, General Manager at Beaches, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We appreciate your comments and please visit us again when you return.
I'm glad you liked the new menu changes.
Regards,
Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“DISGUSTING!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Beaches Restaurant is (recently) under new ownership, and new management...do not eat here! The food was horrible. We ordered 2 pizzas...(cheese & hawaiian) both were extremely greasy and floppy. We also ordered chicken wings, which were over cooked. Fish & chips...the chips (french fries) were all stuck together, while the fish was old (smelly & fishy), and the breading was over cooked and hard. Also, their radio ads are misleading stating there is brand new play equipment for children...it is the same as it's always been, when it was called the "Dog House". There is nothing new, except that the food is now horrible. My stomach is turning tonight.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philip w, General Manager at Beaches, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are under new ownership and management here at Beaches Sports Bar/Red Snapper Restaurant and Blue Mountain cafe. and i cannot stress highly enough how much we take comments on board, and continue to strive for quality and consistency in both service and product.
We realize that we are in the service industry and rely on repeat custom.
We have just managed to get our trip adviser service back up and running, otherwise i would have replied earlier.
I'd like to apologize for you experience, and would like to invite you back down for lunch at your earliest convenience on us.
We have now enclosed the kids play area so no cars can drive down, filled it in with sand and are waiting for extra kids play stuff.
Apologies if our New Years Eve ad which you listed to was misleading.
Please call 947 8778, if i can be of any further assistance, or you would like to talk to me in person.
Regards,
Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I went for lunch yesterday with my husband and 12 year old daughter. We all ordered the special which was baked fish with salad or fries. The serving size of the fish was extremely poor (4oz at a stretch!) and my fish was off! It took 30 minutes to get our food and to then be disappointed in the standard of it was not a good experience at all! The server asked us if everything was all right only when we asked for the check but obviously was either not trained or ambivalent to the comment "The fish was off' and didn't know to handle it or else didn't care! Very disappointing. The previous owners had good food on a regular basis and we were there on a frequent basis. This food is horrible! Try somewhere else! It is our local restaurant so we would love to have good food, good service and a welcoming staff - sadly it has none of these and does not deserve to have loyal customers! They don't even have the local version of the light beer on draft despite the brewery being situated 2 minutes away.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philip w, General Manager at Beaches, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi There,
We have just got our Trip Adviser reply service back up and running, other wise i would have replied sooner.
We have employed new managers since the last week of October due to the very issue's that you mentioned.
We identified areas of concern, and addressed the issues as soon as possible.
Obviously not in your case, for which i'd like to apologize.
We have had a few staff changes, for the better i might add, to try and ensure quality and consistency in both product and customer service, our anticipation of customers expectations is our goal.
As far as the Caybrew Light is concerned, you are correct we do not have that on draft due to the minimal orders i get, but i do carry Caybrew Light in the bottle.
We have changed our fish from Swai to Grouper or Snapper, for a better product, and also looked at portion sizes.
If i could ask you to call 947 8778 so i could personally invite you down for a second chance, that would be great.

Regards,
Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, GA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Pristine Waters, Warm Breezes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed the tour of the area, and included a private beach along the coastline. We would definitely return. Very peaceful and clean.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaches also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.