We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm Obsessed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bread and Chocolate

Bread and Chocolate
3 Dr. Roy's Drive, George Town KY1-1205, Grand Cayman
+1 345-946-6239
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 80 restaurants in George Town
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Modern. Responsible. Delicious. Bread and Chocolate is the first full-service vegan restaurant in the Cayman Islands providing healthy all-day breakfast and lunch alternatives for health-conscious and eco-conscious diners. All breads, desserts, sauces etc. are made in house. Organic and local produce featured where and whenever possible. Located in the centre of the financial district of George Town. Parking is very limited so plan for a short walk from your car if you drive any day other than Saturday (loads of street parking available on weekends). Bus terminal is next door so it is strongly encouraged to take one of the municipal "buses" which are, for the most part, mini-vans with stickers on them - the EE (East End) bus is more of the typical style bus. Taking the bus is greatly encouraged since it's better for the environment, way cheaper than a cab and is a unique experience on it's own. Some pay parking available at the Town Centre Plaza on Albert Panton Street and behind Bayshore Mall. Table service and take out available. Open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., and now open Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I'm Obsessed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I'm in love with the fledgeling Bread & Chocolate and so happy this vegan restaurant is a hit! The food is fresh, wholesome, delicious, and pretty darn cheap compared to other local options. The entire staff are also lovely, making the whole experience at Bread & Chocolate one that nobody coming through George Town should miss. Cayman's own hole-in-the-wall gem hidden right in the centre of GT. Make sure to give their desserts/pastries a shot, made by their adorable in-house pastry chef Jill. Vegan peanut butter cups, YUM.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    77
    9
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“My new favorite lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you do not live in Cayman and are looking for somewhere quick to eat while off the cruise ship for 3 hours, I am BEGGING you to please come here.
I tried this restaurant today finally, and was so pleased.
The owners have managed to make the place so warm and welcoming you just want to sit down, read a book and stay there all day.
I tried the special of the day Breadfruit Tacos which were out of this world! (this is a big deal because as a Caymanian I find myself very particular about my breadfruit.)
The Menu is great, the service is great - and with the most expensive item on the menu being I believe 12$ I expect to become a regular.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“true success story !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

i was directed to go there by an employee of another restaurant since i'm a vegan. we went there 3 times on our 10 day vacation. it was truly delicious and the owners RENO & his wife were so GENUINE .i live in san francisco and we have some very good vegan& vegetarian restaurants here. wish they were here.
also, another restaurant that has a vegan menu as well is AGUA ! not cheap but delicious $$$
.went there twice

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I can't begin to say how happy I am that Bread and Chocolate came to town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I'll try to temper my enthusiasm as I am a long-suffering health conscious George Towner, but I love this place. So long Subway and KFC! Bread and Chocolate has a reasonably priced menu with excellent food, great coffee and a cool little euro-chic-recycled-earth-friendly restaurant. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Non-vegans will still love new vegan cafe in George Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I cannot rate this place highly enough! If the things on the menu don't appeal to you as described, just wait until you've tasted them! Delicious. Great almond milk cappuccio, dairy free desserts and a lovely chilled out atmosphere. I am not vegan, or even veggetarian, but love that you can finally eat so well, and yet so healthily and responsibly, in George Town. Low environmental impact products and use of organic and local foods adds to the appeal. GO!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread and Chocolate also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
East End, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman

Been to Bread and Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bread and Chocolate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.