We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allura Catamaran+Stingray City=Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allura Catamaran

Allura Catamaran
North Church Street, George Town KY1-1001, Grand Cayman
345-9451355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 58 activities in George Town
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Experience a once in a lifetime opportunity to snorkel in the world famous waters of Grand Cayman's Stingray City. From the Cayman Islands Yacht Club you will board the amazing Allura catamaran. Spacious, comfortable and with shaded area if you wish, Allura is the ideal boat to sail the beautiful Cayman waters. You will be able to swim, feed and interact with dozens of Southern stingrays who will eat from your hand.
Evanston, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Allura Catamaran+Stingray City=Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just returned from a Western Caribbean cruise and were fortunate to book this excursion while in Grand Cayman. It was a top quality experience from start to finish. Transportation to the Yacht Club was a 15 minute ride in an air conditioned van. Our guide pointed out interesting places and chatted the whole way. Once on the Allura we had a quick safety briefing and met the crew. Next we enjoyed a 45 minute ride out to the Stingray City sandbar. On the way there, the captain introduced us to Luana who explained what we would be seeing and doing with the stingrays. The catamaran was not too crowded, only about 20 other passengers. The water was gorgeous and even though I was nervous about being with the stingrays, the crew helped me feel calm and I actually got to touch and kiss a stingray. Luana took about 100 pictures of our family and we were able to purchase the disk from her.

We spent about 45 minutes in the water with the stingrays swimming all around us. It was thrilling! Then we climbed the ladder back onto the Allura and made our way back to the Yacht Club.

Our kids age 14 and 11 absolutely loved the experience. There were quite a few boats out there on the stingray sandbar but I think the Allura was the best one. Not crowded, very beautiful, great crew. The only disappointing aspect was that we didn't actually SAIL on the catamaran...used the motor the whole way out and back. Other than that, this excursion was fantastic.

The whole trip from the cruise ship dock and back was about 4 hours. The boat captain recommended a great place to eat lunch, Rackams and the van driver dropped us off on the way back to the dock. Thanks to everyone who made our day in Grand Cayman WONDERFUL.

I highly recommend this excursion! I hope I get to do this again in my lifetime.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great way to experience Stingray City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

There are dozens of different tours that go to Stingray City. This one will provide you with a great balance of comfort, convenience and service.

The dock for Allura is about a 10-15 minute bus ride from the pier. She's a catamaran, and you'll be on board with a crew of 3 plus a couple of dozen other guests. Get on early for the best seats which are on the "trampoline" up front where you have great views and the water beneath you.

The crew consists of captain, a deck hand who also serves as stringray wrangler (more on that in a minute) and a photographer. The boat is comfortable, no food, but they do usually have coffee, water and juice. There is a restroom, but remember you're on a boat, it's small and will test your balancing skills.

From the dock, stingray city is about 10 miles and depending on conditions can take up to an hour to reach. Once you're there,a ladder is lowered and you'll step onto the sandbar into water that is waist to chest deep. The water is stunningly clear, and you're going to quickly find stingrays swimming around you. Shuffle your feet, dont lift them, to avoid stepping on one.

You'll find a dozen or more other boats parked around this same spot, with everyone in the middle doing the same thing. Your deck hand will wrangle up some stingrays and let you hold them, kiss them, etc. The photographer is not obnoxious at all, but find her and she'll get some great pictures of you interacting with the stingrays.

After an hour or so, it's back on board for the trip back to town. You'll get the opportunity to review and buy pictures during the ride back. Again, no sales pressure here at all, if you have no interest in her pics, you wont be bothered at all. Once back at the dock, the bus takes you back to the pier. Do the morning session and you'll have just enough time for lunch and a little beach time.

Stingray City is THE must do excursion in Grand Cayman, dont miss it. And Allura is a great way to get out there with a great boat and friendly helpful crew.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
big spring
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“terrific trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

All the reviews are true - sailing in the catamaran was fun all by itself, and the crew was great. Captain Les, Big D, and Luann made us all feel very comfortable and excited to meet the stingrays. They took great care with us, not pushing anyone who was scared of the stingrays, but also very encouraging to anyone who was a little nervous but really wanted to interact with them. They also took great care with the stingrays, were very respectful of them, and always watching out for their best interests, which I appreciate. This crew seems enthusiastically in love with these beautiful, graceful, and mellow sea creatures...the crew's happiness in their work is contagious, and it made for a wonderful excursion in every way.
The catamaran leaves early, and has a fairly small maximum capacity, so you get to the sandbar before huge ships with loads of people inundate the place. The water is unbelievably clear.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers Island, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My family went to stingray city on the Allura on Friday Feb 15th, with aprox 20 pax on board. Everyone was very friendly, took time to ease any fears of the stingray and made sure everyone got to interact with them. This was my husbands and my 3rd time out to stingray city but my children's 1st, it is an experience they will never forget. I just want to thank Lu for the amazing photos she took while we were there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivancice
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“lots of fun kissing stingrays with great people on board”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I went to stingray city on Allura catamaran on Saturday 2nd. of Febuary. Me and my friends enjoyed the ride to stingraycity lying on the trampolines, the staff was very nice, explained everything, brought us water and talked to us about the stingrays. The water was a bit rough, Denis even carried some of the ladies to the water, to help them through the waves. Then the photographer Lu took pictures of us when the captain hold the stingray in front of us. We checked the pictures on the way back and loved it, so we bought the CD.
It would be much nicer if the water was calm, but we cant control the weather so we didnt get annoyed and enjoyed it!
We recommend it to everyone, even families with kids or old people

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allura Catamaran also viewed

 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Allura Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allura Catamaran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Allura Catamaran to your Saves list