We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allura Catamaran

Allura Catamaran
North Church Street, George Town KY1-1001, Grand Cayman
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience a once in a lifetime opportunity to snorkel in the world famous waters of Grand Cayman's Stingray City. From the Cayman Islands Yacht Club you will board the amazing Allura catamaran. Spacious, comfortable and with shaded area if you wish, Allura is the ideal boat to sail the beautiful Cayman waters. You will be able to swim, feed and interact with dozens of Southern stingrays who will eat from your hand.
big spring
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“terrific trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

All the reviews are true - sailing in the catamaran was fun all by itself, and the crew was great. Captain Les, Big D, and Luann made us all feel very comfortable and excited to meet the stingrays. They took great care with us, not pushing anyone who was scared of the stingrays, but also very encouraging to anyone who was a little nervous but really wanted to interact with them. They also took great care with the stingrays, were very respectful of them, and always watching out for their best interests, which I appreciate. This crew seems enthusiastically in love with these beautiful, graceful, and mellow sea creatures...the crew's happiness in their work is contagious, and it made for a wonderful excursion in every way.
The catamaran leaves early, and has a fairly small maximum capacity, so you get to the sandbar before huge ships with loads of people inundate the place. The water is unbelievably clear.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers Island, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My family went to stingray city on the Allura on Friday Feb 15th, with aprox 20 pax on board. Everyone was very friendly, took time to ease any fears of the stingray and made sure everyone got to interact with them. This was my husbands and my 3rd time out to stingray city but my children's 1st, it is an experience they will never forget. I just want to thank Lu for the amazing photos she took while we were there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“lots of fun kissing stingrays with great people on board”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I went to stingray city on Allura catamaran on Saturday 2nd. of Febuary. Me and my friends enjoyed the ride to stingraycity lying on the trampolines, the staff was very nice, explained everything, brought us water and talked to us about the stingrays. The water was a bit rough, Denis even carried some of the ladies to the water, to help them through the waves. Then the photographer Lu took pictures of us when the captain hold the stingray in front of us. We checked the pictures on the way back and loved it, so we bought the CD.
It would be much nicer if the water was calm, but we cant control the weather so we didnt get annoyed and enjoyed it!
We recommend it to everyone, even families with kids or old people

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Allura only takes out about 14 or 15 people and there is so much interaction with Little Lou, BiG D and Les! The other excursions have about 50-75 people crammed on a boat. This is just so relaxing and informative! I totally agree with all the other comments on this site - just wanted to add my two cents! This Stingray excursion is definitely the best!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Stingray tour of them all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was my 3rd visit to Stingray City on a cruise, and it was the best by far! The ride to the marina is an interesting mini-tour, and the catamaran ride out was scenic and comfortable. I get seasick easily, and had no problem at any point during this outing. There is a very basic bathroom on the boat, by the way! The water was calm & beautiful for snorkeling, and the Stingrays were plentiful and very friendly. The crew helped everyone in the water, making sure anyone who wanted to smooch and pet a Stingray had plenty of opportunity. Awesome! The Allura was the most beautiful boat out there, and our group of maybe 14 people got so much more personal interaction and photo ops than any of the other boats out there. We bought the pricey photo pkg disc, but it was much easier and better photos than doing it ourselves. Very very nice photos of everyone in our group and together. The ride back to the marina with the wind in our sails was so relaxing. Best excursion ever!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allura Catamaran also viewed


Been to Allura Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing