We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey and slow” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Grand Cayman

Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Grand Cayman
32 Harbour Drive | Island Plaza, George Town ky1-1006, Grand Cayman
+1 345-949-6274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 84 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Cayman Brac
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pricey and slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went to a kids birthay party and was a bit disappointed.
I was not impressed with this place at all. I've been to Margaritaville in USA and Jamaica and consider them much better in term of price and fun.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Grand Cayman, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for visiting, and we apologize for not meeting your expectations during your visit with us. While we are a part of the Margaritaville family, we do our best to throw in our own little flair in our daily operations. Your comments make it apparent that we missed out on opportunities to deliver on key elements with regard to our entertainment offerings, and for this we apologize. We have also noted your comments regarding the pricing of our offerings, and wish to assure you that we do our best to offer the highest value perception possible through regular analysis of the offerings of our competitors as well as similar concepts within our market.. We thank you again for visiting, and hope that you choose to visit us again; where we hope to extend to you a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    155
    135
    62
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, null, Cayman Islands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Food s pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location is great, however parking is far from ideal. But the service and food make up for the inconvenience of limited parking. Really good coconut shrimp!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Grand Cayman, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for visiting and for your review. We are happy that you chose to dine with us, despite the inconvenient parking. It was also pleasing to hear that you had a pleasant dining and service experience during your time with us. We do our best to ensure that all who choose to dine with us enjoy good food, stay drinks and great service courtesy of our team. We thank you again for visiting, and we hope that this will not be your lsat visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It was fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I don't think this restaurant would be at my top to recommend to anyone. The food was fine but nothing spectacular. The place is huge but there weren't too many people in there and our waitress was a little confused about the US to CI conversion (to the point of being rude when we questioned her). There was a bartender doing some very cool tricks with booze bottles - pretty amazing. For value, I would've rather eaten at Coconut Joe's which was closer to our hotel and a little quieter atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Grand Cayman, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for visiting. We are sorry to hear that your experience was short of spectacular, and have shared your comments with our team for review and improvement. Our daily operational culture is one where high standards are maintained when it comes to our food, beverages and service offerings. Your comments make it apparent that we fell short of these high standards during your visit, and for this we sincerely apologize. We thank you again for visiting, and hope that you will give us another chance to extend to you an much more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“I'm a parrothead, but ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to M'Ville on a stop in Grand Cayman. If it was anywhere else, I would probably rate it lower. We had a group of 6. Our bill was high but we were in a hurry. We paid the bill, tipped the waitress then left. Nobody ever mentioned that ALL of the bills apparently have pre paid gratuities on it. Oh well. I just know I won't go back there next trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Grand Cayman, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for visiting. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your visit, and it was especially disappointing to read your review as a Parrothead. It should be noted that the exchange rate for U.S. dollars to CI is approximately $1.25 which should have been communicated by your server. Another small note, is that the added gratuity is a practice undertaken by most businesses on the island. Again, we apologize for your less than extraordinary experience, and than you for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moutain Home
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wasting away....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place was just average. Service wasn't that great. Only thing we enjoyed a lot was the entertainment. Jose Rafael the comedy magic show was a lot of fun. Would recommend seeing this show. I feel this is a typical Margaritaville tourist trap but it is a must go even if only to stroll through & take pictures so you can say you've been there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Grand Cayman, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for visiting. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the entertainment offered at our location, and have noted your comments regarding the food and service offered during your visit. WE do our best to provide an extraordinary dining experience coupled with great service, and your comments make it apparent that we fell short in this regard. We have shared your comments with our team for review, and hoe that you give us another chance to provide youe with a much better experience. Thank you again for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Grand Cayman also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.