We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unlike Any Other Tour You Will Ever Take~” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Elements

Sea Elements
245 North Church Street, George Town KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
+1 345-936-8687
Website
Update attraction details
Book Now

Ranked #15 of 57 activities in George Town
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Sea Elements offers an exceptional opportunity for a unique adventure in Cayman's beautiful mangrove forests, Reefs, Stingray City and the very unique BioBay. During the Kayak and Mangrove trips you will learn about this saltwater forest while looking for unique birds, baby fish in the mangrove nursery and iguanas climbing among the tangled roots on our intimate boat tour. Suitable for all ages and families! Follow your guide among the tangled roots and over the seagrass meadows for a mangrove snorkel. Go slow and look for sea squirts, anemones and seahorses! The Stingray City and Reef snorkel tours are limited to small groups on our comfortable and spacious 35ft boat. We go at your pace. Private Charters available at an affordable price. The BioBay tour is a must see! One of only a handful of such bays around the world. We offer a once in a lifetime chance to snorkel in this bay and experience the bioluminescence up close. All tours offer FREE pick up and drop of in the 7MIle Beach area!
Hays, Kansas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Unlike Any Other Tour You Will Ever Take~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We took the Bio Bay evening tour to experience the bioluminescence that occurs here in 1 of only 12 Bays worldwide! They provide complimentary pick up in the Seven Mile Beach area and George Town. We boarded a large pontoon boat with and met our captain Danielle. She gave us a briefing of what we were going to see this evening, and then offered us complimentary island sangria. We took about a 15 boat ride to the North Sound of the island and entered "Bio Bay". She anchored the boat and then gave us a short biology lesson about what we were about to experience. We all put on masks and a snorkel and floated onto the warm evening water. What we experienced was breathtaking. The plankton in the water came alive in light whenever we moved our bodies. It looked like we were alive in light! Indeed we were all completely wrapped in the bright bioluminescence light of the bay. If you just lay there and float, you will see fish swimming by your mask that are lighted and even the trail of water behind their fins are lit as well. This trip was over the top amazing. Our captain Danielle was a library of information about what was happening and why. I spent some time quizzing her about what was going on, and she had almost every answer. I stumped her on one (how long was their lifecycle) and she came back to me 5 min later and said 5-7 days. Well....I almost got her. Anyway...this trip took us to a place that can only been seen a few other places in the world! Don't miss this fantastic evening trip to float and be seen alive with the bioluminescence wonder of this bay. You WILL NOT forget this one....I promise!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkblue4, Owner at Sea Elements, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We hope to meet you again someday and hopefully Danielle can answer some more of your great questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Kayaking the Mangroves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Sea Elements takes visitors, and local folks, on boat, snorkel, and kayak tours through the mangroves in North Sound, setting out from the west end of the island. I did the kayak tour and can certainly recommend doing it that way. The kayaks are stable sit-upon tandem versions (rather than the classical type) and they're really comfortable for those who aren't into the sport.

The kayaks move so easily across the water, they require only the gentlest of paddling so the 2 hour trip isn't grueling. It's hardly exercise:-)

Our guide, Danielle, pointed out and described everything so well the time passed too quickly. I could have stayed for much longer. Threading the kayaks through the mangrove roots and branches while watching the tree crabs, iguanas, and the birds above your head is a great way to spend some time on the island.

The trip is out on the water and, if it's in daytime, take sunscreen and bug repellant for when you're among the mangroves. Sea Elements also do evening and bio-luminescence tours (depending on the conditions) so call them to see what's on during your stay.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Mangrove Kayak and Bio Bay were both excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I took the mangrove kayak and bio bay tours with Cayman Sea Elements, and both were great. Danielle was our guide for both, and she's very knowledgeable and passionate about the flora and fauna of the area.

The kayaks were among the more comfortable we've used, and Danielle even brought cold water for us. The tour gave us a chance to see the three types of mangroves living on Grand Cayman (red, white, and black). We also saw a green heron, several green iguanas and little tree crabs. In the water near the mangrove roots, we spotted baby tarpon, baby barracuda, loads of tiny brown guppies and casseopeia jellyfish. Danielle also pointed out (and explained) pale anemones, fire sponges, blue sponges, mermaid's wine glass algae and sea grape algae. It was informative and fun!

The evening bio bay tour was great, too. Danielle and Captain Don took us across the North Sound to a bay where we were invited to get in the water and snorkel with dinoflaggellates. We'd done this in the USVI too, but they were far brighter and more concentrated on Grand Cayman. Everytime we moved, little speckles of light appeared around us in the water, like fairy dust, and the faster we went, the brighter it got. It was pretty amazing. When we got back on the boat to dry off, they even had sangria waiting for us.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“swimming in a bioluminescent sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We definitely wanted to check out the bio bay, but were unsure whether to kayak or take a boat out to swim in it. We are so glad we went with the second option. It is beyond amazing to snorkel in this water and see your body and every movement covered in glitter. This really felt like a once-in-a-lifetime experience. I can't imagine you would have the same experience in a kayak. You need to get in to really experience it. The water was wonderfully warm, and the only minor drawback is there are small jellyfish that can cause minor irritation if stung. Enjoy a couple of sangrias and have a magical time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, MI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Mangrove snorkel awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Sea Elements offers a 2 hours mangrove snorkel leaving out of the Cayman Yacht Club. This is a wonderful adventure! First, most places with mangroves also have alligators - but not in the Caymans - so you're not stuck on top the water and snorkeling is possible. The Sea Elements staff (guide Sharon and captain Don) were very knowledgable and very helpful. We saw tons of small fish, and gorgeous sponges and sea worms. We will definitely go on this tour again next year.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Elements also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Sea Elements? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Elements, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.