We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tour on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sotos Cruises

Sotos Cruises
120 Palm Heights Drive, George Town 30192, Grand Cayman
345-945-4576
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 58 activities in George Town
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Sotos Cruises has been in the watersports business for over 22 years. Offering twice daily snorkel trips to world famous Stingray City and the beautiful Coral Gardens. ONLY US$35 PER ADULT AND US$27 PER CHILD (under 11 yrs). Price includes the snorkel gear, water, fruit punch and round trip transportation at the hotels/condos on 7 Mile Beach AND at the cruiseship terminals in George Town. A trip to see the stingrays will certainly be the highlight of your visit. Our trained and experienced crew members always ensure great personalized attention. Our boat is very clean, well maintained and we carry all the safety equipment necessary. EXPERIENCE THIS GREAT TOUR WITH US !!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Waterford, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Tour on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My family took Soto Cruises to Stingray City. Well worth every penny we paid. The trip was two and a half hours with several stops to snorkel and see the fish. The captain gave a full sightseeing tour explaining all the fish and what kind they were. Went to Stingray City and explained all about the rays and helped us with our gear and showed us how to feed the rays. Even took photos of us that we could buy if we wanted. Explained some of the coral reefs to us and told us about the waters. Couldn't ask for a better cruise or nicer people. They are the best!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    6
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for a better day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was nice to be able to enjoy Stingray City and snorkeling with less than 20 people on board. As we looked around, we noticed there were several boats that were loaded with people coming off the cruise ships. We were thankful to have already booked Sotos and were able to enjoy this experience on a more personal level. The captain and his first mate were very helpful, informative, and humorous. They made sure they captured all of the hilarious expressions from swimming with the stingrays on our cameras. This made for an amazing trip!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very exciting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Grand Cayman. Wonderful, friendly place. We booked Soto tours for Stingray City and it was worth every dollar! Captain and his mate were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The rates were better than other tours we looked at and given that it was low season we were few on the boat. Both the captain and his mate were very helpful and reassured me. It was an awesome experience. Would certainly do it again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic excursion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We absolutely loved the team at Sotos Cruises. From the gal who picked us up in town, to the ship's crew, everyone was friendly and went above and beyond to welcome us and make our cruise enjoyable. This is a small outfit, limiting the boat to 28 people (we only had 15), so plenty of room and no crowding in the water. Alister (the captain), took us snorkeling first, then the 1st mate (sorry I can't remember his name), helped us find lobster and other neat things. He took pictures with our cameras, found huge starfish and was super nice. Each took extra time with the stingrays to ensure we had a great time with lots of pictures (that we didn't have to buy on a CD). We've been to Stingray City 3 times and this was by far our favorite excursion company. We'll certainly use them again. I almost hate put this review because I don't want them to be sold out the next time we go! Great job guys!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sotos Cruises Stingray City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Was just there July 2013. I found it on internet to try to stay away from the cruise ship excursions. It was a great choice! Lots of personal attention! Not crowded! They took pictures with our own cameras for us and they turned out great!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotos Cruises also viewed

 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Sotos Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sotos Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sotos Cruises to your Saves list