We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soto's Cruises

Soto's Cruises
George Town 30192, Grand Cayman
+1 345-945-4576
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sotos Cruises has been in the watersports business for over 22 years. Our trained and experienced crew members always ensure great personalized attention. Our boat is very clean, well maintained and we carry all the safety equipment necessary. EXPERIENCE THIS GREAT TOUR WITH US !!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

There are tons of tours that will take you Sting Ray City, but I doubt any are more personable than this tour. We were a small group of 12. The captain and first mate took plenty of pictures. They got in the pictures, and even orchestrated the shots. They truly went above and beyond just taking us to the attractions. Would definitely recommend using them if you want to visit Sting ray city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachBum4807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime at a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our Stingray City experience with Soto's Cruises was the highlight of our entire vacation! We were initially going to book an excursion through Carnival but based on reviews, I decided to book privately. I am so glad we did!! As we entered the port, there was an employee from Soto's awaiting our arrival. We took a short, air conditioned bus ride to the boat. The 2 guys from Soto's on the boat were fantastic! They were professional and very informative. We had about a 20 minute boat ride out to the sandbar. We went by several boats with 40+ people on them. Ours had only 12 which made this an even better experience. We got off of the boat with Soto's Captain and were able to touch and feed the rays. This was an experience of a lifetime and SO happy we did it! The other Soto's employee even took my waterproof camera and snapped several photos of us in the water. He got priceless photos of us with the rays that I'm sure they charge a lot for on other excursions. We then went snorkling for a bit--and again, they took photos of us with my camera. On the boat ride back, he jumped into the water and brought up the most beautiful starfish for us to hold and take photos with. I can not recommend this company enough--and for the price, you can't go wrong!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gailbundy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome experience, great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I would highly recommend this cruise. The crew is awesome! They helped us hold and feed the Stingrays and gave us tips and advice before we jumped in the water. They took many pictures using our camera of our family interacting with the Stingrays and gave us plenty of time. Then we went snorkeling in the crystal clear waters on the reef where they were making sure we were safe and secure and again gave us plenty of time. One of the crew dove down on the reef and brought up a beautiful starfish for us to hold and take pictures of. This was a great excursion with a personal touch and a fantastic price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gailbundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ash, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Even better than the cruise line tours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Soto's was the best decision wee made on our cruise! We met their bus right off the pier and they took us to their private boat and off we went! We saw and fed sting rays, we snorkelled, and the whole experience was phenomenal. Even more so because it was really well priced for everything we got to do. On the way back to the pier, we still had two hours before the boat was boarding so the tour guide told us exactly where to go for the beautiful beaches and even told us tips on how to get back to the pier at half the price. It was so personal and so flexible that it made our trip stress free and relaxing, as it should be.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stingray experience/snorkeling at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were referred to Soto Cruises by a family member who had gone on a stingray/snorkel tour before us. Soto Cruises is 100x's better than booking the on-ship excursions. The service and experience was personal because the group was pretty small. The boat is docked in a beautiful cove amidst some gorgeous homes was nice and the boat ride to Stingray City was alot of fun! The Soto's made our experience personal, educational, and without all the commercialism. The stingrays were friendly and amazing!

Booking was simple and less expensive than the cruise ship options - and not having to "pay before you play" was great! We highly recommend this family-owned and operated business and will definitely visit the stingrays with them again the next time we vacation in Grand Cayman!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lyarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soto's Cruises also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Soto's Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing