We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to eat after a dive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of My Bar

My Bar
390 South Church Street | Sunset House, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
+1 345-945-1383
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 86 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Indian, Seafood, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Just minutes from George Town, Grand Cayman, Seaharvest Restaurant and My Bar, located at Sunset House, are the essential Caribbean experience. My Bar is a huge open-sided, thatch-roofed cabana with the largest, and at times the liveliest, outdoor bar in Grand Cayman. This 'Best of Caribbean' award winner has been a favourite for tourists and locals for the past 50 years. Standing on the water's edge at Sunset House, it is, for many people, the location of treasured memories. Appealing to young and old it occupies a central place in the life of the Island. The Seaharvest Restaurant is only a few steps away from My Bar. It offers a spacious outdoor patio on the water's edge with amazing views of George Town harbour and Seven Mile Beach. Here you can dine and indulge, breathe the fresh evening air under the stars, listen to the waves and watch the sunset. The indoor air conditioned dining area is the perfect place for a relaxing meal, with a great view of the sunset and the Caribbean Sea. SeaHarvest restaurant offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Dinner reservations can include table choice. Selection must be made in advance. Guests of the famed Sunset House Dive Resort, where My Bar and SeaHarvest are located, do not need reservations.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good place to eat after a dive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Did a shore dive at Sunset House and had a good meal at My Bar after the dive. Good dive and good meal. Good choice of various type foods.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    51
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Skip the cocktails!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The setting is perfect, as described by all reviews, and we also found the Indian food quite good and authentic. But the cocktails, at least the Lime Daiquiri and the Mudslide could have been sold as ice cream to children: sweet, watery, frozen, no noticeable alcohol.
And all comes to the premium island prices, of course.
Would go again, for the food and mainly the atmosphere, but take a beer instead.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“My Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My bar is a very nice spot at Sunset House located right on the edge of the wall overlooking the ocean and shore diving area. We tried their grilled chicken sandwich, burger, fish tacos, shrimp stir fry, and garden salad. All were reasonably priced and as good as or better than you would get elsewhere on the island. The portions seemed a little more substantial than what you would usually expect and the food was always fresh and tasty.

My bar is a great place to sit in the evening, drinking a cold caybrew and watching the sunset over the ocean. It's all outdoors with the bar under a roof and tables on the deck with umbrellas over them. There's a nice breeze off the ocean so it was never uncomfortable on the deck.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed at Sunset House, so visited My Bar daily. Service was good, food was reliable, and the view terrific!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We just spent a week at Sunset House and ate often at My Bar. The view is terrific, go for dinner and watch the beautiful sunsets. The food was ok, the Chicken Caesar wrap was super! The prices were not too bad for Cayman. Service is very slow so plan on giving yourself plenty of time. Drinks are pricy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Bar also viewed

 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to My Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.