We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Tourist Cave Tour

Joe Tourist Cave Tour
Behind Hard Rock, George Town, Grand Cayman
345 525 2282
Improve this listing
Titusville, Florida, United States
1 review
“fantastic trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a great time with our friends Terry & Pattie from Pa. Joe always does a great tour. Especially enjoyed the caves by the water. Will certainly plan another tour when we return to the island. Joe is very knowledgeable about the island & surroundings.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    4
    0
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Joe tourist has all the local knowledge to provide an experience you could not have on your own. We all loved it!😎”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Great job
Saw parts of the island that were off the breaten path.
Joe provides the knowledge and colorful background
Terry

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun Way to See the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We met Gilbert (Joe Tourist) at our condo (Grand Caymanian) during the island attractions event. We spent the day with him later in the week. Met at hsi place sampled fresh Mango from the tree. Looked at local flowers and trees. then went out on the road. went snorkling at Bodden Beach. Say a good sized eagle ray in less than 6 feet of water. Had a snack at a local jerk food place and then went for a hike on the Nature Trail.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“best local trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I along with our best friends spent the day with Gilbert of Joe tourist tours. Being a culture and history buff he was great, pointing out the little things that most people pass by on their way to the "attractions" that the ships reccomend. We were treated to a local perspective and snorkled in a local bay, learned about the British influence and history, The local floura and fauna. We got to learn the culture from a real local and hear his point of view without the whitewash you normally get from scripted tourism. The lunch we were served was a mix of local food, turtle, mahi mahi, conch and good sides like rice and beans with steamed vegetables. The setting was a really nice roadside cafe with flare. The ending was a sunset and cave exploration of a private beach. Only concern there was accessability was a bit challenging for less agile folks and getting wet is the only option. All in all a great day....would do it again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I spent an afternoon with Gilbert Nicoletta touring the Eastern parts of Grand Cayman Island not so familiar to most visitors. The tour was great. We saw native plants and fruits, spotted rare (and not so rare) birds, walked the ancient Mistic Trail, and visited Boddentown, North Side, and East End. He had arranged a delicious special lunch so we could sample local foods. On the way back to Georgetown we stopped at the Blow Holes and Gilbert maneuvered us to the perfect photo spot. Bring a set of dry clothes and have fun! We then went to a very private beach to watch the stunning sunset while Gilbert told us stories of the Cayman Islands. There was even a bat cave there which must have been a pirate haven at some time. To really enjoy this trip, get to know Gilbert and feel his love for the island and its people.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Tourist Cave Tour also viewed

 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Joe Tourist Cave Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Tourist Cave Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.