We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn

Save Saved
You added Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   18 Pebbles Way | PO Box 482 GT, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 George Town B&B and Inns
Heggedal, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“OK for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

i chose Eldemire's mainly because it was the cheapest option I could find on the internet. Which doesn't say very much, since hotel prices in Grand Cayman are in general ridiculously high. I paid 90 USD per night, which was quite a bit lower than even the least expensive of the more traditional hotels or resorts wanted. As someone else pointed out, you are generally left alone once you have checked in. No one cleans the room, and although I often find the daily cleaning ritual of many hotels more of a bother than a help, 6 days without any sort of service, like having the garbage taken out, was a bit too much. The guests can use a large and well-equipped kitchen, which would probably be great for a family with children. I just made sandwiches and kept my drinks cold in the fridge. I traveled with a folding bike, and it took me just a few minutes to ride into George Town and less than 10 minutes to the Seven Mile Beach.. By foot it would probably take you 20-25 minutes to the center of town, and the closest supermarket is even further away. So I think staying here without a rental car (or bicycle) would probably not be convenient. But let me add that I was happy here. The room was small, but the air condition worked well and there was always hot water when I needed it. And the wifi internet is excellent. You need a password, but once you have entered that you're good until the day you leave. There is a very small pool with a couple of beach chairs. Nice enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
miami
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had a great 2 night stay at Eldemire's. Stayed here a couple of days before moving to Seven Mile Beach for a conference and this place was exactly what I was looking for.
Do not expect warm and cozy treatment, the only person I dealt with was pleasant enough, but I only saw her once at check-in and that was OK.
I got one of the apartments, the one in front of the pool, to myself and it was perfect... Wish I had brought my family! Perfectly clean, AC worked great, Clean bathroom, great kitchen, nice furniture and fun decor!
I second the comments about the roosters... but hey,,, if you can't handle a rooster then you really should stay home and live in a bubble.
I am glad I rented a car as this is an integral part of enjoying Cayman, even if you are staying at one of the resorts. Being such an expensive place, it pays to be able to go to a grocery store or to seek out inexpensive local eats.The car pays for itself very quickly.
Will be coming back without a doubt! Great value!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My sister, her 10 year old daughter and I had an absolutely marvelous vacation last month in Grand Cayman. We introduced little Lexa to the undersea world- snorkeled at Smith Cove (it was magical), swam with the Dolphins at Dolphin Cove, fed the Stingrays, watched sunset on the beach, and just had a fabulous, relaxing time. Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn is the perfect setting for those who want a local, cozy, quaint abode, and definitely not the Ritz Carlton prices. Tootie and Bob were wonderful hosts, and they make you feel right at home. We had a suite complete with a kitchen, so we could save money and prepare most of our meals. I would recommend walking 10 minutes to Smith Cove for snorkeling, and walking to Sunset House for lunch or dinner, especially at sunset. Eldemire's is for travelers on a budget who enjoy local ambiance. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma, washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Pretty basic- a converted home, but nice for the price. It's on a side street, which made it very quiet and like you're one of the locals, as opposed to a hotel or timeshare on the beach. It's only a nice short distance to town and the beach. We took our time and walked one day, a liesurely 20 minutes. We rented bikes for 2 days which is a great way to go- highly recommend it for an island this size. Proprietors not around much, which is o.k. Feels like you have the place to yourself. Kitchen, sitting room, outdoor pool- great place for several days if you like it peaceful. I would definitely go back again. In town we enjoyed the sunset cruise. The "Pirate Ship" cruise looked funner but was so packed I don't know how anyone could move around compared to the "ferry type" craft. Beware of Margaritaville- not worth it. Nice location and view, but the prices are in British Pounds!!! Not US dollars or Cayman dollars, like every other establishment. Burger and margarita for 2 people showed up as $93.00US on my credit card. Ouch!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012 via mobile

We had a day and a night to spend in Grand Cayman en route from Honduras to Jamaica. Grand Cayman is expensive and full of ghastly all-inclusives. Eldemires is so different from all that, intimate and friendly. It is a few minutes walk from the sea and 5 minutes from Sunset House, an excellent seaside bar and resultant.

Tootie the owner is really friendly and helpful and is part of the charm of the place. Our $146 room was well priced by Caymanian standards, was of a good size and immaculately clean

Eldemires sets a very high standard

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed here April 15th-22nd in unit 1 which is called the large studio suite, which had a living room, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. The bed was comfortable, and the place was clean, no bugs (as one other review stated) and the roosters are everywhere in Cayman..so if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. The air conditioner was more than effective, one in the living room and one in the bedroom. There was a bbq on the patio and the pool was nice but great for a cool off. If you are a diver you don't want to be in a pool probably for any other reason than to cool off, as the ocean is where it's at. The only thing is it is a bit out of town, and taxis are pretty expensive on Cayman, you are best to rent a car (pretty cheap if you have insurance through your credit card). Had a wonderful time here!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

We had a LOVELY stay at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn. It has local Caymanian charm, located off the beaten path, a ten- minute walk from Smith Cove, my favorite snorkeling and sunning site. I would recommend it to anyone who wants local flavor. The people who criticized Eldemire's probably are looking for expensive, fancy-dancy Ritz Carlton amenities. Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn is small and quaint, not huge and expensive. There is personal service by Tootie and Bob, not a huge staff of workers. I would recommend walking a few blocks to Sunset House for diving, lunch, dinner and Cathy Church's Underwater Photography Studio. I'd also recommend walking 10 minutes to Smith Cove for snorkeling and sunning. We had a fabulous time, and will return during the winter months to enjoy the warmth and quaintness of Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn

Address: 18 Pebbles Way | PO Box 482 GT, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What words describe Eldemire's best? Friendly, Informal, Simple, Charming, Affordable, Peaceful. Our simple little "Bohemian style" vibrant guest house, offers an ambiance of informality and friendliness, and is perfect for "free-spirited" travelers who just want a clean, simple down to earth tropical place to spend their vacation at.In the 37 years of being in the visitor sector, we can truthfully say that most of our guests are those who just like a charming and simple alternative to the bigger, busier, expensive hotels. Instead they would rather spend their vacation dollars on enjoying our beautiful beaches, diving, snorkeling, good restaurants, varied excursions, etc. And a rent a car,than spending a lot of money staying in a big hotel. In 1977, Tootie's Caymanian parents, opened up rooms in their large home (now known as Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn) to visitors coming to Grand Cayman for vacation, or to conduct business. Then in 2000, Tootie and her family took over the business and made a lot of changes which included colorful decor and brightly painted walls, furnishings, etc. Then a pool and large deck were built and lush tropical vegetation and colorful tropical plants and banana trees were placed all around the pool. So when you sit back and relax by the pool you, you get that authentic tropical feel.Our location is on the west coast of the island, across the road from the ocean, and ten minutes drive from Owen Roberts Airport and famous 7 Mile Beach. Within a short walk is a beautiful white sand cove, 2 fabulous oceanfront restaurants, a fitness center, 3 Dive centers, Cathy Church Underwater Photo Center, and Georgetown with lots of shops, restaurants, the Museum, and Duty Free shopping. Our property has 4 private 2nd level rooms with private bathrooms, and a large shared kitchen and relaxing lounge downstairs. The 2 comfortable self-contained one bedroom suites have their own private kitchens, lounges and garden entrances. Our amenities? All rooms and suites are air-conditioned, have private bathrooms, complimentary tea and coffee, Cable TV, FREE WIFI and free on-site parking with security lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldemire`s Tropical Island Hotel George Town
Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.