We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Really underwater!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Submarines

Atlantis Submarines
30 South Church Street, George Town, Grand Cayman
345-949-7700
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #25 of 60 Activities in George Town
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Atlantis Submarines Cayman provides entertaining underwater tours for all ages.Our Atlantis Submarine dives to 100 feet, while our Seaworld Observatory operates on the surface only.Guests must be 4 years old and 3 feet tall to take the submarine excursion, but all ages are welcome on the Seaworld Observatory
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Central New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wow! Really underwater!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

By boat you are taken to where the submarine has surfaced. The people from the previous trip and you switch places. The hatches are closed as you go down to depth of 100+ feet along the reef of the island seeing all sorts of life under the sea. Everyone has a window to see out of and the crew narrates what you are looking at. 28 people fit in the sub sitting back to back in a row of seats down the middle. We did the day ride and then 2 days later the night ride where you see predators in action. Although pricey, it is something you should do at least once in your life. If you are claustrophobic, stay with the glass bottom boats.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    63
    20
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Took two tours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Took the submarine night dive... was unique was bit dissapointed with so less fish... Experience made up with a glass bottom boat (its more like a submarine style room with glass windows) during the day time. Do both the day and night dive if budget is not an issue. Else the glass bottom boat may just be enough! Staff was awesome and funny!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Atlantis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Incredible experience on true submarine in the amazing sea around cayman....memorable
Not for claustrophobic people

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st pete beach, fl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding, Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were on a Carnival Cruise with out 13YO grandson in August, and decided to book the Atlantis Submarine on our own at a huge savings. There location is no more than a five minute walk from the dock.

This is our second time on the sub for my husband and me. First was in Cozumel. The team in the Grand Cayman was wonderful. Johnny, our guide was in the US Navy on Submarines. He was extremely knowledgeable.

We went down 114 feet along the wall. We saw turtles, lobsters, all sorts of beautiful fish, barracuda, and loads of sponge.

We would highly recommend this trip -

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Night Dive was Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Colorful and pretty and memorable. Glad we did it. 100 ft down. exciting and safe and fun. I saw brilliant coral, fish, lobster. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and funny.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantis Submarines also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Atlantis Submarines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Submarines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.