We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for kids, but a waste for adults” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Submarines

Atlantis Submarines
30 South Church Street, George Town, Grand Cayman
345-949-7700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 58 activities in George Town
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Atlantis Submarines Cayman provides entertaining underwater tours for all ages.Our Atlantis Submarine dives to 100 feet, while our Seaworld Observatory operates on the surface only.Guests must be 4 years old and 3 feet tall to take the submarine excursion, but all ages are welcome on the Seaworld Observatory
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
houston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good for kids, but a waste for adults”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We went on five excursions during our week in Cayman and this was the only one that we did not like. We were able to see better during scuba and snuba outings. Our sub was not even half filled so they wanted you to climb across the long bench as the sites moved from side to side. I am mid-30s, and even I was not in the mood to crawl across the the bumpy seats as they wanted. That was somewhat annoying, but the worst was that I was at the very back of the sub and got to listen to the "2nd officer" chat on a personal conversation throughout the trip. I could barely hear what was being said over the speakers. The laughing and talking made me regret spending 198 for 2 of us. If you decide to go on this- avoid the back of the boat. If you can snuba or scuba - both cheaper and better sights.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    60
    17
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Stream, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great view of the reef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were lucky on our trip, as we only had 17 people on board. This meant that there was no need to cruise both side of the sub, so we got an extended reef tour. We got to see lots of local sea life as well as enjoying the reef itself. The trip took us down to a little over 100 feet which was really neat. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to see the sea life.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“For those who don't scuba dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I don't scuba dive. In order for us to see a coral reef this voyage became a must. A wide variety of fish and coral are on display and if you are lucky you might see a ray and a sea turtle. The water is crystal clear and the colours exhibited are wonderful.
Viewings cannot be guaranteed, of course. Our guide was excellent and had a great sense of humour. Remember, there are no toilet facilities either on the launch that takes you to the submarine or on the submarine itself.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Well done although the humor of the staff was tired and lame. Would have been much better experience with more information or some newer material. The submarine is comfortable and well maintained. I felt safe the entire cruise. Good visibility and many things to see.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great time! Must do!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We went on our own at Georgetown and this was my first time to Grand Cayman. Was a little disappointed with the island, but the Atlantis submarine excursion was a pleasant surprise.

The crew were all very friendly and seemed to know their stuff. They have an impeccable safety record according to them as well. The trip was about an hour long and we got down to over 100ft deep. I would highly recommend giving them a try, especially if you or someone in your party has never been.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantis Submarines also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Atlantis Submarines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Submarines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Atlantis Submarines to your Saves list