We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value! Clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunset House to your Saves list
Sunset House
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   390 South Church Street | PO Box 479, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Best Price
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Whiteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good Value! Clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here May 2nd thru the 9th. 1St floor, oceanfront. Didnt spend alot of time in the room. Was too busy looking for rental properties for I am moving down there. Maid was nice. Room was cleaned everyday. For the price, u couldnt beat it! I didnt scuba dive so, I cant comment on that. You really need to rent a car or jeep for you are pretty far away from everything.I went with a jeep at Avias. And, If you walk into Georgetown, be careful! Low shoulder! The bar was ok. Decent prices. The food at Sea Harvest was so-so. Especially breakfast. Limited options. No beach to lay out. Too rocky. I went into Seven mile beach, to swim and enjoy the beach. Went to Royal Palms which was really nice. They have a pool and a swim-up bar. And, Calico Jacks which was more crowded due to the cruise ships. Overall, I liked Sunset House. For the value.

Room Tip: Oceanfront! They've been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks Southern Belle,
We hoped you and Doc found a place here close to us, because once you get settled in, you make sure you come back and learn how to dive here with us! THEN, you will really appreciate not having any sand does for Scuba Diving and Snorkelling here at Sunset House!

Look forward to seeing you around the island. Get back with me when you get settled.. Might need a new internest down here sometime! LOL!

All the best with the move!

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    97
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
49
91
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grovetown, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Sunset House is a gem. Four dive girls from the south and we were a crazy handful. Let me start at the beginning:

BOOKING: Flawless. Ask for Kim, she is wonderful. We emailed and got an immediate response. We were able to book separately and I know that can be a pain. Kim included a plethora of GC information in her replies and answered all questions, from ‘is there a hair dryer?’ To ‘where is the closest store?’

ROOMS: because Kim knew we all wanted to stay in the same room she booked us in Rm 410 on the ground floor. The room was HUGE, clean, with a Full size fridge, a microwave, a safe, a dining table and 4 chairs, a large comfortable sofa, a nice flat screen, access to the outside grass area with picnic tables, lounge chairs and a spectacular view of the water! The bathroom was large with a dual shower that could fit a rugby team (don’t ask).

RESORT: I was expecting it to be older than it was. The hotel has beautiful grounds, rooms have been upgraded, Free Wi Fi works in rooms, MY Bar is a great relaxing place that we spent most of the evenings with crew, locals and other guests. Food was good and drinks were fantastic...ask for Eric. The pool is small but we were diving so a big pool did not matter. Morning Breakfast was perfect, with several choices. John was a super waiter with lots of interesting information to help us navigate the town. The Cathie Church Photography studio was amazing and with our package we all got one free 8x10 photo! Keith, the manager has a relaxed professional style that shows in every aspect of this hotel. He was always available for questions and always over shadowed by his firstmate Murphy!

DIVING: As stated in ALL the magazines…It’s absolutely beautiful! Clear 100ft+ visibility, healthy coral, turtles, eels, rays (yes Sting Ray City dive is Sooooo worth it), wrecks, etc. The water temp is a little on the chilly side, so a 3 mil is the best. The Ocean pool is so easy to enter and exit. Our shore dive was great…the mermaid is a must see.

DIVE OPERATION: Book the package that includes daily breakfast…worth it. There is easy access to the 3 dive boats. Lockers are provided for gear with a freshwater rinse tank and shower located close. The ratio was max of 8 divers per guide, usually less. Boats are easy ladder access and tanks are changed out for you between dives. Safety is a BIG DEAL and emergency procedures are repeated each trip. Dive masters are very knowledgeable of each site, which is amazing because there are 365 possible dive sites in GC! Some shallow dives are un-guided but the explanation of how to navigate each reef is quite clear.

DIVE CREW: What a great group! From the day we walked up to the Dive shop, to the day we got on the boat, to the day we left, there was a smile on our faces. Professional, witty, helpful, proficient, and accommodating, can briefly describe these Dive Masters.

GC (Grand Cayman): The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from town, but 7 mile beach is too far to walk. GC is expensive, taxis, food, drinks, gifts, etc. The road has little to no walking space so be careful. Every single person we met was beyond friendly, helpful and courteous. The Warf was great but $$$, Calacojacks on 7 mile was a fun barefoot type beach bar. The Office is an amazing karaoke place.

TIPS: When you get in the taxi from the airport ask the driver to stop by the Grocery store and stock up. Rent Bikes ($13 a day) or a car. Taxi’s are pricey and not the happiest people so you may want to avoid them. If the Cruise Ships are NOT in, the shops are shut down, and Shops/grocery stores are closed on Sunday as well.

Overall it was a super week of diving, making new friends and relaxing. I would highly recommend Sunset House!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks Avery for the kind words and you all were just the best! Glad to hear at least two of you have already made plans to come back soon!

Just wanted to let folks know that your spacious junior suite was actually 404 and NOT room 410. (maybe that is where the rugby team came into play?) ":O)

There is one other additional junior suite above 404 in room 415. There are only two on the property, so solidify these rooms quick as Avery and her friends did!

BTW, Murphy still heads up to your room to see if you 4 are there! He misses you, too!

Thanks again! BTW, all the staff said to tell "Team White Teeth" HI!!!

Warm regards,

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you are looking for a great dive vacation then look no further than Sunset House and Sunset Divers. This was my 5th trip to Grand Cayman and Sunset House. The atmosphere and diving is fantastic. Whether you want boat diving or shore diving they have it all. The staff is very friendly and there is a lot to do for the non diver. The open air bar is spectacular and the resort is within walking distance to Georgetown. The rooms are very nice and everything is within a short walk. The buildings are only 2 stories so no large hi rise here and waiting on elevators. Grand Cayman and Sunset House will provide you a great vacation in the sun.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice but the ocean view rooms provide spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

A nice atmosphere is this seafront hotel, with rooms scattered around open various walkways and courtyards. No floor upon floor of anonymous hotel corridors here. Every room is a quick walk to the superb seafront open air bar. Why superb? Draft beer; slick friendly staff; cool fans under the roof; great food, including specials, from the restaurant. 15 hours after leaving Scotland I was looking out at the Caribbean, dining on extra tender med-rare prime rib with a glass of dark Ironshore beer in my hand. The reception staff, very helpful, good fun to deal with; the rooms, good size, and relaxing too. And they pick up the tab for airport transfers. Good on them.
And don't forget the diving, the Dive Shop is on-site, and you can shore dive from the hotel.

Room Tip: I liked the 200s and 300s, easy walk from reception and down to the seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Sunset House twice. Except for the fact that we like to try different locations, we would go to Sunset House every year. It's all about the diving. This is not a luxury hotel and we don't want one. Laid back atmosphere. The staff makes every effort to help out. There was a room mix up on our first visit, probably caused by the fact that we arrived way late. It was straightened out the next day and an apology was made with a nice bottle of wine chilled, Kim had sent to our room. This year, we discovered that the AC was making the tile floor slippery from condensation. The AC was torn out and replaced which meant literally taking out part of a wall. They did it when we were out. No worries. One caution; If you are an older diver, the tile floors are as slippery as ice when they get wet and they will when you come back from a dive.

We stayed in one of the apartments. I'm claustrophobic and need space. We had a kitchen and made ourselves lunches and a couple dinners. One complaint we have is that the rooms are very spartan. No attempt whatsoever to decorate. Bare walls. But as soon as you step out onto the balcony and enjoy the view, the room becomes a non-issue.

It is the dive shop where Sunset House really shines. Excellent staff, great new equipment, and wonderful dives. Gear is set up for divers for both dives. Very safety conscious and willing to accomodate the wishes of each diver.

My Bar is where we ended up each evening. Fun place.And the sunsets are amazing.

Take note; Grand Cayman itself is hugely expensive. It is constantly overrun with touristas coming off the never ending cruise ship arrivals. So George Town is not a big attraction for us. Sunset House is about a mile from town. One last thing; everything shuts down on Sunday.

Room Tip: apartments are great for a small family. lots of space and a kitchen. I understand that some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing vacation spot...this is the place! Whether you are a diver or not(as we are not) this is the place to stay. The atmosphere is wonderful. Watching the divers go out in the morning or the cruise ships come in. The sunset at night is breathtakingly beautiful and the staff are so kind. The food at My Bar is delicious and the locals at night playing dominoes gives you the feel of the island. Hands down, the best place to say!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was the best place in all of Cayman. It had the most relaxing atmosphere. You can just relax and eat or have a drink and have a great view. The memories of the mahi mahi, they called it dolphin, were wonderful. I loved some of the indian influence with the food. the curry lamb with rice is unforgettable! Great Great food! Easy location. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Address: 390 South Church Street | PO Box 479, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset House 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I've have found the beginning of why so many people love Sunset House, Grand Cayman's Hotel for Divers, by Divers. "Stepping out of my room, feeling the sunshine on my face, catching that breath of fragrant tropical breeze, gazing into the alluring blue water..". More profound words were never spoken! This family owned resort is more of a big guest house, than a hotel. Everything you have dreamed for a Caribbean Dive Vacation is here! From palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to a famous underwater photographer; from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 50 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.