We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset House
Save Saved
You added Sunset House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   390 South Church Street | PO Box 479, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Direct Bookings Only
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in George Town
A TripAdvisor Member
“short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were given a room next to the dive shop ( noone asked if we were divers) the result was being woken up at 7am ! Also they started to power spray the bar area at 7.20am! So we didnt get a holiday lie in. Also one moring the hot water didnt come on. I mentioned these issues on check out and there was sympathy but little else.This wouldnt dissuade me from staying there in future.,just make sure you ask what room you are being given

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear EasytoBook.com traveller,

Thank you for your comments and we are very happy that our "misgivings" will not deter you from coming and seeing us again.
One of the problems we have with OTA's such as your Expedia booking is we have no dialogue with our guests prior to your arrival. I wished you would have let us know about not diving or wanting to move rooms during your stay (or immediately for that matter) and we would have been more than happy to move you farther away from the "action".

And yes, no one realised the lack of hot water that morning that my wife and I who live right there across from where you stayed! Unfortunately, we had a guest who thought was being conscious and thought they were closing a water valve, when indeed they shut the gas valve to the hot water heater! We have not tagged the valve and we had hot water within an hour that morning as our hot water heaters are propane instant supply units.

If you choose the same method of booking, please drop us a line next time and let us know your preferences. We want everyone that stays here to be happy! (and get the sleep they want!)

Warm regards and hope you had a safe return home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    90
    34
    14
    4
See reviews for
46
85
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaylord, MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Sunset House was recommended to us from a couple we met on a dive trip in the Fl Keys, so we decided to check it out. Great operation !! We had 16 great dives on the Sunset Divers boats. Crew were excellent and took us to fantastic different dive sites each day. The Staff at the hotel and dinning areas were great: very friendly and wanted to make sure we were satisfied. We spent a little extra for an ocean front room and loved just seating outside in the off time relaxing and soaking up the view. The food was fantastic. We were very impressed with the dives, food and great staff. There is not one thing negative I can say about Sunset House or Sunset Divers. We did not use the pool because we had the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Simmon53,

This note is from Murphy... "Please come back... I miss you when I come to your door!" We hope you had a safe trip home and didn't have to shovel too much snow! It was great having you here at Sunset House and look forward to seeing you next March!

Warm regards,
Keith, Karin and Murphy..

PS.. No need to bring more dog treats! ":O)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

My family and I came here this past week for our first visit to the Cayman Islands. The Sunset House is in a good location for divers...lockers, shore diving, etc., but only stay here if you're willing to trade good diving for poor service. We have been to several diving resorts around the world and not once have we seen such poor service.

Some of the dive staff is very rude. The short guy from Wales and the bald guy (Roger) make you feel stupid every chance they get. They aren't excited about their job, and often fly through their work...which is a bit sketchy since we often dive down to 100 feet. The rooms are ok. Nothing special, but they do the job. Also, future divers, TAKE NOTE...DO NOT PAY for the Kittiwake dive (an extra $65 a person) because they take you on that dive during one of your 2 free dives a day. We confronted them about this situation, asking if we could be reimbursed since they took us on that dive the very next day (keep in mind, they didn't tell us where we were going until we were already at the dive site). Mr. Keith, the manager, denied us the reimbursement, and lacked a coherent argument for doing so.

The entire experience wasn't bad though. Do shore diving and visit the mermaid! Lots of pretty sea creatures and coral right off shore. My Bar has pretty decent food too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
First of all, I want to say to the public that reads this, I dislike writing responses as this, as we do value every customer we have, but sometimes facts need to be set straight. During my conversation with Ms. Tippydives, she did not want to listen, demanded money back and threatened this email on Trip Advisor; so as I told her, we’ll tell our side of the story.

Dear Ms. Tippydives

We are pleased that you found the shore diving, restaurant, bar and accommodations enjoyable and it is a shame that you let one "non-factual" issue ruin your experience and become the focus of penning your thoughts on Trip Advisor.

There are several packages that you can buy at Sunset House and there are special packages for “groups” of dive retailers, which have different booking policies, different pricing and different perks.

The Tippydive family went out on our regularly scheduled Kittiwake dive in the afternoon with all our other guests for that day and charged US$65.00, inclusive of the medallion. Everything was fine!

Where the problem arose with Ms. Tippydive is that (due to boat manifests, scheduling and number of guests going out), her family was put on the same boat with a wonderful group from Utah, that did indeed have the Kittiwake as part of their package as one of their morning two tank trips. Knowing that the Tippydives family had previously went on the Kittiwake, we asked the group leader prior to going out, if we could do their Kittiwake dive as the “first “dive, so we could guide the Tippydive family to the Sand Chute Wall Dive Site; which they agreed to do.

We also gave the option to go to a completely different dive site for that dive, after we pulled up to the mooring, but as Ms. Tippydives told me “they did not want the group to miss out of the Kittiwake.”

Ms Tippydive's argument is that they should not have to pay for any trips to the Kittiwake, because someone else got to go as part of their two tank morning trip, NOT KNOWING any facts of the different package or pricing. PLEASE DO NOT GO ON THIS PERSON’S ADVICE. Please understand what your package includes or does not include.

As far as our staff… We take your safety and the safety of others very important. Hookah regulators that we have hanging on the back of the boat are not to be used as a rope to hold on to, but for the rare “low on air” situations someone may need to get to. Being informed is not being rude. Rope and buoys are on the surface for you to use to hold on to.

If anyone has any question, please feel free to contact me here at the hotel at keith.sahm@sunsethouse.com. Trip Advisor is a wonderful tool to share information on ours or any other establishment. Good or bad! But it needs to be factual and not a misrepresentation of facts or truths.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was my second visit to Sunset House -- same week, two years earlier -- Presidents' Week up here. This time my husband and I traveled with another couple. Last time I went solo. It had been a perfect trip for a solo vacation. Felt completely safe all the time. I would walk into town in the afternoons and walk back before dark. This time I saw more of the island! But I could have happily stayed right at the hotel all week. The food is great -- if you order the local choices. The diving was wonderful (except for one pretty hairy, strong current dive). The natural swimming pool was delightful. Cathy Church was gracious and friendly, and we got two 8x10 prints, booking through Caradonna (ask for Doris!). I'd definitely go back. It's also a really easy flight.

I took away from the best rating only because the place really could use a little sprucing up, though as dive hotels go it's luxurious. Also, breakfasts are pretty dreary and boring (though the staff is wonderful). But it's a great value for the money. Very, very different from 7-Mile Beach!

Room Tip: I've heard that some rooms have been renovated, but I haven't seen them. The ocean view roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi JSL! It was great to see you again!

We agree, the ocean view rooms for a few dollars more are an amazing upgrade. Although, we are renovating the more economical courtyard rooms as we speak with wooden blinds, ceiling fans, freshen up the paint and redoing the bathroom vanities.

One way of the other when you come back, you will see the difference!

All the Sunset House Dive and Non Dive packages include the following.All our dive packages include the following:

Air Conditioned accommodations w/Digital Cable TV & Telephone
Breakfast
Daily two-tank boat trips, except day of arrival and departure
Tanks for shore diving are complimentary on those days that boat diving is paid for
Tanks, weights and belt
Complimentary dive gear locker
A Welcome Alcoholic or Non-Alcoholic Beverage of your choice
Presently a 8 x 10 photo from Cathy Church's Gallery located directly across from the front desk.
Taxi transfers from and to the airport
All Tax and Service Charges
(just a note for clarification, room only packages do not include the above mentioned) If you are unsure, email us or contact us direct toll free on the 800 number above!)

See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bush, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Sunset House is exactly what is advertised, a great dive hotel with good food and a terrific staff. We stayed in and I highly recommend, a first floor ocean front room, which includes a small fridge and microwave. The food and drink prices on Grand Cayman are very high, so we went to a local grocery store on our first day. We ate snacks and lunch on the picnic tables in front of our rooms, this not only saved money but was very convenient. We had bad weather the week we stayed, so we were taken via vans to a dock on the South Shore to go for our boat dives. The staff did everything in their power to open the shore diving when they could and to help us have a wonderful dive vacation. My Bar has incredible sunset views, good food and resonable prices. We enjoyed our trip so much that we plan on returning.

Room Tip: The first floor ocean front rooms have wonderful views and are convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Arlington, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our family just returned from a wonderful trip to Sunset House in Grand Cayman. We have previously stayed there and would not think of staying anywhere else. Sunset House is well run and has been in business for over 50 years. Making the reservations was easy and I got prompt replies to any questions that I had. Our room was very nice with an unbeatable view of the ocean. The dive shop operation is run very professionally. Their boats have a great setup for diving and the dive staff is top notch. The dive lockers for your gear is a nice touch. We had a chance to dive in the South Sound one day and really liked the huge coral formations and the abundant sea life. The restaurant has to be the best on the island. There is no reason to eat anywhere else. The food is superb and the staff takes good care of everyone. Their nightly specials are not to be missed. The outdoor bar, My Bar, is a favorite for both the local professionals and the island dive crowd. We prefer to eat at the bar so we can enjoy the great view and talk to other patrons. The worst part of the trip is climbing into the taxi to go to airport.

Room Tip: The Ocien View rooms are the farthest from the bar if you are looking for a really quite place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is very honest and provides exactly what it says on the website. Its a hotel run by divers for divers, and is very well set-up in this respect. It has good organisation with individual lockers for gear, excellent dive centre, boats and organisation, as well as really nice staff and boat crew. I fund the diving fairly average ... sorry if there are Cayman diving fans out there, the visibility is good and water warm but the diving really isn't world class. The rest of the hotel is fair: it doesn't charge for wifi which is always appreciated, the rooms were reasonably basic but clean and everything worked. Despite a breakfast lacking in imagination I would stay here again. Friendly staff, efficiently run, close to Georgetown and nice and quiet when you need to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Address: 390 South Church Street | PO Box 479, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I've have found the beginning of why so many people love Sunset House, Grand Cayman's Hotel for Divers, by Divers. "Stepping out of my room, feeling the sunshine on my face, catching that breath of fragrant tropical breeze, gazing into the alluring blue water..". More profound words were never spoken! This family owned resort is more of a big guest house, than a hotel. Everything you have dreamed for a Caribbean Dive Vacation is here! From palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to a famous underwater photographer; from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 50 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.