We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Dive Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset House
Save Saved
You added Sunset House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   390 South Church Street | PO Box 479, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Direct Bookings Only
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in George Town
Pine Bush, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Great Dive Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Sunset House is exactly what is advertised, a great dive hotel with good food and a terrific staff. We stayed in and I highly recommend, a first floor ocean front room, which includes a small fridge and microwave. The food and drink prices on Grand Cayman are very high, so we went to a local grocery store on our first day. We ate snacks and lunch on the picnic tables in front of our rooms, this not only saved money but was very convenient. We had bad weather the week we stayed, so we were taken via vans to a dock on the South Shore to go for our boat dives. The staff did everything in their power to open the shore diving when they could and to help us have a wonderful dive vacation. My Bar has incredible sunset views, good food and resonable prices. We enjoyed our trip so much that we plan on returning.

Room Tip: The first floor ocean front rooms have wonderful views and are convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    91
    34
    13
    4
See reviews for
48
85
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Arlington, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our family just returned from a wonderful trip to Sunset House in Grand Cayman. We have previously stayed there and would not think of staying anywhere else. Sunset House is well run and has been in business for over 50 years. Making the reservations was easy and I got prompt replies to any questions that I had. Our room was very nice with an unbeatable view of the ocean. The dive shop operation is run very professionally. Their boats have a great setup for diving and the dive staff is top notch. The dive lockers for your gear is a nice touch. We had a chance to dive in the South Sound one day and really liked the huge coral formations and the abundant sea life. The restaurant has to be the best on the island. There is no reason to eat anywhere else. The food is superb and the staff takes good care of everyone. Their nightly specials are not to be missed. The outdoor bar, My Bar, is a favorite for both the local professionals and the island dive crowd. We prefer to eat at the bar so we can enjoy the great view and talk to other patrons. The worst part of the trip is climbing into the taxi to go to airport.

Room Tip: The Ocien View rooms are the farthest from the bar if you are looking for a really quite place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is very honest and provides exactly what it says on the website. Its a hotel run by divers for divers, and is very well set-up in this respect. It has good organisation with individual lockers for gear, excellent dive centre, boats and organisation, as well as really nice staff and boat crew. I fund the diving fairly average ... sorry if there are Cayman diving fans out there, the visibility is good and water warm but the diving really isn't world class. The rest of the hotel is fair: it doesn't charge for wifi which is always appreciated, the rooms were reasonably basic but clean and everything worked. Despite a breakfast lacking in imagination I would stay here again. Friendly staff, efficiently run, close to Georgetown and nice and quiet when you need to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Have had many meals here. The curry is great. On the water at sunset with delicious drinks. Get here early or your seat selection is reduced or you will have to wait a while. Comments on the taste of the food is always positive.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I just returned from 5 weeks on Grand Cayman. After sampling lots of restaurants, the Sunset House was our hands-down favorite for dinner, especially at (naturally) sunset! The bacon-wrapped shrimp was fantastic, BIG shrimp wrapped in crisp bacon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks Cheri! We think the food here is pretty amazing, too. Especially for the price here on Grand Cayman. For more information on the SeaHarvest Restaurant, or My Bar (which the same menu applies to both locations) go to http://www.sunsethouse.com/sea_res.php. Here you will find not only the hours, but up to date menus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A mix of good and not so good.

Good:
-food serving and housekeeping staff. Excellent.
-nice view from ocean front rooms.
-food - especially the Indian food.
-dive team of: Pete, Simon, Fraser, Lori, Rhys, Aaron, Fraser, Benji.
-front desker Karin.

Not so good:
-drinks expensive and very weak.
-front desker Gean was surly when I asked to settle my account. Insisted it couldn't be done at that particular time of day even though another front desker had settled my friend's account even earlier that day.
-some dive staffers lack people skills.

I paid more than $2000 for a week here. The diving was so-so. The experience a mixed bag. A few staffers could do with a refresher on how to treat customers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I liked this dive site. They have super easy shore diving, with a sea pool for entry into the water. It is very easy to navigate as well. You can choose to explore the ship wreck (not my favorite part personally) or there's plenty of coral and fish beyond that. You can also stay closer to the shore and there's tons to explore with out swimming very far out. We even saw a good size shark (nurse shark I believe), turtles, sting rays and lots of great fish too! Rent a tank and jump on in! After you're done there's a little restarant where you rest and get some grub while waiting out your surface interval.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Address: 390 South Church Street | PO Box 479, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I've have found the beginning of why so many people love Sunset House, Grand Cayman's Hotel for Divers, by Divers. "Stepping out of my room, feeling the sunshine on my face, catching that breath of fragrant tropical breeze, gazing into the alluring blue water..". More profound words were never spoken! This family owned resort is more of a big guest house, than a hotel. Everything you have dreamed for a Caribbean Dive Vacation is here! From palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to a famous underwater photographer; from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 50 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.