We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Cayman Golf” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Golf Course

Britannia Golf Course
Next to Hyatt Regency | West Bay, George Town, Grand Cayman
345-949-8020
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 19 Attractions in George Town
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located at the Hyatt Regency Grand Cayman, this unusual course features the “short” ball developed by golf great Jack Nicklaus.
Holland, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
“Typical Cayman Golf”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Golf in Grand Cayman leaves a little to be desired -- this place was no exception. I was surprised at the high fees and relatively low level of service. You expect that on parts of the island, but for some reason, I wasn't expecting that at a golf course. It took way too long to check in - people capable of checking us in didn't even show up at the published opening time, and seemed in no hurry at all to get us on the course. We saw the drink cart exactly once during our round. At the end of our round, we just parked our cart and left our rented clubs on board, as there was no one there to check us out and see us off. Strange.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average Course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We played the course March '13. It is only a 9 hole course, where if you wanted to play 18 you replay the 9 but at different tee's. The course is in decent shape, but the greens are in desperate need of some watering. I recall on a few holes where 1/2 the green was in excellent shape, but the other 1/2 was near dead to the dirt. They do not serve alcohol until 9am just an FYI.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Want to play a fun course?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Britannia golf course has good pedigree, designed by Jack Nicklaus, but the years have not been kind. It's still fun to play, but the greens need to be rebuilt asap. Good value, great iguanas, fun place to break fast. Good news soon we hope.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“Overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Some nice holes, greens were awful. The attendant in pro shop tried a flim flam on the US$ to Cayman$ exchange. Cart boys were great. Play moved good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

An interesting design for a double tee nine. Greens were not great but staff was attentive and we had a great day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia Golf Course also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Britannia Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.