We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good introduction to the islands” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cayman Islands National Museum

Cayman Islands National Museum
Harbour Dr., George Town, Grand Cayman
345-949-8368
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Cayman Islands National Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$37*
and up
Cayman West Bay Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #6 of 47 things to do in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the best museums in the Caribbean, it features changing exhibits on the islands' human and natural history.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A very good introduction to the islands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Cayman Islands National Museum presents its history, both natural and human, in this small museum located quite close to the cruise ship dock. Visitors will discover what is unique about this small nation as well as an outline of its human history as well. One hour should suffice. The only thing we didn't like was the spooky fisherperson in his boat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    52
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubec
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Get some knowledge mon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

It is always nice to get some knowledge of the place you are visiting. It is actually one of the things one should do when visiting some place. That and pick up all of you garbage.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I'm not a real big museum person but this was very good. Takes about 45 minutes to go through but well worth the time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A museum not to miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I enjoyed the variety of exhibits regarding the history of the island. Its fairly small and doesn't take long. Great views on the second floor to the Georgetown harbor.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Small, charming and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stopped into the National Museum on a day when no cruise ships were in town (mentioning "explore" for a discount) and had the place nearly to ourselves. Our visit started with a cute movie about the history and natural splendor of the Cayman Islands. Our favorite exhibits were in the natural history room, which had a little "submarine" where we sat and pushed buttons to see clips of various sea creatures (it was like a video fish card), as well as Cayman sea floor maps and life-sized models of sea turtles, iguanas and other local fauna. Upstairs, we enjoyed the old courtroom, which had the judge's bench, plus video re-creations of famous Cayman trials, plus a life-sized model of a Cayman catboat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayman Islands National Museum also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Cayman Islands National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayman Islands National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.