We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get some knowledge mon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cayman Islands National Museum

Cayman Islands National Museum
Harbour Dr., George Town, Grand Cayman
345-949-8368
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 attractions in George Town
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the best museums in the Caribbean, it features changing exhibits on the islands' human and natural history.
Lubec
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Get some knowledge mon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

It is always nice to get some knowledge of the place you are visiting. It is actually one of the things one should do when visiting some place. That and pick up all of you garbage.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    37
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, MD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I'm not a real big museum person but this was very good. Takes about 45 minutes to go through but well worth the time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A museum not to miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I enjoyed the variety of exhibits regarding the history of the island. Its fairly small and doesn't take long. Great views on the second floor to the Georgetown harbor.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Small, charming and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stopped into the National Museum on a day when no cruise ships were in town (mentioning "explore" for a discount) and had the place nearly to ourselves. Our visit started with a cute movie about the history and natural splendor of the Cayman Islands. Our favorite exhibits were in the natural history room, which had a little "submarine" where we sat and pushed buttons to see clips of various sea creatures (it was like a video fish card), as well as Cayman sea floor maps and life-sized models of sea turtles, iguanas and other local fauna. Upstairs, we enjoyed the old courtroom, which had the judge's bench, plus video re-creations of famous Cayman trials, plus a life-sized model of a Cayman catboat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Father and Son visit - brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the opening video that greets you to the excellent exhibits around the old courthouse/gaol/library this is a brillinat way to spend an hour or two. The entrance fee is worth it for the opening video experience itself and then as you walk around you get a feeling of how proud Caymanians are of their heritage. Visit now!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayman Islands National Museum also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Cayman Islands National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayman Islands National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.