We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Way To See Grand Cayman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cayman in a Nutshell

Cayman in a Nutshell
George Town KY1-1109, Grand Cayman
(345) 526-8687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 69 Activities in George Town
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Ogden, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Only Way To See Grand Cayman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We wanted a way to see the best of Grand Cayman on our stop. We only had a few hours there so we decided to go with Cayman in a Nutshell. They were wonderful! We followed the directions they emailed to us and they were easy to find. Our guide Dennis bused us in a very nice air conditioned bus to Captain Marvins Sting Ray City Tour. Their crew was great and we were on Captain Jimmy's boat. Sting Ray City was amazing. They took pictures for us that we could buy, they were reasonably priced and great pictures! Their boat was nice, their crew was knowledgeable, and their equipment was in good condition. After Sting Ray City they took us to a spot where we were able to snorkel for about 30 min. It was a great spot with a lot of fish and coral to see. It was great for a beginner snorkeler like me. When we finished there they took us back to our Cayman in a Nutshell guide Dennis. He took us to a delicious authentic restaurant for some Jamaican Jerk and BBQ Chicken with Rice which was already included in the price of the excursion. The meal was so delicious. We sat outside and the scenery was as good as the food. From there we made a quick stop in "Hell", not much too see but fun to have a picture and visit the gift shop. Our last stop was the Turtle Farm. It was AMAZING. Those little turtles were so cute I could have taken one home for my kids. Dennis was great, he let us hold all of the different turtles and was very informative about the whole process there. Dennis got us back to the ship in plenty of time and it was one of the best tours we had on our cruise. If you want to see all that Cayman has to offer go with caymaninanutshell.com. They were fantastic!

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    4
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Why aren't there more people going here and writing reviews?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We booked the tour after reading so many good reviews about it. It was great! Here is what we got for our money( and it was a lot cheaper than going through the cruise ship!):
1. Stingray City and a snorkel tour. There were only 5 of us on the boat!!! There was water and fruit punch to drink. When we got to the stingray area, there were only three boats there. One of the guides got into the water with us, and soon we were surrounded by stingrays. The guide was great and helped us feed and handle the stingrays for about 40 minutes. By the time we left to go snorkeling, the other tour boats were arriving, some with as many as 40 people on board. Snorkleing was excellent
2. Hell and the Turtle Farm. Hell was just what I expected it to be, filled with lots of friends and family! The Turtle Farm was fantastic. You get up close and personal with the turtles, from tiny babies to 60 year old adults.
3. Lunch at Alfresco's. It was so good! More than enough to eat and served right on 7 Mile beach.
4. 7 Mile Beach. We chose not to go to the beach after lunch, it had rained for a good part of the day and we were all a little chilly and wet. On a drier day we would have stayed at the beach for a while longer.
5. Finally, our van driver Dennis ( not the Menace but the good one he will tell you). So nice, personable and willing to make changes in the tour so that you can see other things. He thought we might be interested in the Rum Factory and stopped to show us that....none of us drink....so then it was off to the Turtle Farm for a little extra time. Really a great guy.
It was a full day tour for less than half what you would pay on the cruise ship. Fun, safe and clean.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

This tour provides a good value to people looking for alternatives to more expensive cruise ship tours, especially if you book online for the advance booking price. When we went, heavy winds closed stingray city, so that was really disappointing. However, the crew onboard did a great job adjusting. They took us to the snorkel spot that had stingrays too, brought them up to the surface, and let us feed them.

After the sea portion, we boarded a bus to Hell, the turtle farm, and then to Seven Mile beach for a good lunch. All in all, it was a good day, and we felt we saw a lot of Grand Cayman's main attraction. The only reason that I didn't give the tour five stars is because I thought the narration on the land portion could have been better. We also were a little late coming back to George Town, which didn't give us the time we thought we'd have to look around. But overall, I can definitely recommend this tour.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011 via mobile

Ive been here twice and enjoyed it both times. Lots of jewelry here. Water is beautiful and it's a clean area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“"Cayman in a Nutshell"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We visited Grand Cayman in October on a cruise and wanted to experience all the highlights in one day. This tour gives you an opportunity to do all of them and get back to your ship in time. Finding the tour stop was difficult at first because we were looking for Cayman in a Nutshell but the operator is actually "Captain Marvin's". But once we found the right place the rest of the tour went smoothly.

First we were taken by bus to Captain Marvin's house where we boarded a boat and headed to our first stop Stingray City. The boat crew was friendly and professional and they were willing to answer any questions and help in any way possible. Stingray City was awesome but it was only our first stop.

Next stop was Hell. After swimming with the stingrays and snorkeling a nearby reef we arrived back at Captain Marvin's house where we boarded a van and drove down Hell Road until we arrived at the town named Hell. It's a small place with a gift shop and post office so 15 minutes gives you enough time to send some post cards and take some pictures.

After that we travel a little further down the road to Boatswains Beach and the turtle farm. You're able to see 300 pound turtles and hold 3 pound turtles. The turtles are fun but it's time to head back to Georgetown. Right before we get back to Georgetown you stop for lunch on 7 Mile Beach. The food is good and the views are spectacular.

I definitely recommend "Cayman in Nutshell" for anyone who wants to see the highlights of Grand Cayman in one day!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayman in a Nutshell also viewed

 

Been to Cayman in a Nutshell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayman in a Nutshell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.