We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of port” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breezes By The Bay ~ Tropical Grill & Rhum Deck

Breezes By The Bay ~ Tropical Grill & Rhum Deck
George Town, George Town, Grand Cayman
345-943-8439
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 86 Restaurants in George Town
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Catlett, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great view of port”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Not only do you get a great view of the port while enjoying your cocktails But the also have good eats. I had a pizza there that I wish I could buy back home. Good food, good drinks, fair value & a greta view.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    84
    67
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great service, food and view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My friends and I stopped into Breezes one evening for dinner. It was getting late - the cruise ships were gone and most of the shops were closed up, but Breezes was still open. Because it wasn't crowded, we were given a good share of attention. The prices were not bad... we were offered specials at a pretty good price (drinks included), which we took advantage of. The pizza was delicious. Shrimp and chips were very good too. And the jerk chicken salad was enough for two people. The drinks (we all ordered the Hurricane) were also very good. The atmosphere was nice and offered a great view as well. I can see how this place would be very busy when cruise ships are in port as it is right across from the docks. I guess we were fortunate to have the place mostly to ourselves. But even after a long busy day, the staff was so friendly and our server was especially helpful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Not bad food, huge portions, great frozen drinks, slow service, lot of cruise people here!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

So, it's not the best on the island. Not even close.

However, if you want a good view and a large portion for an average to high price...it's not a bad choice.

I would probably recommend Rackam's (past the cruise terminal), Paradise (green building with snorkeling written on the roof) or a hole in the wall local joint over this place. It's very touristy, but that's what makes it convenient.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Bartender Anthony is great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

While here on vacation we decided to try this place. We met Anthony and kept coming back. Everyone here seemed very friendly as well. Wonderful pizza! I would definitely come back the next time we're here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Will test your patience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Breezes is located directly across from the pier where you'll land if coming in by cruise ship. As such, it gets very full very fast.

First off, let's talk about the good parts. The food is reasonably priced and pretty tasty although nothing special compared to other stuff we've eaten in islands. If you sit outside, you'll have a great view of the bay, the town and the ships, it's a great spot to people watch. Drinks are also reasonable and tasty.

Now the problems... They're a bit disorganized at the door, so your table will get snarfed if you're not careful and just a little aggressive when it's crowded. Do not have everyone at the table go to the bathroom at once or you'll return to find your stuff gone and new people at your table.

Also as with many places in the Caribbean, the laid back caribbean pace means if there's a crowd, things are going to be slow. Your food is going to take a while to come out, and you may have to pounce a waiter to get a refill. After our meal, we didn't see a waiter for over 15 minutes and finally just went to the register without our check as we wanted to get out and onto the beach.

Most boats are not in Cayman for long, so I'd skip Breezes on any return trips, takes too much of valuable shore time just to get fed. If I'm going to wait on food and such, i'd rather be sitting on a beach while doing so.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breezes By The Bay ~ Tropical Grill & Rhum Deck also viewed

 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Breezes By The Bay ~ Tropical Grill & Rhum Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breezes By The Bay ~ Tropical Grill & Rhum Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.