We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad food, huge portions, great frozen drinks, slow service, lot of cruise people here!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Breezes By The Bay ~ Tropical Grill & Rhum Deck

Breezes By The Bay ~ Tropical Grill & Rhum Deck
George Town, George Town, Grand Cayman
345-943-8439
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 87 Restaurants in George Town
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Not bad food, huge portions, great frozen drinks, slow service, lot of cruise people here!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

So, it's not the best on the island. Not even close.

However, if you want a good view and a large portion for an average to high price...it's not a bad choice.

I would probably recommend Rackam's (past the cruise terminal), Paradise (green building with snorkeling written on the roof) or a hole in the wall local joint over this place. It's very touristy, but that's what makes it convenient.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    84
    67
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bartender Anthony is great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

While here on vacation we decided to try this place. We met Anthony and kept coming back. Everyone here seemed very friendly as well. Wonderful pizza! I would definitely come back the next time we're here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Will test your patience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Breezes is located directly across from the pier where you'll land if coming in by cruise ship. As such, it gets very full very fast.

First off, let's talk about the good parts. The food is reasonably priced and pretty tasty although nothing special compared to other stuff we've eaten in islands. If you sit outside, you'll have a great view of the bay, the town and the ships, it's a great spot to people watch. Drinks are also reasonable and tasty.

Now the problems... They're a bit disorganized at the door, so your table will get snarfed if you're not careful and just a little aggressive when it's crowded. Do not have everyone at the table go to the bathroom at once or you'll return to find your stuff gone and new people at your table.

Also as with many places in the Caribbean, the laid back caribbean pace means if there's a crowd, things are going to be slow. Your food is going to take a while to come out, and you may have to pounce a waiter to get a refill. After our meal, we didn't see a waiter for over 15 minutes and finally just went to the register without our check as we wanted to get out and onto the beach.

Most boats are not in Cayman for long, so I'd skip Breezes on any return trips, takes too much of valuable shore time just to get fed. If I'm going to wait on food and such, i'd rather be sitting on a beach while doing so.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mojitos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Really good cocktails, Good Food! Great Views from the Patio! One of our Favorite places!'
Be on Notice, the prices are in Cayman Dollars, so if your from America, your Credit Card will be charged by American dollars, which Will be higher then Cayman $ shown.. Remember you are in a Different country with its own currency. Just Expect it and be aware to avoid surprises.. :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Visited Breezes on a recent cruise. Dropped in for a quick drink and possible lunch. When we were seated and handed menus we were advised that the prices on the menu were not in US dollars and that we had to add 25%. We decided to get just a beer each and then continue on to the ship for lunch. Our 12oz beers(4) came to $33.00 before tip. Never again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breezes By The Bay ~ Tropical Grill & Rhum Deck also viewed

 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Breezes By The Bay ~ Tropical Grill & Rhum Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breezes By The Bay ~ Tropical Grill & Rhum Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.