We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dive Spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset House

Sunset House
390 South Church Street, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
+1 345-949-7111
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Grand Cayman's historic hotel for divers by divers... Scuba Diving is the talk of the town here! Sunset House is the oldest hotel on Grand Cayman, started back in 1958 with the family Matriarch Ms. Hebe! The family still owns and operates this iconic dive resort today! From an array of different variety of palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to Cathy Church and her retail and photo school (a world famous underwater photographer); from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 55 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room for those staying at Sunset House!
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Dive Spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was our first trip to a resort that specialized in diving. We really enjoyed our stay. The dive staff was friendly and always very helpful. The diving was beautiful! We had no problems at all with our booking, our room, our dives, or any other part of our trip. Having My Bar on site was very convenient for lunch after our morning dives.
Sunset House is a quick walk either into Georgetown or to Smith's Cove. Be aware though that the area is not really "walking friendly." There are very few sidewalks. Sunset House staff will call you a cab if you want to go into town for dinner or shopping and do not care to walk. A cab into Georgetown is $10 US one way and $18 US one way to seven mile beach.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    41
    17
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great for food and snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Wonderfully laid back place with excellent right-off-the-beach snorkeling. We arrived too late to get a locker, so they kept my bag with money and credit cards behind the counter. Great guys in the dive shop. They've cut out a large section of the rocks to create a pool that beginning divers and snorkelers can use. Our 9yo started out there and then we moved into the sea. It was choppy that day, but we spent about an hour seeing great fish and some squid. Then we finished at the restaurant with great food and drinks. A wonderful day!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“For Divers, By Divers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great dive operation with friendly helpful staff. My wife is a nervous diver and they accommodated her with ease. They had the biggest dive lockers that I've ever used complete with hangers for wetsuits. Two of us could fit comfortably in one locker. The restaurant, My Bar was fantastic (see separate review), the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The dive operation uses minivans to drive to the south side of the island on the two days of heavy weather so we never missed a dive. Shore diving was pretty good. No beach so the water was clear with no run-off

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I have been to the Sunset House several times on several trips and this place has never done me wrong. Great atmosphere, great food, great service and the view is outstanding. No reservations required BUT I suggest you get here early for great sunset seating. First come, first serve seating. Try a mudslide or a steak. You'll like it and the price as well. Free wifi was available

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and spicy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

THIS is my place! Never had a bad meal here and they do things the wa I like it nice and spicy.Their fish curry is possibly one of the best dishes I've had in GC in the many years I've been coming.Sunset House has a casual atmosphere but they rank as a first class dining place in my mind.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset House also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.