We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to chill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byrdir Farmhouse and Studio

Byrdir Farmhouse and Studio
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dyffryn Ardudwy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Byrdir Farmhouse and Studio
Save
You added Byrdir Farmhouse and Studio to your Saves list
Dyffryn Ardudwy LL44 2EA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place to chill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I love Wales and have been visiting since I could walk. I spent a weekend here with my wife. Peaceful and relaxing, the couple who run it are great. I am returning later in the year with my wife and son for a week. It's just far enough away to be isolated and quiet but just a short drine to the village.
If I am honest there is only one thing that lets it down, Valentine's weekend/off season it isn;t available. My wife and I always go away for valentines Day but we had to book elsewhere 3 years ago as Byrdir isn't open that time of year, and the alternative place we find, we have returned to more times than we have been to Byrdir. Surely there's a lot of money to be made from couples taking romantic weekend break off season?

Apart from that, the place is good. Clean, reasonably priced for a summer week away (cheaper than a week in a caravan). And breakfast is included in the farmhouse every day, so you can fill up at breakfast, skip lunch and just dine out locally (Barmouth etc) for tea.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, ask to stay in one of the rooms away from the farmhouse, where you climb a wood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Earl Shilton
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is our 3rd year visiting Byrdir and this was yet another great holiday. We stayed in Melin this time and its great, you have all the self catering facilities you need with breakfast too. Gwion and Louise are truely great hosts and make the stay even better. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: If your not good with steep stairs or ladders try Beudy as you can have the beds dowstairs, but my o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our second time in Wales and again the accommodation was perfect. We stayed in the Melin cottage. It was a very nicely renovated and very clean cottage, perfect for a couple. We loved the 'attic' which was the bedroom with superb views over the fields full of sheep and the sea. Breakfast prepared by the owners was a good preparation for our walks, one to the top of Snowdon and one to the sea, which is a 10km walk from the farmhouse. Getting gently woken up by the pigs and sheep in the morning was the topping on the cake during this relaxing weekend away. Thanks for the great time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have just enjoyed a lovely week staying in Moelfre studio cottage. The freedom to come and go as you please coupled with a wonderful breakfast provided by the owners just across the garden in the bed and breakfast was perfect. Everything we needed was provided and we couldn't have asked for more. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our 6th stay here! We stay in the studio "Beudy", our daughter loves her bed in the loft. We didn't stray far from the farm this trip as there is excellent walking from there without getting in the car. Gwion has printed some brilliant walks, with nice information included.
As always, breakfast really sets you up for the day. Nothing seems too much trouble for Gwion or Louise.
The farm in the spring is beautiful, lots of lambs and calfs. It was abit too chilly for the pigs, they were still up in the barn, but the ducks and dogs are always around.
The fact that we keep returning says it all really. We hope to be back again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at Byrdir for six nights in May. We absolutely loved every moment of it. Gwion and Louise were fantastic. They gave us advice on what to do each day and always had a great local story to tell. Breakfast was above and beyond our expectations, we still talk about it to this day. Our room was so delightful and clean with amazing views. We will definitely be coming back and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was searching for somewhere to stay with friends for a single night, which usually means a B&B as cottages are usually rented out for longer periods. Byrdir was excellent in all respects, perfect location for our trip with amazing views, and the friendliness and quality of the service was perfect. Breakfast was the best I've had in a long time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Byrdir Farmhouse and Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byrdir Farmhouse and Studio

Address: Dyffryn Ardudwy LL44 2EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Dyffryn Ardudwy
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Dyffryn Ardudwy
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family runs a bed and breakfast on a working Welsh hill farm in Dyffryn Ardudwy, Snowdonia. We have two daughters, two cats, Oscar and Mog, two ducks, Will and Martha, and a dog called Del. Oh, and about 200 welsh mountain sheep and 40 or so welsh black cows. And of course, if you're planning a trip to North Wales, we'd be very happy to have you stay at our friendly guesthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Byrdir Farmhouse And Studio Dyffryn Ardudwy, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byrdir Farmhouse and Studio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.