We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals I've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lighthouse Restaurant

The Lighthouse Restaurant
2114 Bodden Town Road, Breakers Village | Bodden Town/East End, Grand Cayman
345 947-2047
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 233 restaurants in Grand Cayman
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: iconic restaurant with stunning views over the water, dining on the new dock over the carribean sea, creative menu featuring fresh local seafood, Italian cuisine with home made pastas and home made bread and desserts, wine cellar with over 150 different wines from around the world.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

WOW! Everything about this place was amazing, from start to finish. We went there one evening for drinks and I had the champagne mojito (one of the strongest drinks I've ever had) and my husband had some cuban rum. Loved the atmosphere, so decided to go back there for our last dinne ron the island. Right as we walked in, the bartender remembered us from the previous night and we were seated on the patio (protected by the wind). We ordered the grilled seafood platter for two with alfredo linguini and it was fantastic!!!! LOved everything about this place, the view, the food, the server, the ambiance. It was jsut as pricey as every other dinner in Grand Cayman, about $130 with tip.
Overall, great restaurant, perfect for a romantic dinner

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    367
    131
    57
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went last night for dinner. It was one of our favorites last vacation. Without a reservation, we were given a choice of immediate seating on the patio or a 10 minute wait for seating on the deck. We choose the patio--deck very windy. The service was excellent. Food was also wonderful, but beware of ala carte pricing. When asked if we wanted bread or garlic bread with our meals, we were charged for the bread. We ordered a salad to share before the entree, which was brought on two salad plates, and charged for two salads. With that caveat, the food and service was wonderful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We took a leisurely Sunday drive around the island - all couple of hours - and had made note of the Lighthouse as we started toward the East End. We made a point of returning during lunchtime and were fortunate to get a table on the enclosed balcony (it was too windy to sit outside) without a reservation.

We tried a few local dishes,served up by our friendly waiter from one of the other Caribbean islands. Not only were there a few other tourists but many local families, including a wedding party. That confirmed that this was not only the prettiest of spots but one of the best dining venues outside of Seven Mile Beach-West End-Georgetown. And it was.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This restaurant had a comfortable atmosphere. The service was good but not outstanding. The fish and chips were freshly made. We had a nice time however there was nothing particularly noteworthy about the experience. It was a little pricey for lunch (even for the Caymans).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit over priced...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Recommended by a friend so we went to try it on our last night. My friend and I shared the Seafood Platter that was good for two. Grilled prawns, lobster, salmon, mahi-mahi and tuna with pasta alfredo. The prawns and lobsters were grilled well. Our other friends ordered the grilled prawns.
The food was good but I didn't think it was worth $100+ per head.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse Restaurant also viewed

East End, Grand Cayman
 
Old Man Bay, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman

Been to The Lighthouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lighthouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.