We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shangri-La Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Shangri-La Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
#1 Sticky Toffee Lane | West Bay, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Grand Cayman B&B and Inns
Marin County, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Total surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This was nicer than we had expected. Room was beautiful, warm pool, quiet and away from everything. Dive tech picked us up in the morning for our dive. Great stay. Hosts are friendly and arranged transportation for us whenever we needed. Ate at AlFresco restaurant, loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
65
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

While there is an obvious allure to staying directly on the beach, there are many items that more than compensate for the B&B's inland setting and make Shangri-La a winner:

1) Quiet, tranquil location overlooking lake
2) High quality, clean rooms
3) Exceptional service and breakfasts
4) Onsite pool and deck to enjoy a cocktail, in our case Appleton Rum Punch!
5) While not on beach, still a stellar location in West Bay just minutes by car to the Foster's Supermarket, 7 Mile Beach and pristine Barkers Beach for the more adventurous

The local iguanas, cows and chickens provided the most excitement at the venue and to us, that's how it should be.

The caretaker George is also a charmer.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lake are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We almost always stay at B&Bs when we're on vacation and this time was no exception. Of all of the B&Bs we've stayed at this is the "top of them all". Everything was just superb! If you're looking for an expensive hotel room with tourists everywhere you've picked the wrong location. If you're looking for a beautiful room in a gorgeous house that's an out-of-the-way retreat--this is it. I would recommend you have a rental car if you stay here, though you could "make do" with one of their bikes if you prefer to bicycle around. One of the best beaches on the island, Cemetery Beach, is about 2 to 3 miles away and it is great for swimming and snorkeling. There are a lot of things to see within about 5 miles (several beaches, turtle farm, Dolphin Cove, you can send a postcard from "Hell", and etc.) You can drive down to the 7 Mile Beach and all of its attractions in just over 10 minutes. George and Maureen continually made themselves available to provide some history about the island and some tips on where to go and what to see--they were "spot on". Everyday there was a different meal and each day it was another marvelous meal--from scones, pancakes, fruits, sticky toffee (also name of street they're on), and many more. The rooms were well appointed and very clean. We stayed in the Royal Palm room which had a second door that lead right out to their pool. During breakfast we would sit in their screened patio and watch birds and iguanas walk by--what a sight. The only negative I could find is that we could only stay a week. If anybody ever asks us where to go on Cayman Island, it'll be an enthusiastic -- Shangri La B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

No one on grand caymen would take us in for just one night except for George. He was happy to have us. Great hospitality. Beautiful rooms. Awesome shower. Just a lovely b&b. will stay there next time we are in the caymans.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed there for a weekend by myself. I was not exactly sure how long I was going to stay so I spoke with the owner about leaving 2 days early. He said it was not a problem.
When I had to leave for business reason, he decided to come back on his words and charge me 2 extra nights. After insisting and explaining him my situation he agreed to charge me "only" 1 night. Not fair, not clean.
I would say that the biggest issue with this place is customer service.
Another is that it is far walk from the beach (no sidewalk)
breakfast was ok with coffee, bread and fruit even tough I felt limited in quantity.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week on the island. What an incredible island and a beautiful B&B. The innkeepers (George and Maureen) are wonderful people and they both welcomed and treated us just like we were family. This is our first B&B stay and it was everything that we hoped for and more. The accommodations were very comfortable, and an incredible value given the quality of the rooms throughout and that Maureen serves up a delicious homemade breakfast every morning. The one bedroom apartment is huge and has all the bells and whistles. I couldn't see us staying anywhere else on the island on future visits. This portion of West Bay is conveniently located to all of the activities we planned.

We are so grateful we stayed at Shangri-La and had the pleasure of meeting George and Maureen. We kept a busy schedule and took in as much as we could everyday during our visit. Having a place to return to every evening that is like home made for a very relaxing vacation, we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: i recommend the one bedroom apartment if available but all rooms that we saw were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks and were so happy they had bikes for us to use for free because we didn't rent a car. Cemetery Beach and Foster's Food Fair Supermarket were just a short ride away. Although it's a little further away we also rode the bikes to the Turtle Farm with no problem. There were a total of five bikes at the B&B when we stayed but the owner George told us he was planning on buying a few more by the next month. George and Maureen were such great hosts and always made sure everyone was taken care of and had everything they needed. On top of the free bikes they also have a closet of free items to use (sunscreen, snorkel equipment, beach towels, coolers, etc.). Overall, we loved staying here and had a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Bed & Breakfast

Address: #1 Sticky Toffee Lane | West Bay, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel Grand Cayman
Shangri-La Bed And Breakfast
Shangri-La Bed & Breakfast Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.