We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great time in such a great place.........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Lights Condos

Save Saved
You added Northern Lights Condos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Northern Lights Condos
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   553 Old Robin Road Queens Hwy | North Side, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Such a great time in such a great place.........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We searched and searched before deciding to rent the Northern Lights condo for our Dec 23 - Jan 7 2012 vacation and we choose the perfect place!! The condo is lovely (wish we lived in it full time) and it felt like a home, not a vacation rental as it has lots and lots of personal touches to it. The condo was fully stocked and we never missed or had to search for anything as everything we needed was provided. We loved the screened in Lanai's and bbqing outdoors for our evening meals.
It is in a great location as we were minutes away from Run Point and only 50 mins from Seven Mile beach and all the action of Georgetown. Has great reasonablly priced places to eat close by (Over the Edge and Kurts Corner), close to the East End which had a smaller grocery store, restaurant, liquor store as well as a souvenier store. There was even great snorkelling right out back and my kids enjoyed the nice shallow waters to snorkel the reef there.

Bo and Catherine were friendly, helpful and always had a moment to converse and a few good stories and info on the island to share. We loved this place as much as we loved Grand Cayman and it was our first vacation when nobody in our family wanted to come home.

So very glad we found such a great place in such a great location as being there over the holidays we knew it would be busy and even after a busy day at Seven mile beach we had privacy and solitude to look forward to heading back to and the days there were lots of cruise ships in port we did not even need to go near the crowds as we were close to everything else.

Thanks again Bo for your hospitality and for answering each and every question we had prior to our arrival............hopefully we will see you again soon!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My best friend and her husband (this was their first trip to the island) and I stayed in Unit #6 at Northern Lights from April 8th to April 18th. I have stayed on the North Side many times but this was my first time at Northern Lights. The condo was even better than the pictures indicated; the construction was top notch, the furnishings comfortable and tasteful and the beds were excellent. The open floor plan (including sliding doors to both the upstairs and downstairs screened-in porches that opened all the way) made for great air circulation. We had the ceiling fans on but had no need for AC. The kitchen was well equipped (even had an electric skillet and a slow-cooker) and there was a gas grill on the porch. We had free wifi and dish TV, access to kayaks, coolers, rafts/floats, noodles and sand toys.

Bo Miller (the owner) lives next door and was readily available when needed (i.e. to replace the empty propane tank) or when we just wanted to learn more about Grand Cayman. Only 3 of the 10 units are short-term rentals, and we basically had the pool to ourselves. We saw folks cleaning the pool and raking up the inevitable sea debris from the beach each week.

What I loved the most about this Northern Lights condo, however, was its location. It is directly in front of one of the best shore snorkeling areas on the island (Queen's Monument/Connelly's Cove) so you can walk out each day to see a great assortment of fish and corals (for more information, check out Testudo's Snorkel Guide [snorkelblog.tumblr.com/]). It also only 6 minutes from the East End complex of the Reef Resort, Morritt's Resort and the Morritt's strip mall (Italian Kitchen restaurant, Foster's Food Express, liquor store, etc.), 15 minutes to Rum Point, 5 minutes (or less) to the Over the Edge and Kurt's Korner restaurants, and only 30 minutes to the big Fosters Food store in Savannah.

This place is the best of all worlds: wonderful accommodations; friendly (and helpful) host; peaceful setting; and close proximity to snorkeling, a variety of restaurants, grocery and liquor stores and water sports operators.

I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

First off, the place is large, much bigger that it looks in the pictures. I believe it’s around 1800 square feet. The place is extremely clean. It is fully furnished and has everything you need in the kitchens and bathrooms. You’ll find all the appliances, pots, pans, coffee maker, etc. available and in good shape. It has everything you have at home except for a furnace of course. On our stay, there was already new soap, t.p., and even kleenex stocked in the three bathrooms and the kitchen. Everything in the unit is kept up and in good working order. The place has central air that works very well for night, but it also has a bunch of ceiling fans for during the day when you want to open it up.
The patios are completely screened in, so you can leave everything open at night and sit on the patio and enjoy bug free breezes while you eat.
There are 9 units, but most of them are privately owned and not rented out, so while you’re there, you feel like you have the place to yourself. Bo, the owner, lives next door if you have any questions or want recommendations on restaurants or excursions.
Everything around the grounds is in great shape and the pool is a comfortable temperature. There is a nice beach right in front of the place and you can snorkel straight
off the dock. It's about 25 minutes to the start of 7 mile beach, but only a few minutes from Rum Point where you can start water excursions.
Very happy with the place. If we came back to Grand Cayman, we would work the schedule so that we could stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay at Northern Lights Condo Feb 10-17, 2011, and we hope this review will help those who are searching for their piece of heaven in Grand Cayman.

When researching where to stay on the island, we were overwhelmed with all that were available. So we set our search criteria as follows:
1. on the beach with good snorkeling
2. good spots to fish from shore
3. smaller complex providing lots of privacy
4. nice and quiet swimming pool
5. fully equipped kitchen
6. spacious and clean
7. reasonably priced

Thanks to the posters in Tripadvisor's forum, we found out that snorkeling at Northern Lights' beach was very good. When we looked up the Northern Lights Condos, we were very impressed by the setting, and it met all our criteria, so we booked despite not seeing too many reviews on the property. Boy are we glad we took the plunge.

LOCATION:
The Northern Lights Condos are located in Old Man Bay on the north side of the island, away from the busy hotel strip on Seven Mile Beach. If you want to see the laid back side of Grand Cayman, this is it. It is tranquil, serene and romantic with its own private beach and private fishing pier.

GETTING AROUND:
We rented a car from Andy's at the airport and had no problem driving around the island. It's a short drive from the condo to Rum Point, the East End, Frank Sound and the Botanical Garden. We also drove to Bodden Town, George Town, Seven Mile Beach, and all the way to Hell (yes, we did the touristy thing, sending postcards from Hell to our friends back home).

If this is your first visit to the island or have more than two in your party, you can also consider renting a car from McCurley's. They would pick you up from the airport with a van, offer a grocery stop, and drive you to Northern Lights where your rental car would be waiting for you. They would pick up the car and drive you back to the airport when you leave. We had wanted to do that, but we were too late in booking McCurley's and all their cars were rented.

THE CONDO:
Northern Lights is a small complex with only 9 units. Only 3 are rented to tourists. So you will most likely have the pool, the beach and the fishing gazebo all to yourselves. We did. For the whole week that we were there, we were the only ones using the pool.

The condo we rented was a 1850 sq ft. 2 bedroom, 2 and half bath townhouse with a fully equipped kitchen. Considering the costs of eating out, it helps to have a kitchen where you can make your own breakfasts, or occasional dinners. The screened patio on the ground floor was great for BBQing and the balcony on the second floor was also screened, perfect for taking an afternoon nap in the hammock.

We stayed in unit 4 and it was very clean, and very spacious, especially just for me and my husband. There was free internet access as well as satellite TV. The washer and dryer were an added convenience.


BOOKING:
It cost $1900 per week for the two of us including taxes for high season. It would be even more affordable if you have a family of 4 or share with another couple to split the cost. We booked directly with the owner, Bo, who built the complex and also living there. (http://www.mycaymangetaway.com ) . We found the rates higher if we booked through Expedia or other third party hotel sites. The owner is also offering his block of units for sale. In case his units are sold, you can still rent at the same price from an American couple who are renting out their unit in the same complex . I found their listing on VRBO (listing# 263160)

BEACH:
The complex was right on the beach. We had a great time beach combing, finding all sorts of dead corals and shells that had washed up the beach. The sand was amazingly powder fine but entry to the water was full of coral and rocks. Bring your water shoes or flippers.

The snorkeling here should be good on a calm day. There is a barrier reef maybe about 100 yards out. The first couple days we arrived, the water was calm and clear. But we thought the weather would remain the same for the rest of the week, so we went out to town for other excursions. Bad timing. When we were ready to snorkel later in the week, the north easterly winds picked up and the water was rough and visibility low. So if you are staying on the north side of the island and you see the water is calm, go snorkeling and do not wait.

FISHING:
We had a great time at the private fishing pier. We brought along our travel fishing gear, and I hooked a parrot fish right at the pier but the line snapped before I could land it. Our next door neighbours were there from the U.S. getting their condo ready for rent, and lent us their fishing gear, and also gave us tips on where to cast for a great catch! So if you are an avid fisherman, you can rent from them (http://grandcaymansnorthernexposure.com) and you'll have use of all their fishing rods and gear plus other toys.

DINING:
You don`t even have to drive to Seven Mile Beach. We ate at Over the Edge Restaurant which was just a few minutes' drive away, and the prices are not expensive either. We also ate at Rum Point, Driftwood on the north side and Tukka in the East End, also not a far drive. The best find was Grape Tree Cafe on the beach in Bodden Town, where they serve mahi mahi, grouper or snapper fish fry for just $10 on the weekends. You can eat and snorkel at the beach or take out.

We also made most of our breakfasts and a couple of dinners at our condo. That's the convenience of staying at a condo instead of a hotel. When we asked Bo, who lived next door (and also the owner of our condo) , where to buy fresh fish, he went and bought us some ! We steamed the fresh turbot he brought us. Spiced with his nice thoughts, that was the best meal we had on the island !

All in all, we had a great time at Northern Lights Condo, and we hope you will too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Perfect for a quiet get away, especially if you like to snorkel. On the calm days on the north shore, it may be some of the best snorkeling on the island. Close to restaurants on both east and west side. If you want to get away from the seven mile traffic, it is the place to go.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2006

Northern Lights Condo was everything and more that we could have asked for in our first stay on Grand Cayman. The accomodations are spacious and clean, and it has everything you will need for a short or extended stay on the island. You can snorkel right outside your front door, and swim with all of the exotic marine life in the beautiful clear waters of the Carribean, or just lounge by the pool and listen to the relaxing song birds, and enjoy the warm breeze coming right off the ocean. Great restaurants near by, with grocery and liquer stores within a 10 minute drive from the condo. This is the quiet side of the island, but you can still access the "touristy" parts with just a short drive to Georgetown & 7 mile beach. Our hosts @ Northern Lights could not have been more accomodating, and leave you wanting for nothing. If you are looking for a quiet island escape, look no further and enjoy your stay at Northern Lights. We cannot wait to return to see our new friends!! Cheers!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2003

If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of seven mile beach Northern Lights is the best kept secret on the island. Snorkeling is literally just outside your door, and the scenery is beyond your imagination. Just enough people around so you know your not on a deserted island, but all the advantages.We have been to Cayman 5 times and now will never stay anywhere else.Clean, hospitable, great accomodations, you can't ask for anything more than what Northern Lights offers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northern Lights Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Condos

Address: 553 Old Robin Road Queens Hwy | North Side, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 58 Specialty lodging in Grand Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Lights Condos 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Northern Lights Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Condos Hotel Grand Cayman
Condo Light Northern
Northern Lights Condos Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Lights Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.